We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snowbird Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Silver Star
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snowbird Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Silver Star
Certificate of Excellence
NSW Central Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Beautiful Lodge in the heart of the fantastic Silver Star Ski Resort.
We stayed 1 week in a 1 bedroom premium apartment. We had 1 king bedroom and a "den" which was really a second bedroom that had a set of single bunks in it.

The apartment was very nicely appointed with a full kitchen, washer/dryer, lounge room, dining area, 2 full bathrooms, plasmas and the best part was the private hot tub on the deck.

The apartment was serviced daily and our room was very clean on arrival, and maintained that way throughout or stay. The staff on the desk were pleasant and helpful.

The location of the lodge is perfect. 100% ski in/out, next to the bakery, opposite ski school - just PERFECT!! We will be back and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattred74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    22
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
17
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

Stayed at the Snowbird Lodge in Silver Star - having stayed 7 days previously at the White Crystal Inn at Big White. There was no comparison I could not fault the Snowbird Lodge - it was perfect - Kitchen was well equipped with granite worktops, dishwasher, oven, fridge freezer, washer dryer, all open plan into dining area and lounge very spacious for 2 people, flat screen TV on wall and lovely fire and various subtle lighting each room decorated to a high standard. Separate bedroom with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Bathroom had heated flooring. Hot tub on balcony overlooking the slopes. It was in the perfect location ski in ski out. I would certainly stay here again without hesitation and would recommend it to anyone. Silver Star as a resort was lovely - good variety of slopes for all abilities with pretty good lift systems to get around - a few flat areas so snowboarders would need to avoid these areas but all in all a very good ski area with no lift queues. Long Johns pub was the best place to eat and drink we found although there were other bars & restaurants all of good quality. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

Snowbird lodge is a very well appointed and excellently placed with ski in and ski out. You certainly pay for this and we were happy to do so for the comfortable and convenient location. However I cannot fail to mention the somewhat casual approach by staff to check in. "Ski lockers are that way". The daily room service varied in time from day to day, and that's fine, but the quality of room service was very ordinary. The room manual describes daily tidying and towel change. Honestly I don't expect much of a tidy but wiping down the kitchen bench tops I would think is not too much to ask. Never did a vacuum cleaner hit the carpet the entire stay, and the teams seemed to be in and out very very quickly. It is lovely and modern and comfortable but for what I pay I did expect more from housekeeping. Down the road at Big White the house keeping was superb. Dishwashers unstacked, vacuuming and a great kitchen clean daily. Mums' book trips and if I am expected to vacuum and wipe surfaces I may just go elsewhere. I really liked Silver Star, it is a great location and friendly and welcoming. Past reviews have commented on the service by staff I do hope the management listen to this. Be aware the affluent ski crowd are very fickle, if someone offers me better service, I will move.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maffie1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

My family (3 couples, one with kids) were comfortably accomodated in the 3-bedroom executive suite at snowbird. We stayed on our way to and from Lake Louise from Vancouver in the summer, though this property seems particularly geared to the ski-season.

The room was modern, extremely well-appointed (granite countertop, free powerful wifi connection, full kitchen, lots of space, and a TV with 4 remote controls (perhaps too much?)).

In the summer "off season" we managed to sleep 8 people for about $300. Pretty remarkable.

The location is also the site of a summer wine festival, that we enjoyed some parts of.

Highly recommend and would visit again on a similar trip.

The one downside is that from Vernon, the complex is nearly 30-minutes of uphill driving, so arrive with groceries, as you won't want to make a second trip for them later.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsequitur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2009

We chose to stay at the Snowbird, as it was located on the mountain, and also because the pictures on the internet looked very attractive. The lodge real ski-in, ski-out! There is a chairlift at the bottom of the hotel and the main runs leave from there also. The rooms are great, fully equipped with excellent views and private hot tubs! The service is good, although there is no internet access, and a lot of the time, there was no one on the front desk. Silverstar is the most amazing little village, with coffee shops and an ice-skating rink. It is a one hour drive from Kelowna airport, through Vernon, and then up to Silverstar. There is a market on the mountain for your basic grocery needs, plus a few causal and relaxed pubs to choose from...my favourite was called Long Johns. It was an amazing holidays because of the location of the lodge, and the outstanding skiing conditions! We are planning our next holiday back!

  • Liked — The location and town of Silverstar
  • Disliked — No internet access
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aussier0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

This was our second stay at the Snowbird lodge.

High quality, but quite expensive for a ski lodge in such a small ski resort.

Located right on the slopes, with convenient ski locker room for ski in / ski out. Also, on the edge of the quiet resort "main street" of a small number of shops & restaurants/bars.

The 1 bed with lounge is spacious for two. Very well furnished and equipped.

Quaint, quiet but friendly ski resort. Nice cruising slopes, with generally few people around. Very family orientated, so there can be a lot of children ski groups around. A very limited variety & choice of restaurants, but just about sufficient for a 1 wk holiday. A lot of people seem to eat in their appartments.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmbklm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Star
10.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Vernon
18.6 mi away
Sparkling Hill Resort
10.6 mi away
Village Green Hotel
Village Green Hotel
#7 of 20 in Vernon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vance Creek Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
The Pinnacles Suite Hotel
The Pinnacles Suite Hotel
#1 of 5 in Silver Star
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star
The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star
#4 of 5 in Silver Star
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowbird Lodge

Property: Snowbird Lodge
Address: 170 Silver Lode Lane | Silver Star Mountain Resort, Silver Star, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Silver Star
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Silver Star
Hotel Class:3 star — Snowbird Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snowbird Lodge offers luxury hotel rooms and suites featuring high-end furnishing, fitness center, theatre, kids play area, and lounge. All suites have private hot tubs and washing machines. The ultimate luxury ski-in/ski-out location in the village! Underground parking available at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snowbird Hotel Silver Star

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing