We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean centrally located hotel w amenities.”
Review of Inn at Big White

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Big White
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Big White
winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good clean centrally located hotel w amenities.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Picked hotel for location, pool, and reasonable pricing. Reserved thru their central reservation system to get the special deal on lift ticks. We were on 3rd floor, but there is an elevator, parking underneath. The very warm outdoor pool was the big draw. Staff was great.

Room Tip: Although it probably is a no smoking place there seems to be a fair bit of wackie tobaccie all over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank falconfly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, General Manager at Inn at Big White, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Jay_&_Barb
Thank you for providing such thoughtful and thorough feedback regarding your recent stay at Big White Ski Resort.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    29
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
16
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Ideal position. Ski in and out, ski room, great outdoor hot tub,spacious room. Yes, TV is small, but if you are skiing all day you just need a bed! Great staff, very clean. We got a great deal through Central Reservations. Going back next week.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, General Manager at Inn at Big White, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello Susan P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Inn at Big White Hotel. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Inn and we look forward to seeing you again next week!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

This was a decent hotel, with excellent service. Our room was nice and had all the necessities. The staff here were extremely helpful and friendly. The tv was the only drawback, but i was there to ski anyway. i would highly recommend this hotel an I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CfnLds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, General Manager at Inn at Big White, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear CfnLds,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Big White Ski Resort. We are pleased to hear that your experience was so positive and that you hope to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

stayed there last year overnight
and did so this winter again
it has everything cheap motel does but now
even cheap motels have Wi-Fi.
here You can check Your emails but only if You're sitting in the lobby near front desk
in the room my lap-top can pick up tens of Wi-Fi' from near by hotels
but not a signal from "Inn at Big White"
and that's not what You expect when You pay $140 per night
rooms are not sound proof either so we didn't get a good night sleep
if I go there next year we're definitely going to check other places!
food in the restaurant is great and that's the main reason we stayed there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexinvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, General Manager at Inn at Big White, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear alexinvancouver,
Thank you for providing your feedback and comments about your recent stay with us at the Inn at Big White.
It is unfortunate that, at this stage, we are unable to provide wireless internet throughout the entire hotel. We do ensure that all advertisement and booking confirmations for the hotel state this so our guests are not expecting this service when they arrive.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your meals at Carvers Bar & Grill.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have stayed here every season for the last 3 years. It seems this place is getting better and better by the season! Keeping in mind that each year is a whole new staff, this place has had consistently wonderful front desk people and the cleaning standards have been better and better each time there.

If you pay full rate for these rooms....it may not be the best deal, but if you catch the "ski-free", any normal promotion on the bigwhite website, or if you just ask at the front desk (they gave me 20% last time, just because I asked), it is quite reasonable.

Pro's;
front desk staff are phenomenal
cleanliness is great
nice pool and hot tub
in house restaurant is great (although a little pricey)
coffee/tea/cable/and partial kitchen
50 meters from ski run

con's;
wifi in lobby only
outdated furniture/blankets
weird opening hours for pool (who doesn't open these till 12????)
TINY tv

Room Tip: "try to get mountain view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank canadiantruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Inn at Big White, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Dear Canadiantruth,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback regarding your stay with us at the Inn at Big White. We are pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you notice an improvement each time you return. At the start of the 2014-15 winter season, hotel rooms were equipped with new 40-inch HDTVs and provided with Telus Optik TV and internet service: over 77 channels in high definition, Galaxie commercial-free music, movies on demand and pay-per-view programs. Additionally, in-room internet access is high speed (15Mbps), wireless, private and secure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chilliwack
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We were falsey accused of damage to the room and have been in constant dispute with them since. They refused to show me the damage, refused to allow me to speak to a manager and charged me an astronomical repair charge. All evidence and documentation that I requested (and that a laywer at my law firm advised to obtain), they would not acknowledge, let alone send me. They continued to say that the damage was my fault, completely dismissing anything that I have to say. They claim to have top notch cleansiness and ensure everything is working, however the thermostat in my room as well as the remote for the tv would not work. Also, the beds are terribly unconfortable. Being treated as if what I had to say did not matter will ensure that I nor anyone I know will ever stay at this hotel and I would highly recommend that no one else does. Even if you have to pay more to stay somewhere, it will be worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jody w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big White hotels

North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed here for the second week of spring break for 2012. Typical small town ski resort hotel that has seen its days. Towels, sheets and pillows are a little old and could use replacing. Not quite a ski-, ski-out hotel. More like ski-to-road-and-walk-across-road hotel. It's not the end of the world though. The start of the ski hill is literally across a one lane road. We didn't mind it but it may be important to you.

What the place has going for it is the staff. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. Our shower drain badly needed a cleaning as standing in a foot water while taking a shower was quite disgusting. A quick request at the front and everything was taken care of. Requests for additional complimentary coffee, late check out luggage and several other things were all taken care of quickly and with a smile.

The price IMO is a little high. For that price, you can get a true five star hotel at Whistler with clean sheets that feel new, more up to date furnishing and not as outdated looking hotel. However, if you want great powder in a little resort with top notching skiing, your choices are limited.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big White
58.3 mi away
White Crystal Inn
White Crystal Inn
#3 of 3 in Big White
62 reviews
12.0 mi away
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
#5 of 14 in Grand Forks
94 reviews
58.3 mi away
Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
58.3 mi away
Chateau Big White
Chateau Big White
#1 of 2 in Big White
32 reviews
58.3 mi away
Stonebridge Lodge
Stonebridge Lodge
#1 of 15 in Big White
49 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 6 in Christina Lake
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Big White? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Big White

Property: Inn at Big White
Address: Central Village, Big White, British Columbia V1P 1P3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Big White
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Big White
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Big White 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the village centre, the Inn at Big White features excellent resort amenity access. Set amidst the spectacular Monashee Mountains, this 100-unit property offers a relaxing, small town atmosphere. After a hard day on the slopes, skiers and boarders love to relax and enjoy the breathtaking views in the outdoor pool and hot tub. The hotel also features a games room, fitness center, heated underground parking and ski locker storage. Adjacent to the lobby is The Blarney Stone Irish Tavern, enjoy their tasty home-cooked Irish and English fare for breakfast, lunch & dinner, with a pint of fine Irish Ale, or try their wide selection of Irish and Scottish Whiskies and a good dose of good ol' Irish hospitality! At the start of the 2014-15 winter season rooms in this hotel will have Optik TV and internet service; over 55 channels in high definition, Galaxie commercial-free music, movies on demand and pay-per-view programs. In-room internet access that is high speed (15Mbps), wireless, private and secure. Each hotel room has its own Galley Kitchen which includes an induction cooker, mini-refrigerator, microwave and sink. Dishes, cookware and utensils are included. The Inn at Big White has been awarded a Conservation Excellence Award in recognition of their outstanding achievement in energy efficiency through sustainable choices and innovative projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn at Big White reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Big White Hotel Big White
Hotel At Big White

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing