We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Snow”

Big White Ski Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Big White
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Booking a Big White vacation is easy with Big White Central Reservations, Big White's largest on mountain booking agency. Select from a wide range of ski-in ski-out accommodation, from economy to executive with private hot tub units, we have something to suit all budgets and tastes. Take advantage of discounted lift tickets, lessons and equipment rentals, find great special offers, book airport transfers, select airline flights and on mountain activities all through our one stop, full service booking agency. If you're driving, parking in resort and at all properties is FREE!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The best thing about Big White is the snow. It's high quality powder, with superb grooming and loads of off piste. A huge variety in runs, mainly intermediate and beginner on the groomed, with terrific lift facilities. We did incur some lift lines between Xmas and NY and also 2 bad weather days over a 10 day trip, 1 day not skiiable, but that happens in the mountains.

IF you're after a party, nightlife or big apres ski scene, then Big White is probably not the best. IT does have 2 good bars, but after that the choice thins out quickly. Good food, coffee and options for dinning, but no real bar or drinking scene to be honest.

Accommodation is also brilliant, all pretty much ski in and out, very easy access for pretty much all parts of the village.

Finally, transfer service off the mountain can be a bit unreliable, so make sure you reconfirm your transfer off the hill to ensure it arrives on time and the right day (they turned up a day early for me then were 1 hour late on the day, meaning I had to wait outside in the cold).

Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guns68,

Thank you for sharing your review with the travel community, we really appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 399 of 575 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We rented a condo in Happy Valley Dec 2013 for our family of 4 and met 2 other sibblings and their families for Christmas. A total of 18 of us in 4 separate condos.
Happy Valley - we stayed in Spy Glass - GREAT condo. It overlooked the skating rink and was ski in ski out. Closest condo's to the gondola which takes you up the hill to the village. There are alot of condo's on this hill. VERY pretty. I often wondered how the condo's located between the village and Happy Valley make it up and down the hill. The gondola is definately handy as the hill is steep and snow packed.
This is only our 3rd time skiing - we are a hockey family and just didn't have time to take up skiing. The hill offers alot of green runs I felt. We travelled with a couple of experienced skiers who did some black runs and it seems everyone had a great time.
There is alot for a family to do here - skating, tubing, lessons, skiing (or course), ice climbing, cross country skiing and even a bit of shopping. Other family members took in the spa several times.
Some tips.....if staying in a condo - it's my opinion that you need 4x4 to get to the condo's. A car can get you to Big White from Kelowna but once you get to Big White - if you are driving a car - stick to the parking lots and walk. JMO.
Try stay close to the village or in Happy Valley for easy access to the gondola and/or the village. JMO
The village is very "quaint". We had our favorite hang out - Bullwheel - which turned into our meeting place. They were very accomodating. The weather was great, atmosphere is great, would love to go back!

Thank Shadowpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Shadowpig,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Big White Ski Resort. We are pleased to hear that your stay was so enjoyable and that you hope to return soon. We offer some great specials for Manitoba Spring Break which you can find on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Everybody here is very friendly and welcoming. Always had a good meal. As well as we had booked through a third party booking agency, whom had not fully booked us but we had received confirmation from them. Therefore when we got there our room had been given away (not with any fault to Big White and it's staff, due to the fact they had not received information for our arrival), however they fixed it as quickly as possible with an amazing new room, not in our originally planned hotel but it was no hassle to us and it was a very nice upgrade. :) We love big White and hope to return soon.

Thank Kelsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Kelsey B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Big White Ski Resort. We are pleased to hear that your stay was so enjoyable and that you hope to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hill is a must all levels of skiers. From the Bullet to the Cliff you will LOVE the snow. The AMAZING ski-school staff can take care of you or your little ones while your entire family escapes for the winter.

Thank Smilewithmelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Melissa,

Thank you for sharing your review with the travel community, we really appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We love this place so much we keep dragging our family from the tropics here every 2nd year for a white Christmas. Central Reservations are great and organise a fantastic Christmas package which includes tree, decorations, stockings, hamper etc. Our kids love it and even after flight delays and 34 hours of travelling the thrill of arriving is the same as the first time we arrived. Unfortunately our apartment wasn't as well serviced as previous years, but that was the first bad experience in 4 trips. The snow was great this year and the lift lines move quickly. It doesn't have the Apres ski that other resorts have, but for families it is excellent. The kids ski school is great and ladies day is fun! We love it so much we are heading back from Banff to spend another 11 days prior to our long journey home.

Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Sue T,

Thank you for providing such thoughtful and thorough feedback regarding your recent stay at Big White Ski Resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big White Ski Resort also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Been to Big White Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing