We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Honegg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Honegg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennetbuergen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Only superlatives for this hotel with a privileged position overlooking the Lac de 4 Cantons. Superior services always with a smile. High quality equipment in rooms, spa and gym. Spotless. The restaurant has a short menu list - as it should be - and the food is exquisite. Extensive wine menu.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dragman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    22
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
204
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Heathrow, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Beautiful hotel newly renovated. Excellent service by staff. Setting is beautiful. A vigorous hike to Newendschwandt Lift. Within 15 minutes of Lucerne. Park at the train station then walk to shops and restaurants in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timotoole426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level Contributor
136 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The position of the Villa Honegg is worth a visit in its own right - more than 800 metres (2600 feet) above sea level with an outstanding panorama over Luke Lucerne and the alps. The villa hotel has been in existence since 1905 and, most recently, given a massive rejuvenation and upgrade by a wealthy Qatari investor. Luxury (with a light Arabian touch and taste) is everywhere - from the plush fixtures and fittings to a wellness area (open 6 am to 10 pm) which features an infinity outdoor pool heated to 34°C (93 °F), seemingly suspended between heaven and earth and featuring massage gadgetry that leaves nothing to the imagination. The hotel restaurant features a light cuisine with an Arabian (Lebanese) accent and, a welcome innovation for people sleeping in, serves breakfast until 2pm. The hotel staff enforce the hotel's rejuvenation with a genuinely welcoming, youthful team that seems equal to (and even relishes) a challenge.
Why not the maximum rating? The bedrooms are relatively small (25 - 36 square metres) for the price and, although the wellness area is fully equipped (fitness room, sauna, steam bath, massage facilities, indoor and outdoor pools), neither of the pools permit real swimming - the indoor pool is too small and the in-built gadgetry of the outdoor pool is an exercise handicap. The dog surcharge (40 Swiss Francs per night with zero canine services/ goodies) is also unrealistic.
One word of advice: our in-car navigation system took us to a private, back road to the hotel which almost caused an altercation with a (very) local Swiss. The hassle-free route is via the town of Ennetbürgen (after Stans) from where the hotel is signposted. Viator/Canis Coloniae

Room Tip: Choose the lake view - you'll dream better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Viatorcoloniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just came back from a two week trip with the family to Switzerland and out of the many 4 & 5 star hotels we had the pleasure of enjoying, this was the best. Location is exceptional, rooms are delicately decorated, food is very good and most importantly service was the best I have ever experienced anywhere. Nothing was too much for the amazing staff in the hotel who have done their best to make our four nights stay with our children most enjoyable. We will definitely return, please keep up the great work!..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fadi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Where to start? Villa Honnegg is to become our favourite hotel. Outstanding location overlooking the lake and mountains, fantastic restaurant, beautiful pool and gorgeous bedrooms, as well an outstanding personnel, from reception to the restaurant. We very much appreciated being able to have breakfast until 2 pm. It was like being in paradise for two days and we very much regretted having to leave. Definitively, a little jewel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueGVA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in Villa Honegg with our 9 months old baby last week, for 2 nights. Already having read the raving reviews here, we thoughts the only disadvantage of the place might be that it would disappoint. But it did not. From the moment we arrived and we greeted till the moment we departed after 2 nights, we enjoyed every minute. From the great views (yes, the views are as great as the website shows), to the convenience of the room and balcony, as well as the food, friendliness of the personnel.

Actually, we were a bit worried to stay in a hotel with our 9 months old daughter, who occassionally can produce singificant volume, but Honegg did everything to make our stay comfortable. Baby cot in the room, vacuum diaper disposal and small gifts for the little one.

Breakfast...loved it!

Yes, not inexpensive this locdation, but one needs to enjoy now, and we definately feel it is worth it.

Till next time!

Best, Erik

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KievitAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Since we discovered this unique place we try to come back at least once every year. The small hotel is spectacular located with a great view over lake and mountains. The rooms are perfect and we felt immediately at home. The service is swiss in the best way. The restaurant has some surprises and quality food - but it has it's price. The Spa and the pools are small & beautiful. Due to the fact that there are only limited rooms it's never crowded and a perfect place to relax and enjoy between your travel. We enjoyed it and we will return for sure.

Room Tip: Lakeside Superior Rooms with the great balcony are beautiful - but the weather has to be nice, thats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefano408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennetbuergen
3.8 mi away
Park Hotel Vitznau
Park Hotel Vitznau
#1 of 6 in Vitznau
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
2.5 mi away
Park Weggis
Park Weggis
#1 of 16 in Weggis
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
2.2 mi away
Campus Hotel Hertenstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
1.7 mi away
Krone Buochs - Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Honegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Honegg

Property: Hotel Villa Honegg
Address: Honegg, Ennetbuergen 6373, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Unterwalden > Canton of Nidwalden > Ennetbuergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennetbuergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Honegg 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Honegg is a unique superior establishment in the heart of Switzerland. This long-established hotel was built in 1905 and reopened for business in May 2011 following a major refit. For its size, it is unique in Switzerland in terms of what it offers. As a haven of peace and privacy, it enjoys an incomparable setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Honegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Honegg Switzerland/Ennetbuergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing