We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Pleasant Experience, Twice”
Review of La Langouste

La Langouste
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed March 18, 2016

Our first (and last*) trip to St. Barth had us unknowingly located in a villa just aside of Flamands Beach, in an area somewhere between sketchy and overgrown. The saving grace for our location, however, was the fact that La Langouste was just down the road. Not only was it most enjoyable once for dinner, it was perhaps even more so twice.

Embedded in the unassuming Hotel Baie des Anges overlooking the water, La Langouste has it figured out. On an island of gustatory overdrive, it keeps things simple; where menu prices in other similarly good restaurants can have you on cardiac medication, it aims for reasonable; and where service elsewhere can be stuffy, it serves with a healthy side of friendly. Good for La Langouste, and good for us. And then there's the food.

As a result of two evenings dining there, we can "highly recommend" the escargot; the Dover Sole (had it twice); and the Tagliatelle with local lobster and shrimp. Just behind them at "very good" would be the Caribbean fish soup, the cod fritters, and the salads. But holding its own, in the category of "OMG," was the apple tart dessert (see photo). Yes, it was that good. Well done, La Langouste.

* Make sure you fully understand St. Barth before you go. And villas. And Flamands. We didn't. We should have.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NH_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 212 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2016

We went to La Langouste for dinner on several nights, but the best meal was by far the lobster. Perfectly cooked and tasted amazing. I would definitely recommend eating the lobster dinner.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank petrie1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2016 via mobile

If any one is visiting st brats this place is a must if u want great sea food ask for the spring rolls plate of u are a fish lover u will enjoy it the services is superb the people fantastic

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank gapkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2016

We walked in off the beach and had two amazing salads for lunch by the pool. The term "salad" does not do these justice....amazing taste and with lobster.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IrishFan-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2016

We had dinner twice at the beach restaurant. Very small place within the very small hotel. The food was amazing, very very tasty and rich with seafood flavour. The tiramisu au crabe et guacamole is very fresh and light which works a treat as I ordered the tagliatelle a la langouste et gambas for my main. That dish is very rich and flavoursome and I had trouble finishing it. The staff was very attentive and friendly. Overall a fine place for dinner.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Langouste also viewed

Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
St. Jean, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
Grande Saline, St. Barthelemy
Lurin, St. Barthelemy
 

Been to La Langouste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing