We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Kurt n Marina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Ventana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kurt n Marina
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in La Ventana
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Just returned from a trip to the Baja and stayed at Kurt and Marina's. The rooms are nice and kept clean. The common cooking area is great and kept clean you meet alot of great people cooking together in the common cooking area. Kurt and Marinas is right on the beach and also close to small stores, laundry, a great bakery and many great hole in the wall restuarants. Plus Kurt makes a mean pizza. Thanks all for making my trip great. Patty-o

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
4
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2011

A kiteboarding vacation in Baja, Mexico. Thank you Kurt, Marina and Walkie.

We slept well for a week, the beds were great and clean. The dish washing area at times was a bit dirty, so we washed dishes in our room. No big deal.

The mountain bike had a flat tire, but I know Kurt will have it fixed soon.

Steps from the beach with a air compressor to pump your kites. You can actually watch the wind come up the beach from the balcony or the rooftop.

We never got to try the famous wood fired pizza or the hamburger sliders but I we couldn't be completely spoiled, We need to go back NEXT YEAR!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonpnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventana7, Owner at Kurt n Marina, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dishwashers has been added to the full time staff so future guests will not be expected to or be allowed to wash their dishes or cookware or clean up after meals or social gatherings. This is has been done in our continued effort to provide the best and most enjoyable place for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Good place overall (see above) just be prepared to pack like your camping. Shower in room has no pressure and takes awhile to warm up. Hotel has no coffee pot. Good wifi but no phones or tv.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spunkylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventana7, Owner at Kurt n Marina, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Thank you for your good overall rating. In most of Mexico water pressure is supplied by roof top storage tanks, called "pilas" so your upstairs room had less pressure because of its close relationship to the Pila.. I am taking steps to increase the pressure for those upstairs rooms. Those rooms are also located further distance from the hot water tank.
The coffee bar is now open at 7 a.m. serving great Lattes and coffee at a very reasonable cost.
Most of our guests use Skype or other VOIP service for their calls which work very well on our Internet access supplied to our guests at no charge. Standard phone use is more costly for calls to other countries.
A central tv is planned in the near future to complete our home theater sound system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I have been there twice camping. I like the open kitchen and the social opportunities to hang out with the rest of the vacationers. It is a great choice if you want to camp in La Ventana low key, but still want some amenities like the large open kitchen and wifi. Just fly down with your tent and sleeping bag and you have everything else available there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lubomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventana7, Owner at Kurt n Marina, responded to this review, January 29, 2011
The tent camping is being phased out as an option and future availability will be restricted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colima, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Perfect location, great place, very nice rooms, very clean with a friendly staff...I had a great time in this place, plus the pizza is very good!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mele3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at Kurt n Marina. The atmosphere was very friendly and family oriented. There is a big open kitchen overlooking the Sea of Cortes that allows for easy mingling with friends and other guests. It is a very good spot for kiteboarders because one could easily access the beach, which is literally 20 feet away from a tent or a room.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sikite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souris, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Perfect location steps from the beach. Ideal for kitesurfing.Rooms very clean and comfortable. Kitchen , great place to socialize with such interesting people,adequate but could use more dishes and dishwashing supplies ie tea towels etc. Staff very helpful and available. A very positive experience!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventana7, Owner at Kurt n Marina, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Thank you for your thoughtful and helpful review.Your suggestions can and will be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Ventana
15.2 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#22 of 39 in La Paz
25 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
6.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
186 reviews
20.3 mi away
Palapas Ventana
Palapas Ventana
#2 of 7 in La Ventana
114 reviews
19.8 mi away
Ventana Bay Resort
Ventana Bay Resort
#1 of 7 in La Ventana
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurt n Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurt n Marina

Property: Kurt n Marina
Address: Calle: s/ nombre | Lote # 2 Manzana #8, La Ventana 23232, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Ventana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in La Ventana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing