We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, much better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay
1 review
“Great place, much better than expected!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

When we came to this place, we were suprised how clean and fresh everything looked. Previous bad reviews had us worried, but apparently those were from before this place was renovated. A huge plus was the fact that there was a toilet and a shower right next to our room that we shared with only a few other people (compared to other backpackers were you have to go outside to another building for toilet/showers and it is shared for everybody).
Also, there was free wi-fi, common area where you could just chill inside or go outside, and even free transportation to the airport at the time that we needed. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruno_omars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hello bruno_omars,
Thank you very much for your awesome comments! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and are very happy to hear that the renovations have made a positive impact!
We promise to keep up the good work!

Have safe and awesome travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    25
    23
    23
    29
See reviews for
4
32
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed here for the night before and after my Fraser Island Tour, organised by this hostel. I had read the reviews on this place prior to arriving, so was very apprehensive about what I was going to be in for...and very pleasantly surprised!! I was put into a nice, basic, 4 bed dorm, which had a small balcony attached to it, with fresh linen handed to us on arrival by a very friendly receptionist. The rooms and communal area were really clean, and the beds were comfy. The unit was pretty basic, but it was fresh and clean so can't complain. It was a very different layout compared to other hostels-like a 'self-contained' unit, with a kitchen a communal area in each of the separate units, with several rooms in each of the units, with a couple of bathrooms in each unit. The reception staff were really helpful and friendly, filling us in on the key local places to see, and all the info we needed to gear up for our Frazier island tour. I did the 3 day self drive tour that is organised by the Palace Backpackers, and it was by far the most amazing 3 days of my trip!!!! Our tour guide was Pete and he was a top top guy!! He showed us all the best places on the Fraser island, was a fountain of knowledge on all the sites on Fraser, and was such a friendly, laid back person! Fraser is amazing, and I can't recommended this tour enough!!! So please, don't believe everything you read. This hostel may be basic, but it is clean, a nice layout with it being 'unit' style, rathe than a traditional hostel style, the staff are great, is good value for money, and their Fraser Island tours will be the highlight of your trip, just like it was mine!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderingpomme84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hello Wanderingpomme84,

Thank you for your great review!! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a fantastic time on Fraser; we have passed your lovely comments onto Pete and he is thrilled to hear it! Jump on our 'I am a Fraser Island Backpacker' Facebook page, where you'll be sure to find heaps of photos from your tour with Pete.

Have an AWESOME trip, and travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hostel was basically made up 8 units, with clean showers, communal area and kitchen. It is a bit of a party hostel but everyone has to be up early for there Fraser Is' tour. Hence it's quiet as a church mouse before midnight.

The tour run by these guys to the island is amazing and my all time highlight of traveling so far. The tour guide, Peter (summy) was brilliant and made an already stunning place that little bit better. With a very professional manor, but also a great laugh and a fountain of knowledge Pete was the perfect tour guide. The trip was everything we hoped it would be and more. On our trip we got to see all the highlights of the island and more, with loads of time at every location. The night life is nothing crazy, depending on the group, a few drinking games and a good feed is all the evening really brought. The campsite was everything we had be told it would be, BBQ's gas stove and some other basics. It is a bush toilet, but that all adds to the experience.

I cannot recommend this trip enough!

safe traveling..

Stu

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hey stuart y,
Thanks for your great review! Pete has seen your special mention, and is feeling pretty happy for it - he and the rest of our guides love hearing they've made Fraser a special experience for you all. If you haven't already jump onto our 'I am a Fraser Island Backpacker' facebook page ... you'll probably see photos of yourself from your tour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Intended staying for a week or more, fled after one night. I will pay heed to customer reviews in future, wanted to give the place a chance and discovered for myself that Palace Backpackers only seem to cater for trashy party goers. My bedroom was clean, fresh linen on arrival and the bed was comfortable; even though it took some effort getting into, I was on top bunk without a ladder??? Had to use the bedside cabinet to clamber up. There were 15+ people playing drinking games and shouting at the top of their lungs, right outside my bedroom. Luckily for me, they had a trip to Fraser booked for early the following morning...so I managed to get some sleep at around 1am. When I woke and went to the kitchen, I discovered goon boxes and mess everywhere...the toilet was covered in someone's [--], absolutely disgusting...not the fault of the hostel but the filthy animal staying there. I was so glad to pack up and leave. Palace has the potential to be a great hostel, but not until they draw up rules as regards drinking games, and times for when noise levels must be reduced. Obviously profit is being made from taking on large groups of young and reckless party goers...so for me, this hostel gets what it deserves...a bad review. Thumbs down.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishMol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
To TrishMol,
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us at Palace. We don't actively seek out "trashy party goers" for our hostel, but as we don't have a bar we do allow guests to drink their own alcohol purchases on site which can sometimes result in a party! What was a disappointing night for you, was obviously a good night for them! We wish you all the best for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarness hotels

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed here one week ago when doing the fraser island trip. Overall I was very satisfied with the hostel and trip. The rooms are nice and fresh, the card system made it seem like a cool hotel. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly especially Cherie. Watching the olympics with a few drinks on the massive hd t.v was pretty good. For $25 a night I was pleasantly surprised by the hostel and service. Would reccomend to anyone going to fraser or needing a place to stay in the hervey bay. Pool and bbq was nice. The fraser trip was also good, Ian was an awesome guide, very knowledgable about fraser, made us all feel welcome.
Kind Regards
Vishka

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishka t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
To vishka t,
Thanks for your great review. It's fantastic to see people are enjoying our new security system and big screen TV. Cherise & Ian are really happy to hear they've got a special mention, and we all promise to keep up the good work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

each unit has a kitchen and living space next to the room, so any sound there was heared in the rooms
there are no rules about noise
each night we had horrid loud people partying, and we had to tell them to be quiet, some times this worked and sometimes not.
the guy on reception couldnt care less.
no decent sleep for 4 nights.
also it was dirty.
the shower door was broken, water went on the floor and made the place filthy.
5 dorm rooms per kitchen, only 1 person at a time could cook, impossible at meal times, we ate out mostly.
the people in our unit left the place in a state, and didnt wash up. not the hostels fault, although after the cleaner had been, the washing up was still not done.
there was a bbq advertised, it looked broken and had not seen a clean for a long time.
the pool looked unclean and uninviting.
the common / tv room was a had no tv and was not in use.

the only good thing i can think of is its 2 mins walk to the beach.

as with other reviews, im sure excuses will be made for things in this review. do not listen. do not stay.

Room Tip: trust me and spend a little more and stay some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrpaulyourmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear mrpaulyourmum,

One of the best features of our hostel is that the accommodation is made up of individual units, each featuring their own kitchen and dining area. This means we have 8 kitchens on the property, rather than 1 large communal kitchen, so you share with just 17 people in your unit, not the entire hostel. We're proud to have this more homely design, which allows people to socialise (and yes, sometimes party and make noise!) and while it wasn't appropriate for you, verbal feedback to us shows that this approach is appreciated by a lot of our guests!

I encourage you to contact us directly on hb_manager@palaceadventures.com.au to advise the cleanliness issues you've experienced - that way, we can address the issues with our cleaners and have these issues resolved for future guests.

We have no 'excuses' for the TV or BBQ. The TV currently only works with a DVD player since analog TV was turned off in our region, and it is being replaced with a brand new 50" Flat Screen as part of the hostel renovations. It will go up as soon as our custom cabinet has been completed, which will ensure it can't be broken by guests! The BBQ may be in need of a clean, which we've bought to the attention of maintenance, but is in working order.

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay for 4 nights, and encourage you in future if you find that a hostel isn't suitable for you, that you speak with management after the first night and seek alternative accommodation for the rest of your stay. Most hostels will always accommodate for guests if the product is not right for the customer - I know we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2012

As a hostel its very average, beds comfy but no curtains in our room so everyone could see in through our floor to ceiling window. Nice layout with the units, much more communal feel to it, was nice that when we returned from our trip to Fraser we were all in the same unit so we can have one last party. However as there were only 2 showers and 20 people needing a shower after camping on the island it was a long queue and the showers were cold- last thing you wanted! Lots of renovation work was going on so units may be even better once its done. Trip to Fraser with them though was amazing, the self drive cars was an awesome experience and our guide was very nice. Definitely recommend Fraser Island and Palace were good company to go with!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thanks Rhi D!
We're glad you like the new improvements being made at the hostel. And great news, the brand new curtains are now hanging in the rooms! Be sure to join our 'I'm a Fraser Island Backpacker' page on Facebook... you just may see photos from your tour on our page!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarness
0.8 mi away
Palace Hostels
Palace Hostels
#31 of 53 in Hervey Bay
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
#3 of 53 in Hervey Bay
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fraser Coast Top Tourist Park
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Holiday Apartments
0.0 mi away
Friendly Hostel
Friendly Hostel
#3 of 8 in Scarness
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay

Property: Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay
Address: 184 Torquay Rd, Scarness, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Scarness
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Scarness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay is located a 50m from the beach and across the road of the Greyhound Bus stop! We offer dorm (4 beds to 10 beds) and private rooms. We are also happy to provide you 24-hour television access, secure lockers, communal laundry and entertaining areas. At Palace, we like to ensure you feel right at home during your stay. So why not check out one of our dorm, twin or double rooms and stay a night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay Australia - Scarness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing