We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beamish”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beamish Museum

Beamish Museum
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Beamish
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Experience amazing sights, sounds, smells and delicious tastes as the past comes to life. Beamish is unique - our objects aren't locked away in glass cases, this is hands-on history! Step into the past and explore our 350 acre site, as Beamish tells the story of the people of North East England in the 1820s, 1900s and 1940s. Taste traditional food from a coal-fired range, hop on board a tram or steam train, play schoolyard games together and pop into the Co-op shops. Come back time and time again with your Beamish Unlimited Pass, which allows 12 months free entry to the museum from your visit - including all day time special events!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
redcar
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beamish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

A good pair of shoes and stamina are required for this, fascinating but enormous, archive of buildings, business, transport & industry. Most of what you see has been rescued from oblivion and rebuilt as an understandable representation of (mainly) 19C life & times. From Banks to Sweet Shops and on to Coal Mines, Tramlines & Railways, it's all there - much fully functional.
For full immersion in this Internationally important National record - find, beg, borrow, hire or s****, appropriate togs (dress) and be part of the whole experience. Find out if your kids want to be miniature sailors, spoilt brats of the gentry or mudlarks & guttersnipes. Could be very revealing!
This is a full day visit so, plan to be exhausted.

Helpful?
Thank vlatava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,890
    906
    195
    72
    54
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We really enjoyed our day here although I did feel very old at times when I could remember the things that were there!!
The mine was most interesting since watching the decline of the industry.......a sober reminder of the days when the Davy safety lamp was used for work not for transportation of Olympic flames!
I wish we lived nearer as being able to purchase a ticket for the year is a great idea .....I am sure there is more to explore and seeing the seasons change would affect how life would be different depending on the weather!!
Brilliant learning environment.........

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank msox106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Ouch the cobbles and paths”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We went here yesterday (Sunday) I had to use a wheelchair and talk about feeling every bump, I have the bruises today to prove how it hurt. Don't get me wrong it's a really nice place to visit but NOT GOOD for disabled people.. We couldn't go in all the places so we missed out on quiet a lot (real shame) yes I know it represents the past here but you have to be disabled friendly everywhere now.
Would we go again?.......no probably not (again shame)
Wheelchair access was very poor, only one lift in the whole place but there is one bus that can take disabled people (only to a few parts of the whole place though) If the cobbles don't get you the slope on the way out will

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 827SharonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beamish_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Beamish Museum, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback. Due to the sheer nature and size of the Museum site, we do face some difficult challenges with regard to access, and try to provide as much information on accessible routes for visitors as possible with regards to the nature of the site, i.e. hills, slopes, inclines, steps and variety of ground surfaces – our Access Leaflet, available in admissions, does show designated alternative routes, which helps to reduce the amount of inclines encountered en route.

We will be continuing to work to improve the network of paths and roads around the Museum over the coming years, with the aim of providing more accessible routes in any new projects we undertake, and your comments will be used constructively to help us make improvements wherever we can.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
133 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A view to the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Beamish Museum is a little gem. Without doubt, if you like your history and a chance to visit the heritage of the North East Beamish is the place to visit. I enjoyed riding the trams and looking inside the houses, which varied so much between those occupied by miners and their families and the middle class homes. Take the day to explore because you'll need it to enjoy the experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

You really feel you have been transported back in time,everything has been thought of,from the terraced houses of the middle class,miners cottages,to the manor house.To ride in a old tram or bus is wonderful. It is well worth every penny

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beamish Museum also viewed

Durham, County Durham
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Beamish Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing