We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The stables beamish

The stables beamish
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Beamish
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Superb Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Went to the Stables as a family group - First time visit there and we were well impressed.
Excellent Food, First Class Service, Friendly staff and a good selection of drinks were available.
Nice atmosphere with sensible prices and value for money.
No complaints whatsoever about this place and will definitely be returning soon. :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CWS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    124
    66
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Family Xmas and birthday treat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

After spending 4 hours visiting Beamish museum we retired to The Stables a picturesque restaurant bar attached to Beamish Hall Hotel
We had booked a party for 3oclock ,we eventually got seated albeit two separate tables at 3-20
The meals for both tables arrived separate times and led to a disjointed party. The staff were apologetic and appeased the situation.
Be specific when booking

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank keith r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST YORKS
Level Contributor
959 reviews
645 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Well priced good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is a very comfortable and stylish bar and restaurant attached to the Beamish Hall hotel. You are welcome both to eat or just enjoy a drink of one of their excellent Real ales brewed on the premises. There are normally at least 6 real ales available and a couple of real ciders too. Our favourites were the Bell Tower and Beamish Burn.
We decided to have a Pub Snack board to start which was maybe a mistake as the portion was enormous and consisted of Belly Pork, Pork Pie, Scotch Egg,Dripping amongst other items.
For main we had the Braised Beef Brisket and Angus burger which were both excellent.
For dessert we just managed two ice-creams but there were at least 8 different flavours with Salted Caramel a particular flavour.
There is a good wine list and the Jarrah Wood Shiraz can be recommended.
The service was very good throughout and we had a very relaxing evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in great surroundings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Four of us, on a Northumberland break, ate at the Stables, Beamish on the evening ofFriday 17th May - I know it is a long while ago, what can I say - I have been busy - but I feel it is worth recording the pleasure we had in our meal there. We has spent the previous day at the Beamish Museum (thoroughly recommended too!) and we saw this place advertised. We booked on the afternoon of our visit, and arrived at restaurant o time. We were greeted in typical friendly manner and shown to our table - the place was pretty full already, but our pre=meal drinks were served promptly, and our food order taken without fuss or rush. The food arrived promptly, with a proper interval between courses. The waiting staff - young, friendly & polite, were attentive and courteous. The food was excellent, served well and portions were good. Our evening was spent with lovely food & wine, in a nice environment and convivial company!

I appreciate that some time has passed since we visited, but - on that night - we were well pleased all round!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heinz1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stopped nearby and spent 2 evening here. We booked ahead (Friday and Saturday) to ensure a table for 4. The bar (seating) is a little at a premium but we were seated both nights as we enjoyed a drink before our meal. We had 3 courses both nights and were pleased with the choice and service - service was not too intrusive but we didn't have to wait unduly for an order or to attract the attention of staff - choice much like a typical pub menu, but definitely prepared and presented more like a nice restaurant. A good choice of ales and soft drinks (only criticism would be that they stock some Magners/Bulmers). Often the true test of enjoyment is if we'd come again? Yes we would if in the area

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanAndKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The stables beamish also viewed

 
Stanley, County Durham
 
Stanley, County Durham
Beamish, County Durham
 

Been to The stables beamish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing