We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best reunion location... it will be hard to top this”
Review of FireLight Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
FireLight Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Silver Star B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a family reunion of Canada-wide visitors from Newfoundland to BC coast and we all had a super time. With 19 rooms booked in the Firelight, it was easy to mingle from room to room and not feel like you were in a closet.
It wasn't the best weather so our pancake breakfasts were dampened and we managed to get 60 people fed through a 3-bedroom suite without it being an issue for space, and if we had to, we took our plates to our rooms.
The staff were an absolute dream to work with from beginning to end and specifically the weekend of the event.
Due to forewarning about a lack of AC in the rooms, we asked our group to bring fans and it was a lifesaver to sleep at night.
Our group was not a rowdy bunch and we didn't feel like we were imposing on the other guests space through the whole weekend. Thank you FireLight staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigger671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 63 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed their for our biking trip in Silver Star. We were a group of 2 couples and a baby and booked 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen and living space.
The room was very clean and we had so much space!! The great thing they had a laundry machine too. (Small and take long time though)
All staffs were very friendly. Loved this place. We will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in the FireLight Lodge while my wife was taking a mountain biking camp. We had a one bedroom premium suite with a separate bedroom, kitchen and dining area, and a hot tub on the balcony. The room was beautiful and the hot tub felt great after a day of riding. The staff was friendly and very helpful as well.

Silver Star seems to be primarily a winter resort and are building up their summer activities. With that being the case, the summer rates were very reasonable but they don't have any AC in the rooms. The staff were able to provide a fan so we could cool the room down at night for a comfortable sleep.

The accommodations were great, the riding was fantastic, and the food at the various locations in the village was very good as well. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Manager at FireLight Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at FireLight Lodge and Silver Star Resort. We take great pride in our team and their willingness to help our guests. We are continually striving to improve the summer operations and this comes with many new events to the mountain yearly. This year we added a Wine Festival August 10 that will bring over 30 wineries to the village for a progressive tasting. The July 27-28 weekend is the BC Cup downhill race Championships and we finish the events off for the season with the Freeride Festival August 30 – Sept 1, 2013. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon enjoying some of our other great activities!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was our first trip to the Silver Star Mountain Resort. The Firelight Lodge is the perfect spot for a family to stay. It is fairly brand new, so the units are in great shape and very clean. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit. Lots of room for a family of 4. It has a full kitchen so we were able to prepare meals in our own room, and also have a comfortable getaway during a busy ski day.
It also came with laundry facilities right in our unit, perfect when you have a young family.
It is a short walk across the parking lot to the village and all the shops and restaurants.
The skating pond is located out the backside of the lodge, and Tubetown is located just on the otherside of the pond.
So overall we thought the location was perfect for a family and all the family activities available at the resort.
It is also a ski in ski out location...very convenient!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Manager at FireLight Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We take pride in our Silver Star Family Friendly atmosphere and how our All-inclusive My One Pass helps families enjoy the whole resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to Firelight Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Firelight Lodge is one of the newest properties at Silver Star and is convenient to lots of activities and one of the best runs for learning to ski at the Silver Queen Chair. We had a two bedroom premium unit on the third floor and it was a great layout. Two full bathrooms came in very handy with two teenagers along for the fun. There was a Queen bunk with a single on top, a pull-out Queen and a King size bed. Lots of room! It was equipped with a kitchen, loads of storage and even dryers for our gloves and boots. The Kitchen was fully stocked with a microwave, large fridge/freezer, stove and oven, and dishwasher. All of the kitchen appliances, utensils, dishes and pots needed were readily available. The bathrooms were really nice. The one in the room with the King size bed had a King size tub, which was really nice to relax in at the end of a day skiing. The room also advertised a computer, however the mouse was missing, so we were not able to use it. When we called to report it to the front desk, they were very pleasant, but did not follow-up with us to advise that they were not able to locate a mouse for the computer. We had to call about six times and received a different excuse each time. We finally gave up. Other than that experience, which was minor, the Firelight Lodge was fantastic. It was a short walk to the tube runs in the evening. The price of tubing was included with the lift ticket, so we could go for a couple of runs and not worry about having to get our moneys worth out of tubing. Also, there's a bowling alley Pinheads downstairs, which was a lot of fun and served great food. There was easy skiing down to the Silver Queen Chair for a few easy runs in the morning, but it was a bit of a hike across the parking lot from the village to the Firelight lodge at the end of the day. It wasn't until the last day that we discovered a run from the Comet Chair, which would bring us back to the Firelight Lodge. This would be a good thing for the front desk to include in their information package, which contained a lot of other information about the village and amenities. The building has one hot tub to share amongst its guests. We were able to find lots of occasions where there was no one in it and we could sit back and relax, enjoying the surroundings. The pond was closed for skating, when we arrived, as the weather had been really warm. This was disappointing, but there was no shortage of things to do at Silver Star. All in all, this was a great place to stay and we'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the south side of the building overlooking the pond, as otherwise you would have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Manager at FireLight Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and will take your feedback to consider how we can improve. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and their willingness to help. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent the last weekend at the Firelight Lodge to attend a wedding. Thge rooms were spacious and had small kitchenettes. One oddity was they dfid not have any closet space anywhere - not even a rod to hang your clothes. Perhaps it was work underway but it was still odd.
We also did not get any room servicing during our two nights.
Perhaps these were just oversights and we would certainly give it another try.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jekyll1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent a week here after two weeks in Sun Peaks and were impressed by the superior quality of accommodation. Bright modern apartments with a spacious and well appointed kitchen. Ski out was easy down to the Silver Queen chair but in was a little more difficult with a walk across the main carpark from the village, or down from Attridge Chair.

Watching the skaters on the pond each night was a treat. Being away from the village centre was no real hassle as the walk was only 3 or 4 minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Brewers Pond have the better view than over the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Star
0.1 mi away
The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star
The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star
#3 of 3 in Silver Star
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vance Creek Hotel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#2 of 4 in Silver Star
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Pinnacles Suite Hotel
The Pinnacles Suite Hotel
#1 of 4 in Silver Star
35 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Castle at Swan Lake
0.1 mi away
Lord Aberdeen Hotel
Lord Aberdeen Hotel
#4 of 4 in Silver Star
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FireLight Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FireLight Lodge

Address: 30 Monashee Road | Silver Star Mountain, Silver Star, British Columbia V1B 3M1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Silver Star
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Silver Star
Price Range: $176 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — FireLight Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest resort property at Silver Star. Smartly decorated condos located right next to the fun at the skating pond and Tube Town Adventure Park. Also featuring a bowling alley and restaurant on the lower level of the hotel. This is a perfect base for access to the Silver Queen Chair. Underground parking available at an extra fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your FireLight Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing