We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hidden Gem”
Review of La Langouste

La Langouste
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Atlanta
Level Contributor
231 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hidden Gem”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Upon arrival we questioned if we would like the restaurant. But after sunset when the pool is lit and the restaurant lights come on, it is completely charming. So you are well served to give it a go!

We started with the quinoa and prawns on garlic salad and although I wondered if the garlic would be too strong I was pleasantly surprised that it was not at all. It was a wonderful combination of flavors with the quinoa and spices they used and a you received 6 large prawns. We followed by each having a 2 lb lobster, which may sound like a lot, but by the time it comes out of the shell, it is an average serving for lobster.

The waiter was very friendly and extremely attentive. So service was wonderful!

I highly recommend this restaurant but do not expect a beach view even though it sits on the beach. Which is the only reason I did not give it a perfect score.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBHAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    62
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Have the tuna tataki!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Gave this restaurant an average review because all the food was average....except the tuna tataki was really excellent. So, choose carefully, you could have a better meal than we had! The pasta with lobster and prawns was a creamy miss. The green salad we asked for that was not on the menu - picked out the old lettuce. For dessert, the pineapple - we cut out the core of each slice which had been left in and the rum topping was a little odd. The service was very solicitous and the setting was okay - in the courtyard overlooking a small swimming pool - the beach was in the distance - not visible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler07924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Little Secret of a Restaurant”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This open air restaurant is a real find. The chef is French, the seafood is amazing. My favorite dish is the langoustine. But just about anything is great. I was a guest at Baie des Anges, which houses the restaurant, and so ate there several times. It's quite popular for lunch and dinner.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“So good we went two nights in a row”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We could walk from our hotel and we loved the food so much we went two nights in a row. A bit pricey but everything is on St. Barths. The first night we had ceasar salad so good with fresh anchovies a very nice size salad delicious. Then I had the whole red snapper very good. My friend had the tuna appetizer which was very large and the mahi. For dessert the chocolate soufflé amazing. The second night I had the ceasar salad again but this time I had the rare tuna appetizer for my main. Creme Broulee for dessert. Wonderful service as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
407 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a quite low key lunch .. Fish soup, followed by grilled Colas fish. Very similar to red snapper .. A great find, away from the crowds.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Condor1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Langouste also viewed

Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Grande Saline, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Lurin, St. Barthelemy
 
Salines, St. Barthelemy
St. Jean, St. Barthelemy
 

Been to La Langouste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing