We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would you want to ski somewhere else?”

Big White Ski Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Big White
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Booking a Big White vacation is easy with Big White Central Reservations, Big White's largest on mountain booking agency. Select from a wide range of ski-in ski-out accommodation, from economy to executive with private hot tub units, we have something to suit all budgets and tastes. Take advantage of discounted lift tickets, lessons and equipment rentals, find great special offers, book airport transfers, select airline flights and on mountain activities all through our one stop, full service booking agency. If you're driving, parking in resort and at all properties is FREE!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our 2nd time at Big White, we just love it there! The snow, the village, the atmosphere, all just wonderful. This time we stayed at North 101, easy ski in and out from Perfection. And just a 5 min walk to the VCM. If you are not too tired in the afternoon/evening, there is always something else to do. The unlimited tubing pass is well worth it, the ice climbing an adventure!
The only thing we noticed this time around is that some of the staff and the activity desk should have taken a crash course on customer service. I know, these are mostly young staff having an absolute ball working and staying at Big White, but a little bit of friendliness does not hurt!
The shopping bus is a great idea - but why was the destination changed?
The other thing which bugged us is that even if you pay for the bus for Sat and Sun (so double the price), and you decide to stay in Kelowna for the Saturday night (to have longer shopping, dinner, movies etc), the bus will not take you back up the mountain on the Sunday afternoon if you have not been on the bus down to Kelowna on Sunday morning. They give your seat to someone else. Even if you have paid for it. Grrrr
Apart from that, it was again a great holiday and we will come back!

Thank JuttaHeider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"happy valley"
in 35 reviews
"great snow"
in 52 reviews
"black forest"
in 25 reviews
"ice climbing"
in 22 reviews
"great resort"
in 21 reviews
"champagne powder"
in 18 reviews
"great family"
in 24 reviews
"ice hockey"
in 8 reviews
"lift lines"
in 20 reviews
"snow fall"
in 7 reviews
"off piste"
in 9 reviews
"fresh snow"
in 9 reviews
"family resort"
in 15 reviews
"poor visibility"
in 7 reviews
"other resorts"
in 12 reviews
"hot tub"
in 16 reviews
"green runs"
in 16 reviews
Filter

510 - 514 of 641 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went for two weeks over Christmas and chose Big White over some of the other resorts such as Whistler as wanted ski-in/ski-out; champagne powder; less busy especially in the holidays and better value for money. We were not disappointed! We will definitely return.

1  Thank skiandsailingsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, General Manager at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Hello Skiandsailingsue,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Big White Ski Resort. I am glad to your vacation with us lived up to all your expectations and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Pro's, the skiing is world class (powder so dry its hard to make snow balls and loads of it) and the design and layout of the Big White ski field is exceptional. Our party varied from beginners to good average skiers and all were satisfied. Village has a number of dining/pub options and an adequate small liquor store/grocery outlet. We chose to do grocery shopping in Kelowna and have it delivered to our chalet and we would do this again. Checking in at Central Reservations was simple and Victoria who assisted us was very helpful. The tube park is fantastic for the kids but very expensive.

Con's, Shuttle booked through Big White was an 75 minutes late and no-one bothered to advise us even though they had our mobile numbers. Booking the kids into ski school was a debacle. We paid the night before (30 minute wait) and then had to register the next morning. Pre-payment meant we were in the registration express line (to hell). We stood in line for over an hour to register and then had to move to another line to book our children into ski school - (20 minutes plus). This process took longer than it took us to book the whole holiday and to lose this skiing time was dissappointing. The lack of staff was obvious. Free shuttle service which for small children/beginner skiers is important, is grudingly supplied by Big White (they have tried to cancel it) and it makes airlines look like Swiss watches - 15 to 25 minutes was the average time spent waiting past the time given by the timetable and many waiting, simply gave up and walked to the village. Stayed at Bullet Creek Cabins and the shuttle does not stop at the end of the road, which meant that small children had to be walked a further 5 minutes up the road (we would have gladly paid $20 odd dollars per family to arrange for children and ski gear to be delived to the village which was a good 15-20 minute walk. For an Australian owned resort, they could really learn some lessons from the organistaion at Falls Creek - just shows you that if you have lots of Snow, there is little incentive to go the extra mile to make it a great experence.

2  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, General Manager at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post on Big White. We at Big White Ski Resort pride ourselves in providing the best holiday experience possible for our guests. By posting on Trip Advisor you are helping to improve our services on the mountain and therefore, the winter holiday experience for future guests.

We also agree with you that Victoria is a fantastic employee and your comments have been passed on to her and her manager.

If you would like to email me at cenres@bigwhite.com I would be happy to investigate the transport issues. Our Kids Centre would also like to investigate the issues you encountered.
Kind regards
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The place has everything you need and everything is so close and easy to get to. There were loads of ski runs for all abilities and ages. There was also a lot of other activities to do such as skating, tubing, sleigh rides, dog sledding and ice climbing. Most excellent.

1  Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, General Manager at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Hello Ken E,

I just wanted to take a moment to thank you for your recent review. We are truly glad you enjoyed your stay at Big White Ski Resort and hope to see you again in the near future.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just come back from 12 days at BIG WHITE. First week sun shone every day. Amazing it did not melt the snow like it would have in Europe! It was cold but no high winds unless at very top so you did not get cold. Then it snowed and we experienced the fog! it was quite scary at one point as we could not see a thing. luckily we had been there a while so knew the way home!
The powder snow that followed is hard to match. Lots of thick powder and skiing through the trees - fantastic! The runs are quite difficult compared to Europe the greens are more like blues and blues like reds (they did not have red runs here). Most of the runs merge together at some point so easy to change route!

A very easy resort to get around. The village is the centre where everything happens, start of ski school, ski hire, supermarket, shops and restaurants and then it is linked by a small cable car to the bottom of the village where the very beginner slopes are and ice skating, sledging, ice climbing and sleigh rides are. It was a very short ride away but nice to go via gondola rather than walking!

We did the ice climbing which was challenging and fun! The ice-skating where we could also hire ice hockey sticks to give that a go which the kids loved. The tubing which the kids loved again! By these activities there are nice open log fires outside so you can keep warm whilst watching the kids.

It is a very easy family friendly resort and we stayed in stonegate which was very convenient to the town and ski in ski out. Most accommodation is ski in and out which makes it such a convenient resort. We went home for lunch a few days which was nice to take the boots off!

would recommend to families and anyone wanting an easy ski holiday!

1  Thank lucy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, General Manager at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear lucy c,
Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Big White Ski Resort. We are pleased to hear that your vacation was so enjoyable and hope see you on the slopes again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big White Ski Resort also viewed

 

Been to Big White Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing