We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accom in The Hervey Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Great accom in The Hervey Bay”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed here one week ago when doing the fraser island trip. Overall I was very satisfied with the hostel and trip. The rooms are nice and fresh, the card system made it seem like a cool hotel. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly especially Cherie. Watching the olympics with a few drinks on the massive hd t.v was pretty good. For $25 a night I was pleasantly surprised by the hostel and service. Would reccomend to anyone going to fraser or needing a place to stay in the hervey bay. Pool and bbq was nice. The fraser trip was also good, Ian was an awesome guide, very knowledgable about fraser, made us all feel welcome.
Kind Regards
Vishka

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishka t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
To vishka t,
Thanks for your great review. It's fantastic to see people are enjoying our new security system and big screen TV. Cherise & Ian are really happy to hear they've got a special mention, and we all promise to keep up the good work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    25
    23
    23
    29
See reviews for
4
32
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

each unit has a kitchen and living space next to the room, so any sound there was heared in the rooms
there are no rules about noise
each night we had horrid loud people partying, and we had to tell them to be quiet, some times this worked and sometimes not.
the guy on reception couldnt care less.
no decent sleep for 4 nights.
also it was dirty.
the shower door was broken, water went on the floor and made the place filthy.
5 dorm rooms per kitchen, only 1 person at a time could cook, impossible at meal times, we ate out mostly.
the people in our unit left the place in a state, and didnt wash up. not the hostels fault, although after the cleaner had been, the washing up was still not done.
there was a bbq advertised, it looked broken and had not seen a clean for a long time.
the pool looked unclean and uninviting.
the common / tv room was a had no tv and was not in use.

the only good thing i can think of is its 2 mins walk to the beach.

as with other reviews, im sure excuses will be made for things in this review. do not listen. do not stay.

Room Tip: trust me and spend a little more and stay some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrpaulyourmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear mrpaulyourmum,

One of the best features of our hostel is that the accommodation is made up of individual units, each featuring their own kitchen and dining area. This means we have 8 kitchens on the property, rather than 1 large communal kitchen, so you share with just 17 people in your unit, not the entire hostel. We're proud to have this more homely design, which allows people to socialise (and yes, sometimes party and make noise!) and while it wasn't appropriate for you, verbal feedback to us shows that this approach is appreciated by a lot of our guests!

I encourage you to contact us directly on hb_manager@palaceadventures.com.au to advise the cleanliness issues you've experienced - that way, we can address the issues with our cleaners and have these issues resolved for future guests.

We have no 'excuses' for the TV or BBQ. The TV currently only works with a DVD player since analog TV was turned off in our region, and it is being replaced with a brand new 50" Flat Screen as part of the hostel renovations. It will go up as soon as our custom cabinet has been completed, which will ensure it can't be broken by guests! The BBQ may be in need of a clean, which we've bought to the attention of maintenance, but is in working order.

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay for 4 nights, and encourage you in future if you find that a hostel isn't suitable for you, that you speak with management after the first night and seek alternative accommodation for the rest of your stay. Most hostels will always accommodate for guests if the product is not right for the customer - I know we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2012

As a hostel its very average, beds comfy but no curtains in our room so everyone could see in through our floor to ceiling window. Nice layout with the units, much more communal feel to it, was nice that when we returned from our trip to Fraser we were all in the same unit so we can have one last party. However as there were only 2 showers and 20 people needing a shower after camping on the island it was a long queue and the showers were cold- last thing you wanted! Lots of renovation work was going on so units may be even better once its done. Trip to Fraser with them though was amazing, the self drive cars was an awesome experience and our guide was very nice. Definitely recommend Fraser Island and Palace were good company to go with!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thanks Rhi D!
We're glad you like the new improvements being made at the hostel. And great news, the brand new curtains are now hanging in the rooms! Be sure to join our 'I'm a Fraser Island Backpacker' page on Facebook... you just may see photos from your tour on our page!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Super enthusiastic, high pitched girl on reception that kept on getting higher with every sentence. "How's it going GUYS... (higher), looking forward to your TRIP (higher), bet you can't wait to out to FRASER (higher)." Made us a laugh... seems as everyone has that same reaction with her, bless her.

The guy who gave us our pre-shopping briefing the night before we left was let's just say... "special". Thankfully he didn't come on our trip.

The kitchens were grotty and all our food has milk poured over it from people shoving everything about.

We were travelling with a group of German girls who were staying in block 8 (if I recall correctly), which has a balcony. In the night 2 guys jumped up through the balcony and riffled through their room while they were sleeping! Taking an iPhone that was under a pillow and worst of all their key to the security locker in the laundry building. Their laptop with all their trip photos, iPads, phones and passports were all taken!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't chose one with a Balcony and make sure the front door hasn't been dury r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadianJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Hi CanadianJimmy,

Thanks for your post, however I am extremely disappointed to hear your review. Cherise (our enthusiastic staff member) is FANTASTIC at her job, and it shows great testiment to her for being so positive in everything she does, everyday. We respect our staff highly, new and old, and continuously work with them to ensure we're offering a good service to our customers.

We are appologetic about your experience with milky foods and you're friends thefts. We try to encourage, and do rely on, guests being considerate of others and taking care to ensure their belongings and rooms are locked. We are doing everything possible in our power (including new security updates in the hostel renovations you would have witnessed), and ask that as you travel you do everything in yours too to prevent these situations from happening.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2012

After having our initial Fraser Island tour cancelled last minute, we were staying here for 2 nights either side of our Fraser Island tour. We were booked in as part of this, and can possibly say it isnt the best hostel in the world. They had problems with thieves when we were there, someone had phones and money stolen at night while they slept, we didnt feel particularly safe after that. We were lucky as we had a private room, but even then it wasnt an ensuite room it was a shared bathroom. The fridges were left grotty, although the cooking facilities were ok.

Saying that the hostel wasnt great, our trip to Fraser Island was fab, the tour gude was fab, entertaining everyone all the time making it really enjoyable and taking us to some fab sights. The website says there were shower and toilet facilities but there wasnt, so that was the only gripe with the tour.

Needless to say we wouldnt recommend this hostel to anyone looking at going to Fraser Island, look for alternative accomodation if possible.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Hi Craig Y,

Thanks for your great words on our Fraser Island tour and our guide. We are very proud of the tours to Fraser that we run.

You will be pleased to hear we have just accepted an agreement to install a room key-card locking system in our hostel as part of the renovations you would have witnessed while you were here. This will considerably increase the level of security at our property. Now, guests won't have to remember to lock their doors - this system will do it for them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at palace because we had booked a trip to Fraser Island with them and it was the worst hostel I went to during my stay in Australia. There are thieves at night, bed bugs, the kitchen was disgusting, no clean kitchen utensils, the oven of my unit was broken, so was the boiler, the light was broken in the toilet, ... this place is FILTHY!

For our trip to Fraser, a member of the staff had to take us to the supermarket before we left for our trip. She must have been 18, had no freaking idea what she was supposed to do, drove very badly, and later, refused to come fetch a part of our group from the supermarket although it was pouring rain!

Then the trip to Fraser Island itself was just as bad. Except from our guide Jeffrey who was adorable, two of our cars broke down while on the island, we got stuck in a creek for a whole morning because they couldn't get us another car, then we spend the whole afternoon at the motel (the campsite was flooded so we had to pay 50$ for a motel). We wasted a whole day because of Palace's bad organisation. Then the manager said we had broken the car ourselves which was beyond ridiculous...

I could go on like that for hours, just don't go to Palace!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apple-shine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear apple-shine,

Thankyou for your online review. Since your stay with us early March, we have made improvements to the hostel to address many of the cleanliness and maintenance issues you mentioned, and are continuing to schedule major hostel renovations so we can ensure a quality stay for all those who have stayed with us since, and into the future.

We are apologetic for any inconvenience caused whilst on tour to Fraser with Palace Adventures and have addressed this with all passengers on tour. If you have outstanding complaints, I encourage you to email Palace Adventures manager via hbmanager@palaceadventures.com. Palace abides by strict maintenance compliance issued by the Fraser Coast 4WD Association and runs flexible tours to allow for itinerary changes such as these. This usually prevents too much disruption to the tour but in this case, severe weather also played it's part.

We hope you continue to travel safe and well as you complete your stay in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Definitely the worst hostel I've stayed in during my trip through Australia. Since there was one night included in my Fraser Island and Whitsunday package I stayed at this hostel. I was placed in the far back unit, the unit where everybody meets the morning of departure, to watch an instruction movie. There we no utensils in the kitchen and there were pizza boxes all over the floor and on the pool table. Upstairs there were no lights in the toilet. The room doesn't have a locker, but there is a large area with a lot of lockers to put your backpack in while you're on your Fraser Island trip. But there was broken glass all over the place on the day of departure and it was still there after I arrived from my Fraser Island tour. So it didn't seem the staff keeps an eye on this area and so it doesn't seem entirely safe to put your belongings in these lockers. The day I went on my Fraser Island trip I wanted to brush my teeth. As I walked to the bathroom, I saw an opened dormdoor opposite to the bathroom and a bag with a passport and some other valuables lying all over the bathroom floor.. I didn't know what happened, but I was glad I left. I Wouldn't recommend this hostel, however some other people from the Fraser tour told me that the other units were a bit better..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wouter131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Wouter131,
Thankyou for your words regarding your stay at our hostel. We are very sorry to hear that you believe us to be the worst hostel you've stayed at! I understand that many of your cleanliness and open door issues are dependent on your guest peers, but it is useful to know this behaviour occurs so we can educate our guests in future and implement new procedures for our staff.
All the best for safe onward travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarness
1.6 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palace Hostels
Palace Hostels
#30 of 53 in Hervey Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
#2 of 53 in Hervey Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island
0.0 mi away
Friendly Hostel
Friendly Hostel
#3 of 8 in Scarness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay

Property: Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay
Address: 184 Torquay Rd, Scarness, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Scarness
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Scarness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay is located a 50m from the beach and across the road of the Greyhound Bus stop! We offer dorm (4 beds to 10 beds) and private rooms. We are also happy to provide you 24-hour television access, secure lockers, communal laundry and entertaining areas. At Palace, we like to ensure you feel right at home during your stay. So why not check out one of our dorm, twin or double rooms and stay a night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay Australia - Scarness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing