We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Manors Country Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castroreale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Manors Country Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castroreale
Spruce Head, Maine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Paradise!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

From the minute you walk in the door you feel as if you are visiting a friend in their home.
We were offered a cold drink or something to eat before we even checked in. Our room was looking out over the countryside with a small private patio. The room was filled with
antiques and very tastefully decorated. Chris has a flair for texture and color in a very electic sort of way. Her daughter PierAngela is officially running the inn under the watchful eye of her mother. The two nights that we were there Chris did the cooking and the meals were to die for! Everything is fresh and much is hand picked from their gardens. For example we had a fresh pasta with avacado sauce from their own avacado tree. Chris showed us a room where she had left part of the wall exposed to show us the original stone. Fine antiques abound as well as silver, art, and fresh flowers! The gardens and the pool were fantastic and she even has peacocks! We woke the first morning to the sound of the church bells chiming the time. Breakfast was breads, fruits, fresh orange juice and homemade jams, meat and cheeses. Although we were tempted to "hang out" for the day we opted to head up to Castoreale for lunch. Charming small village with fabulous views. Chris was a fascinating person to talk to. She is passionate about keeping everything environmentaly pure. She even hangs the sheets and towels on the line! Would we come back?............In a minute! for a longer stay! Green Manors is definitely a "destination" stop over but day trips to Cefalu, Messina and Taormina are managable. We left knowing that Chris would be as welcomed in our home as we were in hers!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lobstermanslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    12
    1
    3
    8
See reviews for
11
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

On our first visit to Green Manors, we arrived late at night, tired and hungry. We'd hoped that the kitchen might still be open for a small snack to put us on until morning. But we were immediately greeted with wonderful Sicilian hospitality - and found ourselves tucking into a four course gastronomic feast in a lovely dining room, with wonderful local wines and, of course, a bit of Grappa, to aid the digestion (!). Nothing was a problem for our hosts. We had a marvellous holiday and were really charmed by the hotel, its owners and the local area.

We returned to Green Manors this summer, after four years and it was just as good as we remember. The food and wine were excellent, the dining room is elegant but relaxed and we felt really looked after. The hotel is stylish, small and intimate, with serene gardens and a beautiful, large pool. Its an idyllic place to relax, be pampered and explore the rest of Sicily and the islands.

The nearest town, Castroreale, is a gem - very characterful, stunning, sleepy and untouched by tourism. A glimpse of the "authentic" Sicily. We were also lucky enough to be there for a big religious feast this year, with fireworks, street parties and night stalls in the evening. Other trips included a visit to Lipari on the hydrofoil from nearby Milazzo, which was also absolutely stunning and well worth a visit.

We've found that, when visiting Sicily, it pays to be discerning and this place certainly offers a wonderful, luxurious bolthole.

We'll be back!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338REBECCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den bosch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

We came to an arrangement with the owners of green manors and stayed in one of their new projects. However, during the day and evening we have stayed at green manors itself and the place is beautiful. We liked the food so much that we ate at their restaurant 3 nights in a row. It was just a real culinary experience. And the two ladies (owners) are great, they really look after the interests of their guests. The hotel itself has a good sphere and during the day you can relax in the nice garden (with pool).
This is surely recommendation if you want to relax and enjoy good food.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenBoschMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

I think this property may once have been very special, (perhaps 4 / 5 years ago) but I would not recommend it now. the place is not even kept to 3 star standard although it has 5? There are no fly screens on the windows. The bed linen was dreadful, the pillows in dire need of replacement. The shower in our room flooded the floor each time and there were no extra floor mats to compensate for this. The food at dinner was nice, the wine good value for money, the service at dinner was excellent and friendly. Breakfast was a boring affair with little choice and no imagination. The family pets - cute to begin with, but a nuisance really. Both the dog and cat drink water from the swimming pool. I found this property in the Alistar Sawdays guide and hence trusted it, as we have never had a bad experience before - but this place really disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mulranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Very dirty room, for example, during my last check (before leaving hotel) I found an old shoes of another customer. We recognize the manor's dog drinking and washing inside children pool. All furnitures (bed, closet, etc) are home-made with a real poor quality. it's near nothing of interesting, far away from newspaper seller or market or restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AleValeViaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

A wonderful week in a hidden paradise. Pierangela and her staff couldn't have been more welcoming, they really made the extra effort to make us comfortable - changing our perfectly good mattress three times to help one fussy customer's back pain disappear! The food was wonderful and the pool area very well laid out and spacious whether you want to sunbathe or sit quietly and read. A great place for those who want to hide away, it's very romantic and peaceful, with a menagerie of friendly and unobtrusive pets: a calm dog, an affectionate cat and oblivious goldfish and turtles. Guests really relax and chat happily over dinner - the atmosphere is very special.
The only drawback for some may be the location. It is a little bit out of the way but we liked that. It was definitely off the tourist trail, in rural Italy, and we were a short drive away from Milazzo, the port to the Aeolian islands where we went to see the ever-active Stromboli volcano. Taormina is just over an hour's drive away and other guests made trips to Etna.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blancheneige101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

We loved this place and hope to go back. We were made very welcome by Pierangela the Belgian/Italian proprietor. The room was lovely, furnished with antiques, but very comfortable. The dinner was fantastic and incredibly good value. The atmosphere of the place is made magical by the owners' menagerie which includes peacocks, turtles, the inevitable cats and even a kangaroo. Brilliant value both for accommodation and dinner.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castroreale
19.7 mi away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
88.0 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 39 in Ragusa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
40.1 mi away
Villa Del Bosco Hotel
Villa Del Bosco Hotel
#16 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
64.1 mi away
Astro Suite Hotel
Astro Suite Hotel
#4 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
105.0 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
18.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Manors Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Manors Country Resort

Property: Green Manors Country Resort
Address: Via Porticato 70 | Borgo Porticato, 98053, Castroreale, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Castroreale
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castroreale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a sun terrace, outdoor pool, and candlelight dinners, Green Manors Country Resort is located in the countryside outside of Castroreale. It offers elegant accommodation surrounded by lush vegetation. With free Wi-Fi in public areas, the spacious rooms come ornately decorated and may include exposed stone walls, tapestries, and colourful tiled floors. They are each equipped with air conditioning, an electric kettle, and private bathroom. A sweet and savoury buffet breakfast is included each morning. The on-site restaurant serves international cuisine in the classy dining room. Special diet menus are available. The church of Santa Marina is 6 km away. Green Manors Resort is a 12-minute drive from Barcellona Pozzo di Gottoand 20 from Milazzo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Manors Country Hotel Castroreale
Green Manors Country Messina
Hotel Green Manors Country
Green Manors Country Resort Castroreale, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing