We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best of big white”

Globe Cafe & Tapas Bar
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Big White
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Casually upscale Tapas & Trattoria with cool bar and great local wine selection. Spanish & Italian influence in the deliciously different Tapas menu , with family style dining in one area. Offering Trattoria style gourmet thin crust pizzas and hearty share-able pasta bowls. A separate area houses Globe's European style coffee shop and serves rich, smooth Caffe Umbria specialty coffees with a selection of healthy soup, sandwich and salad options, together with a great wine list and full cocktail bar.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best of big white”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

this was the little gem of big white. The food was great. Good choices service etc. We went there 2 nights in a row!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    66
    21
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Tappas!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We really liked going to this restaurant...went several times. Great food...Tappas is a great dining experience with friends and family.

You must end your meal with "make your own Smores"...great dessert!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank lingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“wonderful little place”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Three of us came here for a late lunch on St. Patrick's Day on the recommendation of another friend. Our "source" told us they featured mini Yorkshire puddings and that's all we needed to hear !! We were a tad disconcerted by the stack of foodstuffs and whatnot beside the front door, but carried on in. Unfortunately - but not really - they had a St. Patrick's Day special menu so the Yorkies were out.
We snagged a table off to the side in it's own alcove + settled in for a lovely time. Our server ...a UK transplant...was a delight. Very personable and efficient.
We each tried a different dish on the menu and shared. All delicious.....potato and bacon chowder ;Guinness cheese, home-made soda bread,home-made "Branston"; beef pot pies, soda bread; and the absolute highlight......sticky pudding with a Guinness toffee sauce. Yum. THAT should be a permanent feature on the menu, if it isn't already!
We had wine with lunch of course, Mt. Boucherie Merlot and the Ex Nihilo Pinot Gris and would recommend them both.
This is a small, unremarkable place from the outside, but don't pass it up!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sahali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and comfortable”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We shared 6 of the tapas between us and enjoyed the friendly and prompt service at Globe. The goat cheese salad and warm beet salad were both superb. The crab cake was a bit mushy and lacked lumps of solid crab meat but the flavour was bold and fresh. The braised short rib poutine was an interesting take on the classic Quebecois heart stopper. More curd cheese would have amped up the authenticity. The prime rib and Yorkshire pudding wiht horseradish sauce appealed to the eye and was bursting with flavour from the rich au jus. The duck confit sheppard's pie was haute comfort food. We will definitely be coming back next time.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Below avera”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Very slow service, food was below average. The panini's were extremely undercooked and it took us 30 minutes after our lunch was finished for our food to be taken away and another 20 minutes for our bill to come.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kporrellz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobeTapas, Owner at Globe Cafe & Tapas Bar, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
I am so sorry that you experienced less than perfect service and food quality during your visit to Globe last weekend. This is certainly not our normal standard, as you can see from other reviews, and I am looking into how this happened. Please do contact me personally at jude@globedining.com so that I can establish some more details and invite you to experience Globe at any of our locations on a future occassion. We appreciate your feedback and the opportunity to continually improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Globe Cafe & Tapas Bar also viewed

Big White, Okanagan Valley
 
Big White, Okanagan Valley
Big White, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Globe Cafe & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing