We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Berghaus Toni(Riederalp)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Alpenrose(Riederalp)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Walliser Spycher(Riederalp)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Hotel Royal(Riederalp)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Art Furrer(Riederalp)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveler rating
109
116
30
15
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
116
30
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardcomfortable bedon arrivaloff seasonpool areamorelssaltyspafacilitiestreatmentbathteafurnitureaccessvillagequalitystar
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 273 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely time at this warm and friendly hotel! A family run business which means you get a endearing experience. The facilities are kept to perfect condition and the food and coffee is fantastic. So close to all the best part of the Valais, there is no other place to stay.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breiten, Owner at Spa Hotel Salina Maris - Wellness & Vintage, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2017

Dear Jimmy
Thanks a lot for your nice review. We are happy that you loved your stay in our small hotel and we are looking forward to your next visit.
We wish you all the best.
Francisca + Markus Schmid
Badehotel Salina Maris - Wellness & Vintage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017

The initial reaction on arrival is that the hotel is a little dated, but you soon realise that furniture is extremely comfortable, walls have been recently painted, and everything is spotlessly clean. A lot of money has been spent on the spa's facilities, with the options for various treatments too. The saltwater pool is a delight, with really strong 'jets' spaced around two sides which give muscles a real pummelling, from the soles of the feet, up to your shoulders, depending on which you choose - fabulous! There is a lovely locker room, offering several showers for before swimming, with an area of 7 hairdryers for use afterwards, plus sauna. Aquagym is offered at 7.30 3 days a week, an excellent way to start the day before tackling the delicious spread of breakfast (great range of breads and rolls).

I think all bedrooms have a balcony, complete with a little rack thoughtfully provided for drying one's swimming gear. A robe and towel for use in the spa are provided per person. Our bedroom (212) had a kitchenette area in addition to a very comfortable bed and two arm chairs, plus a table and upright chairs; and the bathroom offered a good quality hairdryer.

A small comfortable lounge at the entrance offers a coffee machine and a huge range of tea bags, for use all day/evening, but there is no kettle in the bedroom.

Half-board included for our summer stay dinner served in one of two restaurants down in the village of Morel at the foot of the hill, and complimentary bus transfer can be booked if you don't want to drive down the narrow, windy access road.

The main attraction of this hotel was, for me, the pool, and it would be a frustration to come here without swimming gear - but there are cozzies available to buy, just in case! Enjoy the pummelling of muscles by those jets in the pool! Another attraction was the local access to cable cars etc to get up to see the Aletsch glacier. The hotel offers a 'tip for the day' for a local walk, and staff can help with other ideas.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breiten, Owner at Spa Hotel Salina Maris - Wellness & Vintage, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2017

Dear Pnney,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Markus Schmid, host
Badehotel Salina Maris - Wellness & Vintage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

Coming from Boston via Zurich to spend a few days in the Swiss alps we chose salinas as one of the few options we had given our fluid schedule.

Coming to the Swiss alps for the first time, we could not have made a better choice. Easy and quick to get to from Zurich, the hotel picked us up from the tiny railway station, then provided us with all the information we needed to get to the nearby mountain, incl. the weather information, how to get ski rentals etc.
The hotel is on the top of a steep hill, but they do offer a shuttle to the main town, which we have used mainly in the eve to get to their restaurant located at an affiliated hotel. Simple but tasteful, there was something for everyone incl. my picky eaters.
Finally we all enjoyed the thermal bath in basement of the hotel, very much needed after the exhausting but spectacular skiing in rideralp.

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank Elena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2016

This was my third sty at the Salina Maris. What I like best is the spa with a hot water swimming pool, separate steam room and sauna and a small gym. You can also book treatments like massages and beauty treatments.
Rooms have a very good size and seem all different. They are well appointed, traditionally furnished and very cosy with comfortable chairs and a comfortable bed. The hotel is spotlessly clean.
Breakfast is fine and covers everything a buffet breakfast should. The bread is very special and really outstanding! A fine breakfast coffee you get served or you can take yourself all day long a great coffee (or tea) at the machine in the lobby for free.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. As it was off season I got a free upgrade to a large superior room. Thanks a lot! Good WIFI for free. A shuttle service to the train station is also free.

Room Tip: I had a superior room N° 105. Ground floor with access to the garden.
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank weera1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

The description of this hotel enticed us to a 1 hour detour. We took the 'annex' which was a drive from the main hotel in a residential block, but had a secure garage. The room looked like a private personal bedsit with pull down single beds and non standard hotel linen. It did not have the advertised WIFI. You have to walk 5mins to the hotel for breakfast and swimming/sauna. The hotel looked tired and in need of updating. We checked out without staying we were so disappointed.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank MaChambre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Owner at Spa Hotel Salina Maris - Wellness & Vintage, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2016

Sir
WE are very disappointed, about your false statements on tripadvisor.
a) We don’t have any rooms with ‘pull down beds’ in our hotel.
b) All our rooms have a good WIFI connection.
c) We don’t have any rooms which are situated ‘5 mins. to the hotel’. (The rooms in our ‘Dependance’ are only 30 m away from the main building. They have a lower standing than the rooms in the main building. But also in the ‘Dependance’ all rooms have WIFI and there are no 'bunk beds'.)
In any case: the room you describe is not in our hotel.
Markus Schmid, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews