We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in Sundance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Big White
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2008

We just returned from Big White and stayed at Sundance Resort. The porperty is new, but our rooms were very basic for what we paid. Although they offer amenities such as a heated pool, movies, and game rooms, there was little service provided by the resort. There is no food available on-site, and the tiny grocery store at the resort is 1/2 mile away and very limited. It would be easy for the resort to have coffee/tea/hot chocolate on site but none is offered. It was fairly clean, although there were a few paper scraps and kleenex in the corners. They only offer cleaning service once per five days, if you want extra cleaning it is $25 dollars. We had to ask for paper towels and shampoo for the room. If you want fresh towels and garbage service you have to ask each day. The towels and sheets were also very basic and scratchy. If you choose this resort, realize it is at least 1/4 to 1/2 mile to the village restaurants and it is a very cold walk late at night. I would rent a car and shop in Kelowna before you come up the hill to the resort which takes an hour. The resort is very convienent to the lifts, but again you have to walk uphill to the main square to buy your ticket since this service is not offered through the resort. Sundance is a condo development marketing itself as a resort, but basically you are on your own re: services.

Big White Ski resort is a huge property with great potential, but it is also not quite ready for prime-time. Much of the best terrain is serviced by very old chairs which were not open most of the time. The snow is great, but the hill was extremely foggy for 4 of the 6 days we were there, living up to the Big White-Out reputation. I'll go back when they have high speed chairs for Cliff chair, T-bar and Powder chair.

R. Torrano
San Jose, CA

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rthomasskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2015

Dear rthomasskier,

Thank you for your thorough and thoughtful review of Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort.

We are pleased to announce that Big White Central Reservations will be taking over the day to day running of Sundance Resort for the 2015/2016 winter ski season. Central Reservations will now take care of all aspects of Sundance including the 24 hour front desk, housekeeping, maintenance and all your in-house needs while you are at Big White. With our professional and experienced staff, our team will ensure you will have an enjoyable and memorable experience while staying at Sundance. Reservations can be made through Big White Central Reservations as normal, taking advantage of our complete, one stop shop for accommodation, lift tickets, lessons, equipment rentals and airport transfers. Our knowledgeable and friendly agents are ready and waiting to assist you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 93 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2007

My family enjoyed this resort. The cabin we stayed in was larger than I expected. It was elegant and the service at the resort was friendly and prompt. The kids spent a lot of their off the hill time in the main lodges watching movies and in the outdoor pool & waterslide. We recommend it and would book this place again ourselves.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleSarah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2015

Dear SeattleSarah2,

Thank you for your thoughtful review of Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort.

We are pleased to announce that Big White Central Reservations will be taking over the day to day running of Sundance Resort for the 2015/2016 winter ski season. Central Reservations will now take care of all aspects of Sundance including the 24 hour front desk, housekeeping, maintenance and all your in-house needs while you are at Big White. With our professional and experienced staff, our team will ensure you will have an enjoyable and memorable experience while staying at Sundance. Reservations can be made through Big White Central Reservations as normal, taking advantage of our complete, one stop shop for accommodation, lift tickets, lessons, equipment rentals and airport transfers. Our knowledgeable and friendly agents are ready and waiting to assist you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2007

I stayed at this hotel with my family for a ski weekend in March and loved the property. The hotel is well suited for families with the outdoor pool and waterslides, kid’s games room and lounge with pool tables. The suite is well appointed and very comfortable for an extended stay. My only complaint would be that they should have had more than one elevator in each building. The front desk is very helpful and accommodating for any special requests. This is an excellent hotel and I look forward to my return next year.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2015

Dear David R,

Thank you for your review of Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort.

We are pleased to announce that Big White Central Reservations will be taking over the day to day running of Sundance Resort for the 2015/2016 winter ski season. Central Reservations will now take care of all aspects of Sundance including the 24 hour front desk, housekeeping, maintenance and all your in-house needs while you are at Big White. With our professional and experienced staff, our team will ensure you will have an enjoyable and memorable experience while staying at Sundance. Reservations can be made through Big White Central Reservations as normal, taking advantage of our complete, one stop shop for accommodation, lift tickets, lessons, equipment rentals and airport transfers. Our knowledgeable and friendly agents are ready and waiting to assist you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2007

This was our second stay at Sundance at Big White. Last time we had a 2 bedroom (1 bdrm + studio lockoff) and we requested the same unit for this trip. That unit was in use, so they generously put us in a 3 bdrm (2 bdrm + studio lockoff) corner unit, which was their best floorplan (see photo). It was pure luxury for our family of 5.

The units are clean and well maintained, bedrooms are generously sized, and the furniture comfortable and attractive. When I discovered the cleaning team was three young guys, I was even more impressed -- they really cleaned well -- our unit looked as if we were the first to ever occupy it, it was that clean. Remember that this is not a hotel and they don't do daily maid service. They do a full clean after the 5th day. We were there a week but opted out of the full clean -- we just laundered our own towels in the built-in washer/dryer in our unit.

The front desk staff is very courteous and there 24 hours a day. The pool staff were out there scraping ice off the decks and shoveling snow constantly. The pool and hot tubs were well maintained but quite heavy on the chlorine use. (Maybe that's a good thing -- they got a lot of use!). We have young children, and each afternoon there were supervised activities for the kids: cookie decorating, crafting, snow fort building, gaming, etc. There was a complimentary wine and cheese reception one afternoon for the adults that was delightful.

When we were there in 2006 the weather wasn't great and two of the days it was too foggy to ski (you could barely see the hand in front of your face). Being at Sundance was nice because there was so much to do right there: besides the pool there was a movie theatre (or you could check out DVD's from the front desk to use in your unit), the kid's play room, a gym, a lounge with pool table, and even a computer with complimentary internet!

Although Sundance is a great place for families, be aware that it is a little hike to the village. On the map it doesn't look far, but you have to go down a hill past the Bullet Express chair, and then UP the hill near Stonebridge. The hills are steep and not easy for little legs, especially those who have been in ski school and are tired. We borrowed a sled from the front desk and had the kids walk in regular boots while we towed their skis and ski boots in the sled. But if you have room in your car to bring your own sled, you should, as Sundance has only so many loaner sleds. Also, buy your lift tickets in advance, so you don't have to hike up that hill to the village each morning and stand in line.

We cooked all our meals and found the kitchen to be very basically supplied. There are only enough cups/dishes/utensils for each person for one meal, so be sure to get that dishwasher running after breakfast or when you go to serve the next meal you'll find the cupboard bare! Things we'll bring next time that they didn't have: muffin tins or loaf pan (we wanted to make muffins, and cornbread), a metal colander for draining pasta (they had a small plastic one with holes so large that the spaghetti noodles slid right through), and a steamer insert for a pot (for steaming veggies). They provide sponge, dish soap, paper towels, dish cloths. Bring your own foil, plastic wrap, and ziplocs.

We love Sundance and hope you will enjoy your stay there, too. We can't wait to return! Just remember that you can't book it through Big White Central Reservations -- you have to book directly through Sundance.

Most Highly Recommended!

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank PickyPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2015

Dear PickyPacker,

Thank you for your thorough and thoughtful review of Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort.

We are pleased to announce that Big White Central Reservations will be taking over the day to day running of Sundance Resort for the 2015/2016 winter ski season. Central Reservations will now take care of all aspects of Sundance including the 24 hour front desk, housekeeping, maintenance and all your in-house needs while you are at Big White. With our professional and experienced staff, our team will ensure you will have an enjoyable and memorable experience while staying at Sundance. Reservations can be made through Big White Central Reservations as normal, taking advantage of our complete, one stop shop for accommodation, lift tickets, lessons, equipment rentals and airport transfers. Our knowledgeable and friendly agents are ready and waiting to assist you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed the weekend at Sundance to celebrate Valentine's Day. By the website, I knew it was beautiful, but it didn't give this resort justice! Our stay exceeded our expectations ten times over! The staff was welcoming and accomodating through out the entire weekend, our suite was gorgeous, and the ammenities were amazing. There is nothing like swimming in an outdoor heated pool while the snow is falling. For us it was a weekend of romance, but for the kids who were staying there, it was a weekend of fun. There is a waterslide and even a room filled with toys and games, just for kids. Sundance truly accommodates everyone!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hthrjanae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2015

Thank you for your review of Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort.

We are pleased to announce that Big White Central Reservations will be taking over the day to day running of Sundance Resort for the 2015/2016 winter ski season. Central Reservations will now take care of all aspects of Sundance including the 24 hour front desk, housekeeping, maintenance and all your in-house needs while you are at Big White. With our professional and experienced staff, our team will ensure you will have an enjoyable and memorable experience while staying at Sundance. Reservations can be made through Big White Central Reservations as normal, taking advantage of our complete, one stop shop for accommodation, lift tickets, lessons, equipment rentals and airport transfers. Our knowledgeable and friendly agents are ready and waiting to assist you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle
17
Reviewed February 26, 2006

The last time we stayed at Big White we stayed in the village and listened to the partiers hooting and hollaring all night long and our accommodations were old and in need of some TLC. The conditions at Big White were again, incredible. Fluffy powder to our knees. This place is like new. Clean and only two or three buildings from the village so it is close, but more importantly very quiet. The lift access was so convenient. The chair lift is right there. Great facilities, pool, waterslide, fitness etc. We did a horse drawn sleigh ride from the front door and all around the main areas of Big White. Very romantic way to see the village. We stayed in the hotel at Sundance but one of their staff gave us a tour of the cabins. They are incredible. We would make a few changes but otherwise - we want one for our family! If we were looking to buy something at Big White, we would definately consider one of those cabins, right on the run, private hot tubs fireplaces etc. We would recommend Sundance and stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2015

Thank you for your review of Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort.

We are pleased to announce that Big White Central Reservations will be taking over the day to day running of Sundance Resort for the 2015/2016 winter ski season. Central Reservations will now take care of all aspects of Sundance including the 24 hour front desk, housekeeping, maintenance and all your in-house needs while you are at Big White. With our professional and experienced staff, our team will ensure you will have an enjoyable and memorable experience while staying at Sundance. Reservations can be made through Big White Central Reservations as normal, taking advantage of our complete, one stop shop for accommodation, lift tickets, lessons, equipment rentals and airport transfers. Our knowledgeable and friendly agents are ready and waiting to assist you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, California
16
Reviewed March 19, 2005

I can't believe this place - you don't even need to ski when you're in this wonderful hotel. With a small theater (you can pick your own movies from the library), a beautiful pool, hot tub, and water slide, complimentary barbeques....you'll never want to leave! Also, if you're with kids, there's a kid's room and a tubing park nearby. As if it's not already fun enough, being at beautiful Big White!

  • Stayed: March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2015

Thank you for your review of Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort.

We are pleased to announce that Big White Central Reservations will be taking over the day to day running of Sundance Resort for the 2015/2016 winter ski season. Central Reservations will now take care of all aspects of Sundance including the 24 hour front desk, housekeeping, maintenance and all your in-house needs while you are at Big White. With our professional and experienced staff, our team will ensure you will have an enjoyable and memorable experience while staying at Sundance. Reservations can be made through Big White Central Reservations as normal, taking advantage of our complete, one stop shop for accommodation, lift tickets, lessons, equipment rentals and airport transfers. Our knowledgeable and friendly agents are ready and waiting to assist you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big White
Inn at Big White
#2 of 3 in Big White
83 reviews
White Crystal Inn
#3 of 3 in Big White
66 reviews
Days Inn Kelowna
#20 of 34 in Kelowna
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stonebridge Lodge
#3 of 15 in Big White
53 reviews
Belgo - Black Mountain
Scenic Canyon Ranch Bed and Breakfast & Retreats
Chateau Big White
#1 of 2 in Big White
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort

Address: 255 Feathertop Way | Big White Ski Resort, Big White, British Columbia V1P 1P3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Big White
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Big White
Price Range: $213 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it is a family Christmas ski holiday or a weekend get together with your best snowboard buddies, the Sundance Team know how precious your vacation time is. We take great pride in providing our guests with a level of professional friendly service you will not find anywhere else. We believe in the little things like finding a babysitter at the last minute or helping line up the best bottle of famous Okanagan wine for impromptu romantic evenings. And hey, if you ask the right person, a guided excursion into some of our secret champagne powder stashes might be in your future. We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Resort At Big White Ski Hotel Big White

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing