We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”

Big White Ski Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Big White
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Booking a Big White vacation is easy with Big White Central Reservations, Big White's largest on mountain booking agency. Select from a wide range of ski-in ski-out accommodation, from economy to executive with private hot tub units, we have something to suit all budgets and tastes. Take advantage of discounted lift tickets, lessons and equipment rentals, find great special offers, book airport transfers, select airline flights and on mountain activities all through our one stop, full service booking agency. If you're driving, parking in resort and at all properties is FREE!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This mountain is amazing so many runs ranging from beginner to experienced. All staff are very helpful and friendly and the food is of great quality. The snow is excellent so much powder. We were there for ten days and defiantly didn't explore the whole mountain it's HUGE. There is an ice skating rink with hockey gear to hire (you can keep the puck as well) and a section with snow tube slides. It is a very much a family resort but also caters to young groups of friends. You barely wait in lines for lifts and there is also night skiing available.
All in all this is a great snow resort and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Thank Shayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, General Manager at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Shayla,

Thank you for providing such thoughtful and thorough feedback regarding your stay at Big White Ski Resort.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 415 of 575 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have spent two full seasons at Big White and still feel like there is more to explore on this mountain. Flying in from Australia was quick and easy.. The mountain is about 45mim drive from Kelowna airport... Contact Big White reservations if you would like a shuttle up the hill... you probably wont need a car during your visit.

On the mountain you will find a range of restaurants ranging to cater for everybody's needs/budget. There is also plenty of shops for clothes/ski+ride equipment.. There is also a mini-mart that sells most foods/alcohol. - Might be an idea to do a shop in Kelowna at a supermarket if you are travelling on a budget.

I think the mountain is primarily focussed towards families. The activities team make sure there is always events happening for families, particularly at the Happy Valley Day Lodge. The Kids Centre (Ski+Ride School) is fantastic, you can relax knowing your kids are going to have a great day learning to ski with extremely well trained/professional ski/snowboard instructors. If you are going at a busy time of year (christmas/new years) it is a good idea to get your kids in as early as possible to avoid a long queue. The queue is rare and only seems to happen during busy periods.

A "bad" season here is a million times better than the best season I've had in Australia/NZ. When it snows here the powder is better than any other powder ive seen, very light and so much easier than skiing in New Zealand and Australian "powder". There is a great range of terrain available, and a great park too. But there is always a "green run" down from every lift, so you can feel relaxed exploring without worrying about getting forced into terrain that is above your ability.

Big White has something for the entire family!

Thank Kieran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, General Manager at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Kieran B,

Thank you for providing such thoughtful and thorough feedback regarding your stay at Big White Ski Resort.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

March spring break.

This was our 3rd time visiting big white,
It's a great family resort which is what they advertise. The snow has always been excellent when we visit at spring break. As it is march the weather can be very unpredictable. Usually if one hill is fogged in another is clear and sometimes the whole mountain range is fantastically clear. We found the groomers did a great job. We never had a line up to wait in our whole week long trip. Only one down side the day we arrived one chair ( the main night skiing chair) had seen some maintenance before we arrived and was still having some technical difficulties and had to be closed so there was no night skiing that night.
We made up for it the rest of our trip. Great family ski destination.

Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, General Manager at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear S M,

Thank you for providing such thoughtful and thorough feedback regarding your March stay at Big White Ski Resort.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Big White suffers from being Big and White. A resort can't help the weather, but, some resorts fair better, and for the money, Big White is an experience, but not one to rush to return to.

Grooming overnight was ordinary at best. Perhaps it was what they had to work with, perhaps it was little care about the finished result. Groomers often left notable ridges between groom tracks, which tripped up novice skiers and boarders, who would then have to correct themselves, causing unpredictable actions for those coming up from behind. A dangerous daily situation that takes an edge of enjoyment.

Some of the restuarants are very good, but everything is just that bit more expensive at Big White, and it's unjustified. The tickets, rentals, food, everything could be a bit more reasonable.

If you haven't been, give it a go, but if you are choosing which one to go to first in Okanagan, try Sun Peaks or Silverstar first.

Gem Lake was excellent, but, winds came in too often and shut it down. Too exposed then to be comfortable for anyone.

1  Thank CodyMav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, General Manager at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Cody M,

Thank you for providing your feedback and comments about your recent stay with us at Big White Ski Resort.

I am concerned about some of the issues you encountered during your stay and I'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with you at a time that is convenient for you. To this end, I have provided my direct contact information in a message to your profile inbox.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

i spent two years in kelowna and got up here ever chance possible. Great snow and lots of differant terrain

1  Thank JoshG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, General Manager at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear JoshG83,

Thank you for sharing your review with the travel community, we really appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big White Ski Resort also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Been to Big White Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing