We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only I could have stayed the whole winter...”
Review of Captain Kirk's

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Ventana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain Kirk's
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in La Ventana
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Kirk’s offers everything: stand up paddle boarding (sup), kayaking, kite boarding, and windsurfing, all with up to date and well serviced equipment. There is also ample equipment for the number of guests, so no waiting in line for someone to return your favorite board.

I have been traveling to La Ventana for many years, usually camping in my van, and have found it to be one of the most consistently windy places in the winter and Captain Kirk's Resort is perfectly situated to take advantage of it. Kirk’s was a huge step up in accommodations for me. The lodging is spread out over a large area. I loved the feeling of space and privacy, as well as the spectacular views of La Ventana Bay. For those who love sunrises, La Ventana offers some of the most spectacular in the world (see photo).

The beach is essentially private, since it is some distance from the campground and other tourist facilities. Our group included both windsurfers and kitesailors – we had a ball.

The grounds are gorgeous, well kept, natural and inviting. All the facilities were clean, cute, charming and very private and quiet. The wifi worked perfectly. Bars/restaurants are down the road in each direction within easy walking distance.

Each morning Kirk serves a communal breakfast of fresh fruit, bagels, hard boiled eggs, coffee/tea etc. The communal area has a refrigerator and the gas stove, so you can have group lunches or dinners.

Kirk and Kitty are great fun and easy to be around. Kirk is also a great source of information regarding alternative places to go during the infrequent times when the wind is not blowing. Overall, my expectations were greatly exceeded.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PshawPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 41 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2010

My girlfriend Stephanie and I have been to Mexico many many times, and have travelled all over the world together, and we have to say that our trip to Captain Kirk's was the best trip we've ever had. Whether you like kitesurfing or not, the rooms, atmosphere and hosts are perfect. Not too resort-y, not to motel 6-y -- it just feels like home. The local food is super inexpensive and delicious, or you can buy your own food at the local markets and cook in the community kitchen. Between the Kayaking, Stand-Up Paddling, snorkeling, kitesurfing and windsurfing, exploring, horseback riding, and good old laying out in the sun looking at the sunrise with a margarita in hand, and the amazing trillions of stars in the sky at night...it's paradise for pretty much anybody. We'd live there if we could! --Robbie

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moniot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Captain Kirk's in February to go windsurfing. We were thrilled with the place. The grounds are gorgeous- very well kempt, natural and inviting. The casitas are clean, cute, charming and very private and quiet. We slept like logs every night. The wifi worked perfectly. The stars from your front porch are fantastic. No noise from the road above. Bars/restaurants are down the road both direction walking distance- easy walking distance.

Breakfast in the morning is included- fresh fruit, bagels, hard boiled eggs, coffee/tea etc. It's a combo 'ready to eat' and serve yourself which is great- if you want to pick up some torillas/queso in town and make your own quessadillas on the gas stove you're welcome to do it. It's down to earth luxury living that makes you feel part of the environment/land.

The windsurfing/kite gear set up is sweet. Kirk keeps new gear in great condition. Everything is recent, rigged/ready to go and there's a nice little shower/changing area right at the gear storage- all right next to the beach front/water access.

Kayaks are included / available for guests at no extra charge- same with snorkeling equipment. We used both and saw lots of interesting marine life snorkeling just in front of the grounds- different types of puffer fish, other colorful critters. Water temp was pleasant. (You can only do this in the mornings and on non-windy days- windy days are for wind sports.)

We charted a boat from Palapas Ventana next door on a non-windy day - Tim is a good guy- paid $200 plus $30 for licenses for two and were on the water for about 8 hours. You just sign up the day before and walk down Captain Kirks to the beach and launch the boat right there at 6:45 a.m.. Could not have been easier.- We would recommend going out earlier however- the first hour or two were spent trying to find sardines for bait, and by midday the fish weren't active. We would suggest asking Tim to go out earlier, and end the day earlier- maybe start at sunrise- 5:30 a.m. or so, and finish at noon. Avoid the heat/catch more fish.

But I digress: If you're looking for cozy/cute lodging in La Ventana that's clean, gorgeous (and I use that word sparingly), comfortable and affordable I would not waste time looking further than Captain Kirk's. We saw some other places that were pretty run down and more expensive!

As a bonus- Kirk and Kitty are both fun, laid back, easy to be around people so it's nice just to hang out with them when you're not doing other stuff (windsurfing, fishing, kayaking, snorkeling, eating at tower tacos and rincon, etc.) . We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

I have been going to La Venata for years to Kiteboard. The last few years I've stayed at Captain Kirk's resort. Located just north of the campground, i find it one of the best places
to launch and ride upwind of all the crowds. The accommodations are very nice with a variety of choices from economic Casitas to a beautiful 2 bedroom Casa Palmas.
Even with the threat of al Nino screwing up the wind, I still managed to kite about 80% of the days this trip. Also made a couple of trips over to the pacific side for some waves when the wind didn't blow. Clean, convenient location with great host Kirk and Kitty. They are also serving up a complimentary breakfast and free yoga classes most mornings.
Can't wait to get back down there!

Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
Thank bajbound10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Kirk has a great setup for windsufring and kiteboarding, plus lots of things to do when it's not windy (kayak, SUP, snorkel, mountain bike, etc.). His spot on the beach is uncrowded and usually is the first to get the wind.

The new buildings have great accomodations; you can take your significant other without worry! The view accentuates the beautifull sunrises and sunsets. I'll be going back next year for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceandude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I've stayed at Capt. Kirk's many, many times over the past decade. The location of the property gives it a peace and tranquility that can't always be found elsewhere, and it also tends to get wind a bit earlier that more southerly located places. The houses and casita are all well placed to let everyone have a view but also have privacy. The gear is great, and Kirk and Kitty are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WindMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Kirk and Kitty have created a watersports vacation paradise slightly north of town. The casitas on the property and the people who stay there share a feeling of community. The common areas, the palapas lounge and kitchen are clean and well designed. The landscaping is subtle and beautiful, even the Christmas lighted cactus. The rooms are tended every day. The continental breakfast was just right for me after early training. My wife staked out a lounge chair for reading overlooking the Sea of Cortez when she wasn't swimming or kayaking or hiking the beach.
I found Kirks when the hotels closer to "Kite week" in La Ventana were booked. I am grateful. Kirks is just upwind of Palapas Ventana. The beach can be a tricky launch on NNW or onshore E'ly wind (not the usual Norte) I had no problems though.
As a competent kiter and athlete, I came self-sufficient with a range of kites and gear to do the crossings and participate in events. Bring a wetsuit for the windchill and booties for rays and urchins. There is an obvious channel that the pangas use and the rocks down at PV mark a great wind driven surf site. There are some nice restaurants within walking and (free) biking distance. We were fine without a car. Yoga class onsite was a bonus.
Kirk and Kitty were great hosts, very amenable and helpful. I'm making an early reservation for next year.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manu141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Ventana
11.5 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#23 of 39 in La Paz
25 reviews
22.6 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
21.4 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
228 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#3 of 39 in La Paz
601 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ventana Bay Resort
Ventana Bay Resort
#1 of 6 in La Ventana
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Kirk's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Kirk's

Address: Km 9 | Bcs, Mexico, La Ventana, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Ventana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in La Ventana
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain Kirks is La Ventana's most beautiful resort and hotel. It is truly sublime, with spectacular views of La Ventana Bay and the surrounding mountains in a botanic garden setting. Private beach access and lots of activities including swimming, snorkeling, mountain biking, stand up paddleboarding (SUP), kayaking, fishing, scuba, kiteboarding, and windsurfing. Or just relax, read a book and watch the incredible variety of bird species right on location. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing