We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, beautiful ambiance, nice service ”
Review of Weingut am Nil

Weingut am Nil
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Kallstadt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Experience violet wine in the Palatinate region. The Weingut am Nil wine estate – We’re not from Egypt. The Weingut am Nil wine estate was founded in 2010 and has been producing top Rieslings since then. The Schuster winemaker family had previously farmed the property since 1841. The Schusters used the Palatinate and Kallstadt lion as the emblem on their label. As bound by tradition, the Nil also adopted the lion’s head on its label and it stands at all times for expressiveness and dynamism. The large Saumagen and Herrenberg vineyards in particular are distinguished by their unique terroir. The wine estate has its lion’s share in Saumagen with 3.5 hectares. As the parcel of land bears the name “Nil”, the wine estate adopted this as it’s own name. At the moment the wine estate cultivates roughly 26 hectares of vineyards in Kallstadt and the surrounding area.
Reviewed May 14, 2018 via mobile

We went to the Weingut am Nil for Mother’s Day dinner and we had an amazing time. Everything we tried was just delicious... the oysters, the pulpo, the steaks, the Flammkuchen, the Fettuccine with Pesto and the dessert. Also the wines were also great, especially the Moonharvested Grous (portuguese wine). Service was also very friendly and efficient. We will certainly come back.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Valverden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 184 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2017

My wife and I had lunch here. The first thing that came to our minds when we entered the jam packed restaurant was "this is stunning". So beautiful.
The menu has a great variety of interesting choices, the appetizer platter is not to be missed. All very enjoyable. Our waitress, although being very busy, upheld a good service level. Well done. Just the wine was not quite what I like but that is a matter of style of wine, not of quality. The wines were good, just not the style I like.
We will definitely come back. I also like the pricing. Compared to other restaurants quite on the low side.
We had a short conversation with the couple at the other table. They were very happy with their food too.
PS: The restaurant should have a few more smaller tables. The two of us were seated at a table of six. A bit awkward.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnGr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017 via mobile

I have been her for the second time. Really really good Service and excellent food. The wines served are from the connected winery and and affiliated winery in Portugal. Great Sekt. The rooms are excellent as well.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Sandro_LU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2017 via mobile

Stop by to taste the wines and have a bite. Beautiful building and tastefully decorated. Was expecting more from the menu based on the appearance. The place seemed very popular with locals. Not the cheapest place around but worth the visit. The wines are well made and the expert in the Vinotech really knew his stuff.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2016

Sumptuous Wines, exquisite Cusine, and an Ambiance that wraps you in a warm embrace, that's how I will always remember our visit to Weingut am Nil.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Canack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weingut am Nil also viewed

Kallstadt, Rhineland-Palatinate
Kallstadt, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Weisenheim am Berg, Rhineland-Palatinate
Freinsheim, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Kallstadt, Rhineland-Palatinate
Kallstadt, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Weingut am Nil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing