We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy”
Review of Hotel Villa Honegg

Hotel Villa Honegg
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

Like any other fine dinning restaurant ...the view is beautiful but gave to walk to it outside ...normal service nothing special

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Rashedlahha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 167 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is magnificent. The best view ever from the restaurant, pool and rooms.
We like the idea of late breakfast which is rare.
The staffs are friendly and helpful.
Highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank diaamajed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed at villa Honegg for two nights for our honeymoon. It’s an amazing place, and the scenery is some of the best in the world, but for the price you pay to stay there, they can not rely on the pool alone- there needs to be a certain level of service too.

Firstly we got put in a room with a disabled access bathroom which when I asked if we could swap (and pay to upgrade) as it was our honeymoon and we would like a more relaxing bathroom they said no. The room was tiny, but had a great view of the lake and it just meant we had to use the spa facilities instead.

However, we can honestly say the service at Villa Honegg is quite terrible. Despite our booking saying ‘honeymoon’ across it when we checked in, not one reference was made to it, not even a congratulations. Service for food and drink was slow, messy and frustrating. My husband has a Brazil nut allergy so when we checked with the waitress about the starter containing them she said she didn’t know what a Brazil nut was and was unable to tell us or ask the chef. We then had to chase our second round of drinks about 3 times.

We aren’t overly fussy, just a young couple enjoying their honeymoon, but for hundreds and hundreds of dollars a night I would expect a pretty good customer service experience. Even on check out there was no ‘how was your stay?’ Nothing. Just that they were forbidden to give us a lift to the resort up the road.

Don’t get me wrong, this place is amazing for views and instagram shots, but once you have the photos there’s not really much else going for it. Really disappointing.

We’ve already come to another hotel in the Swiss alps half the price of villa Honegg with better views and been greeted with champagne on arrival and a happy honeymoon platter delivered to the room. Villa Honegg seriously need to up their game!!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Claire-Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

Incredible views from the outdoor dining area. food quality was 11/10, loved both breakfast and dinner. everything was so tasty and fresh, was a perfect meal. The only reason i gave it 4* is because the service was a bit slow! apart from that fantastic!!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zelie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

We had a 3 course menu on the lovely sheltered terrace, with a breathtaking view to the Rütli medow where Switzerland’s birthplace is situated. The waiters were very attentive and all drink champagne, wine, water and coffee were excellent. The 3 course dinner had some nice creations but at times were a bit bland and lacked of taste, furthermore one of the veal meat piece was chewy, which for the hefty price tag should not have been. All together the evening was pleasant despite the fact we had to inform the waiter that he had billed us 1 water bottle too much and that the ordered birthday cake never came.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank lovisgug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Villa Honegg also viewed

Burgenstock, Canton of Nidwalden
Burgenstock, Canton of Nidwalden
 
Burgenstock, Canton of Nidwalden
Beckenried, Canton of Nidwalden
 
Stansstad, Canton of Nidwalden
Burgenstock, Canton of Nidwalden
 

Been to Hotel Villa Honegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing