We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Need More Than One Day”
Review of Beamish Museum

Beamish Museum
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Beamish
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Experience amazing sights, sounds, smells and delicious tastes as the past comes to life. Beamish is unique - our objects aren't locked away in glass cases, this is hands-on history! Step into the past and explore our 350 acre site, as Beamish tells the story of the people of North East England in the 1820s, 1900s and 1940s. Taste traditional food from a coal-fired range, hop on board a tram or steam train, play schoolyard games together and pop into the Co-op shops. Come back time and time again with your Beamish Unlimited Pass, which allows 12 months free entry to the museum from your visit - including all day time special events!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Lincoln
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“You Need More Than One Day”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beamish is a wonderful open air museum of the past ways of living in the north of the country. There are houses and shops to visit, a pit village, the posh house, a farm, the whole of life. There are trains, buses and trams to ride and, in addition, there are special events during the year. Admission is not cheap but it is good value and if you can return within the year your second visit (and subsequent ones) are free. For local people, who can visit for an hour or two every week it must be wonderful. For tourists, I suggest making your first visit early in your holiday and then you can return again (and maybe again) before it's time to go home. Disabled access is a problem, with uneven surfaces, long walks and steep slopes. There is an accessible bus but it is only one of several buses and trams so you will be limited. Food outlets are disappointing and queues are long - take a picnic.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lis4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,148
    946
    204
    74
    55
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“first visit but not the last”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

as a true northerner(born on Tyneside but living in north yorkshire) I am ashamed to say this was my first visit but it certainly will not be my last.there is so much to see another visit is necessary.the price, £13 for over 60s, is amazing and it lasts a whole year.another good point is we were able to take our dog as it would have been a long day at home for him if we were unable to.we had the fabulous fish and chips, cooked in beef dripping and in a coal fired range sat outside on a picnic table, ideal for dog owners.the tea rooms were a little more difficult.we sat in the doorway with our cuppa as there are no tables close by.(we didn't want paper cups) and enjoyed a good mug of tea.not cheap but a good cuppa! we were able to take the dog everywhere else bar the sweet shop.the trams/buses were very good. we hopped on and off them from different attractions as there is quite a lot of walking between them.all in all a great day out!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bardel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our best purchase this year - A Beamish family ticket.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We first visited Beamish expecting to only stay a few hours. We left at the end of a full day without even seeing everything and my three boys couldn't wait to go back - which we did just a few days later. We now visit Beamish at least once a month spending a full day. The boys love travelling between exhibits on the steam trains, trams. Its really is a wonderful place, and even better the ticket last for a full year. Cannot recommend it enough.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngieNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spennymoor, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great day out for all the family.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My family and I visited last weekend, 31/8/13. We all enjoyed it thoroughly. At the entrance the queues were quite long but once you are inside you barely notice because it is quite a big site. Lots to see and do, mostly included as part of the entrance fee. The only time the amount of people became noticeable was when waiting for a tram near the end of the day. Definitely worth more visits, and with free entry for a year after paying, we will be doing so probably more than once.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nettle72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A step back in time”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place to visit that is off the beaten path. Very cheap and a nice look at the turn of the century living.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beamish Museum also viewed

 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Beamish Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing