We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints . . .”
Review of Inn at Big White

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Big White
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Big White
A TripAdvisor Member
“No complaints . . .”
Reviewed February 15, 2006

Before heading out to Big White at the end of January I checked out the negative reviews of the Inn at Big White on Trip Advisor, and was left wondering if I had made the best choice of the three full-service hotels on the mountain.

Luckily, my experience in no way resembled anything remotely negative and I felt compelled to type this up in order to bring some balance to the reviews.

Our room on the third floor overlooking the mountain was spacious and clean. Despite not having a hot-plate, the kitchenette was well-equipped and had everything we needed. The bathroom was large and my partner made good use of the conveniently located clothes line, which pulled out from the wall and ran parallel to the shower rod – perfect for hanging our wet bathers.

We were both impressed with the Inn at Big White’s facilities. There are ice machines on each floor, which worked out really well for our après G&Ts. The hot tub fits about 12 adults and has relatively strong jets to work those aching back muscles after a hard day on the hill. It’s also the only hotel on the mountain with a heated outdoor pool. There is a large equipment locker to store your gear as well as a reasonably sized fitness centre.

The hotel purports to be ski in/out, but it’s really a brief walk to the slopes – a street crossing is involved. It looks like the best ski in/out hotel is the White Crystal Inn, which, incidentally, has a great restaurant – The Copper Kettle.

We didn’t eat in the hotel restaurant, Carvers, but it looked alright – don’t let the other review scare you off, it seemed to be a decent restaurant offering standard fare.

The front desk staff was friendly and able to answer any queries we had. Our room was cleaned daily. One day we returned from riding and found a note stating that since ‘items of a personal nature were left on the bed’ our sheets would not be changed. The items were a few t-shirts. A word of advice: clear your bed of everything and you’ll be fine.

Overall our experience was positive and we would return to the Inn at Big White. Big White Resort has plenty of condo and vacation home options catering more to the independent traveler interested in primarily skiing and snowboarding.

Of the 3 full-service hotels, the Inn at Big White is the least expensive. Though with rates averaging $180 a night it isn’t by any means cheap (this is a ski mountain, after all). Budget travelers should consider staying in Kelowna, a 40-minute drive from the hill where there are countless hotels in ‘low’ season during the winter.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    29
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
16
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2006

Very convenient place to stay just across from the village center in Big White. Good smallish swimming pool and shared hot-tub (working fine this year).
Staff good, although they did seem a little slow on cleaning the rooms on some powder days :-) - contrary to other reports they were quite happy to do the dishes, and travelling with a young child doesn't make to keeping a room tidy!
Didn't use the restaurant at all: prefer to go to Snowshoe Sam's instead.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robwks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 10, 2006

Friendly staff but that is about all that's good.
Lobby + lobby washrooms are dirty (there was a smirnoff ice bottle under the sofa OVERNIGHT and no toilet paper + excessively dirty floors)

$156/night, they offer to "make up" rooms but do not do dishes, or beds (if there are personal belongings nearby). in fact, if YOU dont do your OWN dishes - a $20 charge is added to your room. (i think this is ridiculous) a $20 charge was also added to a friends room for having "an excessively dirty room" (there was a 2L pop bottle on the floor) - their reasoning is that if it takes "longer than usual", they have to charge a fee to compensate for the time that was wasted. (how long does it take to pick up a bottle (even a few bottles)? of course all of these "rules" are outlined on a white sheet of paper hidden under some advertisements for pizza. VERY sneaky

again, at %156/night i expected much better service (if you have to clean your own room at a hotel/get charged if you dont - then you're wasting your money!)the manager of this hotel was extremely snotty and rude.

also, food is overpriced/bland. the buffet downstairs offered "unlimited" fries/salad but didn't refill the dishes when they were empty. so basically you can have as much as you want until they run out - this is difficult if there are several other guests there as well. drinks are of course in small glasses filled with mostly ice. also, their menus (at least for my stay) served only one dish for breakfast, one for lunch, and one for dinner. At lunch, the menu offered a choice between beef and chicken burgers, but they only actually served one kind!

overall, a very poor experience. i definately suggest staying at any other hotel available in the area.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big White hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 4, 2005

Surprised to find this hotel is badly run down. At $156.00 per nite I expected a reasonably well managed and maintained establishment. Location and parking is OK. Problems are as follows:
Staff are generally ill-mannered and inattentive. The in-hotel restaurant refused to charge the bill to the hotel because they said the hotel was slow to pay them. The restaurant food was literally disgusting. The hot tub did not function and appeared to have no filtration. The room walls and doors are paper thin so other guests keep you awake all nite. General upkeep of the hotel common areas is very poor. The room was billed as "superior" but was adequate at best.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big White
58.3 mi away
White Crystal Inn
White Crystal Inn
#3 of 3 in Big White
62 reviews
12.0 mi away
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
#5 of 14 in Grand Forks
94 reviews
58.3 mi away
Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
58.3 mi away
Chateau Big White
Chateau Big White
#1 of 2 in Big White
32 reviews
58.3 mi away
Stonebridge Lodge
Stonebridge Lodge
#1 of 15 in Big White
49 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 6 in Christina Lake
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Big White? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Big White

Property: Inn at Big White
Address: Central Village, Big White, British Columbia V1P 1P3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Big White
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Big White
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Big White 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the village centre, the Inn at Big White features excellent resort amenity access. Set amidst the spectacular Monashee Mountains, this 100-unit property offers a relaxing, small town atmosphere. After a hard day on the slopes, skiers and boarders love to relax and enjoy the breathtaking views in the outdoor pool and hot tub. The hotel also features a games room, fitness center, heated underground parking and ski locker storage. Adjacent to the lobby is The Blarney Stone Irish Tavern, enjoy their tasty home-cooked Irish and English fare for breakfast, lunch & dinner, with a pint of fine Irish Ale, or try their wide selection of Irish and Scottish Whiskies and a good dose of good ol' Irish hospitality! At the start of the 2014-15 winter season rooms in this hotel will have Optik TV and internet service; over 55 channels in high definition, Galaxie commercial-free music, movies on demand and pay-per-view programs. In-room internet access that is high speed (15Mbps), wireless, private and secure. Each hotel room has its own Galley Kitchen which includes an induction cooker, mini-refrigerator, microwave and sink. Dishes, cookware and utensils are included. The Inn at Big White has been awarded a Conservation Excellence Award in recognition of their outstanding achievement in energy efficiency through sustainable choices and innovative projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn at Big White reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Big White Hotel Big White
Hotel At Big White

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing