We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Granary self-catering Cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Donnington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wren House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Donnington B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Myself and my husband spent a week at the Granary and had a fabulous time. We had never been to the Cotswolds before and the information Kiloran supplied on the local area was invaluable. We were able to visit the loveliest villages and the most interesting local places of interest, a favourite was the Batsford Arboretum. We also had some lovely meals including a great lunch at the Horse and Groom in Bourton-on-the-Hill - again on the reccomendation of Kiloran.

The cottage itself had everything you need for two people and was very cosy. The living room had a lovely window seat where you could sit and admire the countryside. Overall I would reccomend visiting the Cotswolds and staying in this lovely cottage.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 60 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

Thank you Kiloran for a delightful weekend - such attention to detail, and for making our stay in the Cotswolds so relaxing and enjoyable. It was lovely to stay for a few nights, the breakfast was delicious, and your knowledge of local attractions and the recommended tourist drive were great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DBoothey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Wonderful place, just perfect. It is close to all the beautiful towns in Cotswolds and Kiloran McGrigor helped us to make an excellente itinerary visiting the prettiest villages and eating in very nice places (be sure to have a GPS in the car, it helps a lot!)
We've rented the Granary Cottage for 3 nights during the winter. The cottage is soooo cosy! It has just everything you need and privacy as well.
We don't have anything bad to say, we plan to go back to the Cotswolds someday and stay in the same cottage again!
Fernanda and Celso (Brazil)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fernanda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed a week at The Granary and had a wonderful time. The self-contained cottage is well-equipped with lots of reading material, a luxurious bathroom & comfy bed & lounge. It was peaceful and cosy. Can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

My wife and I visited Wren House in October and had a wonderful weekend...in fact it is hard to believe that the couple who wrote one of the reviews stayed in the same place!
The house is a beautiful Cotswold's house, well located, with lovely bedrooms and very comfortable beds.
We too have travelled round the country and the world and fully understand that bed and breakfast in the United Kingdom is usually what it says i.e. not 24 hour hotel accomodation. As requested, we arrived in the late afternoon and had a fulsome welcome from Kiloran with tea following shortly afterwards. We went out for dinner, slept well and were treated to a great English breakfast in the morning. We left a bit later than the time requested but felt no pressure at all to hold to a deadline.
Overall, we had a lovely weekend greatly helped by Kiloran's excellent hospitality.
We'll certainly be back next time we are in that part of the country.
Andrew and Fran Vallance-Owen

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Our party of four stayed at Wren House for the first two nights of our trip to England and Scotland. It was just perfect for us. Lovely surroundings, everything you could wish for in amenities, as well as a friendly and helpful host. The breakfast was fresh and delicious: it set the bar for the rest of the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SidneyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

If you're looking for a secluded oasis in the Cotswolds, you could do no better than The Wren House. Situated only a hop away from Stratford-Upon-Avon, this beautiful stone cottage, with one of the prettiest English gardens I know, offers a tranquil oasis even in high season. You can walk to The Fox Inn in Broadwell Village for a meal and a Donnington ale from the local brewery, and with footpaths nearby, you can enjoy a car-less day if you so desire. There are many single lane country roads in the area, which were practically car free even on the week-end. The hostess provides an excellent English country breakfast which can either be enjoyed in the pleasant kitchen or on a terrace overlooking the garden. Two happy labradors, a mother and her pup, supplied
furry entertainment, and the house is well stocked with books to read if the one you brought proves less enjoyable than you expected. There are also plenty of guide books
that suggest other footpaths a short car ride away.

Room Tip: The Pink Room overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom2348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donnington
2.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
994 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
318 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#6 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Limes Guest House
The Limes Guest House
#10 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
135 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Porch House
The Porch House
#2 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
580 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bell at Stow
The Bell at Stow
#3 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wren House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wren House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Wren House Main Street, Donnington, Stow-on-the-Wold GL56 0XZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold > Donnington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Donnington
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wren House Bed and Breakfast is a charming 15th-century house in the small and peaceful hamlet of Donnington barely two miles from Stow-on-the-Wold. There are three double bedrooms and three dedicated bathrooms, one en suite, each with large and very comfortable (everyone says so!) kingsize beds and feather duvets. This is the private home of Mrs. Kiloran McGrigor and her two yellow Labradors opened up to staying guests. It has a beautiful south-facing garden, and all rooms overlook it, in which guests are invited to sit and, if fine, breakfast is served al fresco. Breakfasts are sumptuous affairs - lots of fruit, cereals, juice and yoghurt and full cooked breakfast if guests wish. Conversation round one table can be entertaining and stimulating. Next to Wren House is a self-catering cottage for two under the same ownership. Guests at the cottage can enjoy all day access and their own secluded garden so this works best for longer stays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wren House Bed & Breakfast Donnington, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing