We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Taiwana
Nearby Hotels
Reve de St Barth(Anse des Flamands)(Great Value!)
$599
$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Marie Saint-Barth(Colombier)(Great Value!)
$464
$441
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Christopher St Barth(Anse de Lorient)(Great Value!)
$406
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices(Grand Cul-de-Sac)(Great Value!)
$535
$487
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveler rating
101
16
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
16
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflamands beachcheval blancprivate poolquiet beachde francethe hotel managerabsolute perfectionevery guestother guestsan upgradeover the topbeach servicealexparadisesuiteislandlunch
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 121 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was our 23rd year on St Barths, where, virtually every year since 1992, we have previously taken an annual fortnight's vacation at Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France, situated on the beautiful beach of Baie des Flamands. New owners there saw our rates rise by 54% from last year, so, despite the staff and management at Isle de France remaining utterly charming and friendly, chose this year to stay at the newly refurbished and rather lovely Taiwana Hotel next door, where we were afforded a wonderful welcome and made to feel very much at home. Indeed, as we began our first ever stay at the uniquely designed Taiwana, we had the same sensation of our first moments at Isle de France 23 years ago, one of finding a place where we knew we could be happy and when, then as now, we looked at each other and said "this is for us". And so it proved. Firstly the management, Claire, Felipe and Octavio were a joy, making us feel as though this was our home, and deserve enormous credit for the hotel's recent transformation, whilst the staff are brilliant – nothing is too much, nothing too small – and the whole experience was a true pleasure. Food and the restaurant and bar were all excellent. The hotel is bedecked with palms, banana trees and full walls of flowers, bursting with tropical colours and planted in moss banks cleverly suspended around the open areas - the effect is lovely. Taiwana also has a relaxing and generally quiet pool just steps from the stunning sandy beach of Flamands. Our room, which was pure understated luxury, had a gorgeous view from its terrace and our every need was cared for. Minor criticisms are not worth mentioning – this was altogether, a therapeutic, joyful and entirely civilised experience, which we hope to repeat many, more times over the forthcoming years. Taiwana really is paradise on a paradise island. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank DrRCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We have been in the hotel for 11 days and we have spend one of our best vacations. The hotel is located in the best and beautiful beach , Flamand . It was wonderful, with a very kindly staff . The restaurant is excelent, one of the best in the island. The rooms and the service was perfect. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank silvia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

With all of the glowing reviews, I was worried we may be setting our expectations a bit too high for this trip. But from start to finish we were never dissapointed once during our stay. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and we were treated marvelously all week. Everything about this hotel from the staff to the room, the beach and the food was top notch.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank travelsofsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The hotel was wonderful and peaceful, it felt like we were on a most perfect vacation ever until a family with a good number of kids moved in, reserved all the front beach chairs and allowed their kids run around screaming all day. That's when we gave up on the beautiful Flamand beach and permanently rellocated to Saline, where it was tranquil and quiet and had no children (god bless the nudists). Everything was very nice but be warned a group of barracudas has been spotted in the waters near the hotel, so it's advised not to wear shiny jewelry or splash too much or swim at night as to avoid an attack. Having said that, historically speaking barracudas are ubiquitous in the Caribbean yet attack very rarely and generally do so when provoked so I wouldn't worry too much about this, just leave your diamonds in the safe. Back to the hotel: the food at the hotel restaurant was yummy and well presented, the staff overall were very nice and accommodating, it's located, maybe a 5 min ride from Gustavia where the majority of nice restaurants and shopping is located and maybe a 15-20 min drive from the Gouverneur and Saline beaches, so it's a fairly convenient location. The rooms are large and feel more like apartments or villas; essentially every guest is in their own building so you won't hear other people much, sometimes it felt like we were the only guests there, it was an amazing feeling. I do wish they offered red wines at proper temperatures - like everywhere else on the island they chill the red wine and I find that abhorrent - I wish there was an option to have it chilled or at 50-60F.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mshkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

great little secret hotel with fantastic staff from the GM all the way down to the team in the restaurant.
stayed in the hotel last month for a quick visit and thoroughly enjoyed it and thinks its one of the best on the island. they understand subtle and personal service which is hard to get right.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickypeterpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews