We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
FireLight Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star(Silver Star)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Creek Lodge(Silver Star)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lord Aberdeen Hotel(Silver Star)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
21
22
9
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
22
9
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsskating pondbowling alleysilver queentube towncoffee makerthe kitchenprivate hot tubski bootson demandlaundry liquidplenty of storagewash clothesski seasonsun peaksmountain bikingwould stay againunderground heated parking
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 63 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We travelled to Canada for the first time in February 2013 and spent a week at Firelight lodge in Silverstar. Our adult daughter travelled with us and so we booked a 2 bedroom apartment which had 1 bathroom and a kitchen. The apartment was spacious and contained all the necessary requirements for a comfortable stay. The balcony did look straight into next door and so we rarely used this. The apartment was always very warm - in fact we had the bedroom window open the whole time despite the -11 temps. It did tend to get a bit warm during the night which affected sleep quality. The view from our apartment was just beautiful. My daughter and I are skiers but my husband is not. He worked in the apartment (which included free wifi) during the day. There was also a washer/dryer which meant you didn't have to transport so much clothing with us. The staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The communal hot tub was just below our apartment and this did tend to get a bit noisy, however it never went beyond 10 o clock.
The mountain itself is very family orientated. We found this a very relaxing experience (which is what we were seeking) rather than a place to go out partying. The skiing was great with a good variety of runs and people were friendly and helpful without being intrusive.
There are a number of eating outlets on the mountain which caters to a number of tastes - food is not michelin chef standard but we were not there for that anyway. A limited range of fresh food is available at the grocery shop but it does tend to be expensive. During the ski season there is a shopping bus that travels into Vernon twice per day (we did not have a car) and picks you up 2 hours later. This gave us a chance to grab some groceries to take back. The trip to Vernon is about 1/2 an hour, is pleasant and I would certainly recommend picking up supplies there (particularly fruit and veg) and using the local shop for necessities.
All in all, this was a lovely destination that caters for young and old alike. It is not the party hotspot that some people may be looking for but that suited us just fine - loutish behaviour was not really seen. People were friendly, helpful and well mannered. Next time I would probably seek an apartment away from the hot tub but all things considered I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here for a friend's birthday weekend and enjoyed ourselves immensely. We spent two nights in a one bedroom unit with a kitchen. Amenities in the room were excellent. We missed having a private hot tub, however. The shared hot tub downstairs was average--a bit too chemically for my taste, and often busy. My husband and I don't ski but we rented snowshoes and did some skating. The pubs and restaurants are excellent at Silver Star, as is the staff. We took a snowcat ride over to the back of the mountain to the hilltop restaurant and this was one of the highlights of our trip. There were alot of families on the mountain, as well as couples and large groups. Something for everyone and nice to get some sun after a winter of clouds at the valley bottom.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueiris36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in January 2013 as part of a road trip along the Powder Highway. The Firelight Lodge is apparently the newest accommodation in Silver Star and it shows, with both the room and common areas looking spotless. We stayed in room 102B which was a studio with a massive bed, kitchenette (sink, fridge, coffee machine, kettle, toaster and microwave) and a bathroom with a shower over the bath.

No complaints at all, the service from the receptionist was very friendly, the room was great and the out door hot tub was excellent.

Couple of tips if you're a light sleeper (or suffering from jet lag as we were) are to unplug the fridge and to take the battery out of the clock on the wall. Neither are particularly loud, but we found that helped.

Location-wise, it's not in the centre of the village, being across a car park from the main area. However, it is by the tubing centre and ice rink which could be handy for some. The walk to the centre takes about 5mins.

Would definitely stay here again if we came back to Silver Star!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DanCMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom unit at the Firelight. We simply could not have asked for more a great accommodation at Silverstar. The complex is right beside the ice skating rink, which affords an excellent opportunity to play hockey apres ski. We really enjoyed being able to ski in and ski out with ease.

While we were there a few of our friends stayed in other places on the mountain, and generally everyone enjoyed our spot the most. It is not located in the village center, however we were more interested in the proximity to the skating rink, which is outstanding. The mountain itself was awesome. I have skied numerous other locations, and although Silverstar may not be the largest mountain, the runs, staff, and snow make it a destination worth visiting.

Also, if you cross country ski, the ski in/ski out for the hotel also serves the extensive nordic trail network.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel definitely deserves more reviews, so I decided to write one :) We stayed in 1 bedroom suite for 10 nights over Xmas and New Year in 2011/2012. It's a great new hotel with nice facilities and friendly staff. We didn't get the room with private hot tub, but we used the communal one nearly every day and a lot of the time we were the only ones there. The only drawback is that the hotel is not located in the village centre and if you have small children that you want to take to the ski school you need to walk a bit. In normal shoes the walk probably only takes 2 mins, but in your ski boots could be more like 10 mins. However, you don't pay nearly as much here as in the village centre and also you're right next to the ice skating rink and tube town, so it's a personal preference really. We are going back to Silver Star again this year and will be staying in the village centre just to see what it’s like, but if we couldn’t get the accommodation of a similar standard there we would definitely stay at Firelight lodge again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay extra for private hot tub, the communal one was fine
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ID655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews