We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not great service or rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star
Ranked #3 of 5 Silver Star B&B and Inns
Lakebay, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good location but not great service or rooms!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The shower heads and the flat screens TV's are new. Our shower drain was very slow. We told the front desk on Friday & was not fixed when we left on Tuesday. The staff seemed to be acting as if we were putting them out by asking questions. This certainly is NOT the Marriott regarding service and cleanliness. We had to ask each day for our room to be cleaned. We were lucky to receive clean towels and our beds made! I would send this young staff to some customer service training!
We asked about the shopping shuttle to Vernon. We were giving the wring information but found that Guest Services on the mountain was very helpful. The pictures displayed on this website are not as they are actually. The beds are ok-Not great. The heat was turned off but was still a hot room.
Things we liked:
1.) Great location-Right on the ski area
2.) Free calls to the US & Canada
3.) Free simple breakfast/Coffee, toast, muffins & cereal (Home made breads)

I would think about other hotel options next trip!

Room Tip: Try to arrange for room #31-It's the only room that is 2 bedrooms, living room and a kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAUREENH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My experience at the Bulldog Hotel was a fantastic one. All there staff are very pleasent and helpful with a great knowledge of the mountain, As far as I'm concerned they have the BEST FOOD on the mountain, Everything on there menu is gourmet. They have an amazing breakfast buffet,You couldn't ask for a better location in the Village, the village market is right accross the way, everything is right outside the door. The view from the hot tub over looks the village which is awesome! My room was very clean and was everything I asked for.I was there on business and for a day of skiing and it was super fun and relaxing. I would highly recommend The Bulldog Hotel to anyone. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarWest M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

On a whim, we decided to stay on Silver Star. By chance, the first and only call we made was to the Bulldog. Found it online... just don't let the lousy (mobile) website dissuade you.

Overall, it's a great place. Fun, colourful, right in the action. Ill be staying here again for sure.

And a quick shout out to Jason and Ryland for there hospitality. It's nice to see that economics doesn't trump great service.

Bulldog!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoTimeForThinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were impressed with the overall cleanliness and great location of the Bulldog. We arrived after the front desk staff had gone home for the day to find our room key and letter in an envelope on the reception counter.

Our bed was large, though a little sinky in the middle. The decor is strange at best, but for one night it was bearable. We'd definitely stay again. It sure beats the alternative we were considering--camping in the gravel parking lot at SilverStar!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlaidV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I and three children aged 11, 13 & 15 had a good ski holiday early spring 2012. Price was right and location great. Didn't eat in the hotel this time as on a previous occasion the restaurant menue was limited and the portions too big for kids.

The hot tub was out of service all our days except the first one - this was a big downer.

Room Tip: This IS a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My friend and I spent the Canada Day weekend riding the bike park and stayed at the Bulldog. The manager Mike was very friendly and helpful, the room was great. Comfy beds, handy kitchenette and everything was very clean. The bike lock-up worked out great as well. We ate a couple of times at the Grand Cafe. Delicious food and friendly, prompt service. I'll go back to the Bulldog for sure.

Room Tip: We had a room at the very end but was woken up quite early with the people above me....not so bad co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at the Bulldog off season for a get-together with the girls. They gave us great rates and treated us wonderfully! They tell us they can accommodate both small and large groups like this in the off-season. We will be back and are hoping to make this a twice a year event! The staff bent over backwards to meet our needs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Star
11.3 mi away
Vernon Lodge and Conference Centre
11.0 mi away
Best Western Pacific Inn
10.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Village Green Hotel
Village Green Hotel
#8 of 20 in Vernon
265 reviews
11.2 mi away
Sandman Inn & Suites Vernon
18.5 mi away
Sparkling Hill Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star

Property: The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star
Address: 142 Main Street, Silver Star, British Columbia V1B 3M1, Canada (Formerly Putnam Station Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Silver Star
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Silver Star
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bulldog™ Hotel is a cozy slope side lodge located in the Victorian-inspired village of Silver Star. The truly unique Bulldog Hotel reflects the colorful theme of the village concept and offers a warm and inviting atmosphere perfect for every kind of mountain retreat. We have excellent chair lift access, a Shared Hot tub and Ski/bike storage facility. All hotel rooms have are equipped with: Sony LCD 26" Cable TV, Vanity Kit by “Environmentally Sensitive Amenities”, free High speed wireless internet access, Mini Fridge & Tea and Coffee facility and complimentary continental breakfast. Pets stay free! Featuring a full-service restaurant, we offer an open patio and the largest covered Patio Lounge on the mountain. The Bulldog’s Grand Cafe is an extension of The Bulldog™ Amsterdam. Many parts of the interior have been brought over from Holland to authenticate The Bulldog™ feeling. Featuring rock fireplaces and leather sofas, the Grand Cafe is open daily. A variety of menu items includes Dutch, Thai, Indonesian, and West Coast specialties. Join us at DeVine Cellar, our new and exclusive wine and tapas bar! Tucked down in the lower level of The Bulldog™ Hotel. Our guests receive a 10% discount on all The Bulldog Grand Cafe and DeVine Cellar have to offer. (This includes food, non-alcoholic beverages) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing