We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pallace backpacker, hervey bay is good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay
Reviewed March 5, 2013

since i am in hervey bay i am staying at pallace backpacker and i enjoy it really much. the crew is really nice and friendly and the place itself is nice. I recommend it strongly. It is situate at 3 minutes walk from the beach, and not far from the shops.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 180 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

The place was okey, but I saw some problems.
The rooms are in "small houses" with 4 rooms, 2 bathrooms and 1 kitchen each, But people from other "houses" had to come to ours because was the only that have a oven working, so everithing gets more dirty. I could cook, but with 3 or 4 other people.
The bathroom wasn't very clean and I had the impression that the trash bin wasn't taken for a week. The room was okey, but the fan wasn't good.
I had a problem with the tour to Fraser Island and coudn't speak with the manager.
It isn't the best place I've been, but it isn't the worst either.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlaviaTrevisanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We're sorry you had a few issues on your stay with us FlaviaTrevisanF. We're constantly trying to improve so seeing your feedback is important to us. It allows us to check our cleaning schedules and appliances and come up with suitable strategies so if our manager is on a day off, we can still address your issues. If you have any outstanding issues, please feel free to contact us direct at any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

So clean,got everything ya need!20 bucks a night,can't argue with that.All newly Reno'd so dismiss old reviews.All the staff were helpfull as.nice clean pool out the back for all to use,regular buses and all that.big tv room and kitchens for every unit.also while your there you might aswell go for a little trip over to Fraser for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattyede1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great stopping over point for Fraser Island. I found the staff to be very helpful and generally other backpackers here seemed to be pretty nice. Nice little pool out back.
I stayed here for one night in a private room and it did the job for me.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ifsmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I had to stay in Hervey Bay a week after i did the Fraser trip with Palace. The hostel is clean and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The tour of Fraser was fantastic and i wouldn't change anything. I like the way the hostel is split into separate units so there is a limited number of people using the kitchen so you never have to wait too long before you can cook. The kitchen was well stocked and one of the cleanest i have seen in a hostel.
Would recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed at Palace for one night and found the hostel a great place to stay. Rooms are very light and the hostel was really clean. I found the staff friendly and helpful and would definitely stay here again. I am travelling on my own and i felt very comfortable staying at this hostel. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura186368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Group of obnoxious guys stayed up till 4am listening to drum and base and shouting over it about their various different drug experiences...no competent staff to enforce the 10pm noise curfew or to complain to about the fact no one could get any sleep. This is not to mention the poor cleanliness and poorly stocked kitchen. Do not stay here if you want to actually get any sleep!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GCC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarness
0.8 mi away
Palace Hostels
Palace Hostels
#31 of 53 in Hervey Bay
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island
0.2 mi away
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
#5 of 53 in Hervey Bay
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Friendly Hostel
Friendly Hostel
#4 of 8 in Scarness
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fraser Coast Top Tourist Park
0.2 mi away
Sunseeker Motel
Sunseeker Motel
#1 of 1 in Scarness
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay

Address: 184 Torquay Rd, Scarness, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Scarness
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Scarness
Price Range: $20 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay is located a 50m from the beach and across the road of the Greyhound Bus stop! We offer dorm (4 beds to 10 beds) and private rooms. We are also happy to provide you 24-hour television access, secure lockers, communal laundry and entertaining areas. At Palace, we like to ensure you feel right at home during your stay. So why not check out one of our dorm, twin or double rooms and stay a night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay Australia - Scarness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing