We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a fascinating visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snowshill Manor

Snowshill Manor
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Snowshill
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always a fascinating visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This is our fourth visit to Snowshill and we never tire of it. There is so much to see and take in. A wonderful collection of objects from all over the world,every room is packed to capacity and it is great to explore all the display cabinets. Plenty to interest everyone of all ages. The staff have a fund of knowledge. Set in a lovely part of the Cotswolds this is a must see!
It does involve quite a long walk from the car park however a buggy is provided for the less able although the property is on several levels with steps so probably not the ideal place for disabled visitors.
Restaurant on site with a reasonable choice of lunches perhaps a little pricey for the size of portions but food of nice quality.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    126
    35
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Strange but amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is not your typical National Trust house but it is truly worth visiting! A beautiful manor house and stunning gardens, but it is the contents of the house that are going to see. A true eclectic collection of 'stuff' from the bizarre to the amazing. The collection of Mr Wade is a real horde which delighted and fascinated us. The staff were informative and helpful. A great day!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rach_oak71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“If you only visit one historical attraction in the Cotswolds, make it Snowshill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just having visited Snowshil Manor, what a wonderful and unique place to visit. A manor house dedicated to housing the eclectic artifacts of craftsmanship all collected by one man. There was so much to see, it was hard to know where to look first. The guides were all informative and enthusiastic. We could have stayed for hours! The gardens were an utter delight and no doubt helped by the wonderful sunshine on the day we visited.

Would certainly return and happily recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jelica39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great day out for adults and kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My family are members of the National Trust, we usually opt for the properties with lots of ground for walking and picnics, the children tend to find the houses a bit boring. Saying this Snowshill Manor is fantastic for kids, the gardens are lovely and the house has a collection of 20,000 plus items from all over the world which is fascinating.

If you check the NT website and get an fun / activity day as well the grounds and house offer a great day out for the family.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Mab100uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very Strange, But Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was certainly the strangest of the National Trust properties that I've visited. The manor was a short walk away from reception, between 5-10 minutes, but they do provide a buggy service if you have limited walking. The manor is the best place to start your visit, although you are given a time slot to enter the manor, but due to the size of the house and amount of delicate collection in the manor I can see why they don't want too many people walking round. The priest house is as you exit the Manor, is where Mr Wade slept due to the collection in the manor. The gardens are lovely and they have a small maze on the path for the kids, both young and old to use. I didn't feel comfortable taking photographs of the collection inside the Manor. Any big bags are put inside a cupboard just inside the door of the Manor. Suitable for children and adults, they have talks at different times of the day. They do have benches along the path, a picnic area and a playground for kids. I would check the website for opening times before visiting, to save being disappointed. Not one of my favourite National Trust properties, but would recommend anyone to just to have a look at the collection.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank herefordliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snowshill Manor also viewed

Winchcombe, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Snowshill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing