We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved everything about this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kurt's Corner

Kurt's Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Boston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I loved everything about this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This feels like a genuine Cayman place for dinner. Some restaurants in the Caymans you get the feeling they look "local" but have a corporate organization behind them. Kurt's Corner feels local and owner operated. The food is authentic and very good. We had the conch fritters and various seafood entrees. All were excellent and served by a great waitress. If you are staying near Rum Point, make the 15 minute trip to Kurt's for a great, inexpensive dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2kids2carsnopets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    150
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
179 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Local, non-touristy place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very interesting variety of foods at reasonable prices. There are a lot of local dishes here (turtle stew, conch, jerk, lots of seafood). The specials board was very long. They also have nice options on the regular menu. The sandwiches are very large. The fritters with garlic butter are heavenly. It's a very casual, outdoor place. Both locals and tourists were here on our trip. I thought the service was just fine, but it wasn't too crowded when we went in the mid-afternoon. What's nice is you can get just a sandwich or a whole meal depending on your wish.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
320 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Best new local eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

It is easy to miss. On the cross island road from the North, just after the gas station and behind the liquor store is an orange tent platform that has no name on it, but it is Kurt's Korner. They serve the best fried seafood, rice and beans and grilled veggies you can find on this side of the island. By far, my favorite was the fried Grouper.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank smokeylinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cute spot, average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

If you're in the area and you need a bite... then it's ok. it's nothing to go out of your way for. Tucked into a small patio area next to a bar, you'll find Kurt's. We ordered simply. The fritters ere delish with their garlic butter. The food was passable. Service was friendly. Went for dinner on a sunday and almost no one was there. Lots of pick up orders tho. I believe many of the locals eat there and we did see a ton of people at the location for brunch on sunday. had the jerk chicken. BF had the blacked fish. not much to say.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ernie316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
129 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This is as Authentic as Good Cayman Food Gets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This "new to us" place is a little out of the way and primarily attracts the local crowd. So if you are looking to get away from the typical tourist cuisine this is one place to visit. The food is very fresh, especially the sea food and the prices are very reasonable for the Caymans. Adjust your schedule to island time because each entre is prepared to order. We went as a group of 12, had them set up the table in advance and were treated to a great time, wonderful local food and will be back on our next visit to the island.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bdagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kurt's Corner also viewed

Gun Bay, Grand Cayman
East End, Grand Cayman
 
West Bay, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Kurt's Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing