We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a reasonable price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Baie des Anges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Spent 6 nights there, had a lovely time.
The rooms are spacious, clean, airy, the bathroom is quite big as well. What's particularly interesting is that you have a little kitchen and sitting area on the balcony, which means you can prepare your own picnics, or whole meals, instead of going out to restaurants all the time, which is costly in St Barths.
Size of room and kitchen means this is an attractive hotel for families with young children (indeed we came as part of a wedding and had 3 families with kids running around... lovely but might be a bit noisy... if management reads thins, a good idea would be to put something on the doors so they don't slam!)
Breakfast included, bread-butter-jam and croissant, plus any extra can be ordered for additional price.
Beach is right there, below the decent-size pool. Restaurant "La Langouste" part of the place, but did not eat there. Flamands beach can be a bit rough and windy, and the hotel is a fair bit away from the nightlife. But St Barth is a small island and you get anywhere in no time. Rental car a definite.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Baie des Anges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 80 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2008

Wow! The Baie des Anges was a beautiful, very clean hotel right on the ocean. Our absolutely spotless room had a fabulous view and was only 30 feet from the calm, bright blue waters on the Anse de Flammonds. We had a romantic four poster canopy bed with gauze bug netting gathered on each corner (you never needed the netting--great air conditioning and no bugs).

Our deal included a car to get around the island and breakfast daily.

Annie (the owner) was there every day, and she and her staff were very friendly, helpful and a joy to get to know.

St. Barts is an expensive island, but the Baie des Anges was not nearly as expensive as other hotels, and its small size (only 12 units) made it easy to get the know everyone. Plus, it's on a beautiful beach.

The hotel's restaurant, La Langouste, was also great. The lobster, their specialty, was outstanding, but the other meals we had there were also top notch.

We loved visiting all of the beaches in St. Barts. They are remote and beautiful.

We've visited several Caribbean islands and although each is beautiful in its own way, St. Barts was one of our favorites. The arrival by plane was a treat and adventure in itself--even for those who hate roller coasters (my wife)!

Just don't plan on watching t.v. in our room(why would you want to?)-only two stations were available in English-both CNN.

We will return!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 71basher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

Hotel is in a perfect location, just make sure you rent a car! Rooms are very spacious, clean and quiet. This was my third trip to St. Barth and I will most definitely return to this hotel!

PS: Definitely check out La Langoste for dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2008

(Although everything in St. Barth's is very, very expensive, I am still reviewing this place according to value for dollar (or Euro). This is one of the cheapest hotels on the island, amazingly, yet we paid the equivalent of $500 a night in high season (which dropped to about $350 when low season began half-way through our visit). I've stayed in London, Paris, Geneva, Zermatt, Gstaad--but still was amazed at prices here.) Anyway: the positives: location is wonderful and the owner (Annie) is a great person (she was really helpful with suggestions and didn't balk at driving me to the airport at 6:30 AM. Her family has lived on the island for eight generations, so be sure to ask about the history of the place. I was traveling with friends on this trip, so she asked me to come back with my family the next time--this is a very family-friendly hotel). The hotel is small and intimate and directly on a gorgeous beach. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfasts were very French (bread-based) and good. Each room has a little kitchenette on the balcony that allowed us to prepare several meals "at home." The rooms all have very nice views of the bay (which is beautiful with little commercial development) and get great cooling winds from the water. The beach is very nice for sunning and long walks, but the waters were too rough to allow any swimming while we were there. The less-than-positives: the hotel needed some updating and repairs (all little things, like a torn beach umbrella, old sliding glass doors, interior walls in need of a fresh coat of paint, outdated bathrooms, older furniture, broken clock radio, rusty appliances (not surprising, because they are in salt air), incomplete inventory of kitchen items, broken shower head, broken public phone). The one meal we had at the restaurant was pricy and not very good. The drive to our hotel from Gustavia took about 10-15 minutes over some very bumpy, hilly roads with hairpin turns (par for the course on the island, though).

All in all, I would say that this is a comfortable hotel that needs some updates but has great beach access and accomodating management and staff.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kluttel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

I've been to St-Barth with my sister during the month of November for 12 days and we stayed at the Hotel Baie des Anges in Flamands. It was absolutely beautiful. It is a small and friendly hotel right on the beach of Flamands. Be careful of the beach because the current was be strong and the waves can be a little rough.
We had a room on the first floor and it was very big and clean. The bathroom was also big and there was lots of storage for all of our clothes. There is a lovely balcony with a great view of the beach. I really recommend this hotel, because it wasn't very expensive compared to other hotels on the island and the room was very nice.
I recommend to rent a car, that you can book via the hotel, so you can travel around the island and go beach-hopping.
The island is really small so you can go anywhere in just 15 minutes. Sometimes it can be a little tricky to drive on those steep roads, but it's fun.
The restaurants are amazing also, I especially recommend the Wall House in Gustavia and Esprit de Salines.
I am already looking forward to going back one day and I would definitely stay at Baie des Anges.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Admayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

We were scheduled to stay from the 10th through the 18th. US Airways delayed us in Charlotte, NC and we had to stay overnight so we did not arrive in St Barths until very late on the the 11th. Yes, we lost a nights stay and were charged as most places will do.

The hotel owner (Angie) hires exceptional people and as a result the hotel is well run. The rooms are clean, the food is exceptional and the beach is stunning. You can rent a room with a car as part of a package. The prices are available on Angies website.

About the only area I can pick is the SAT. TV had only about 4 channels. 3 were in French and the only english station (CNN) went away after about half the stay. This left us with only 3 French speaking stations. Since hurricane Dean was near us it would have been nice to have had an english speaking station to check on its position.

Just a note: We stayed in a Deluxe room (there are only 2 like this) which has the kitchenette outside overlooking the beach. We found the refrigerator (which is outside in the heat) a little weak for keeping anything other than cheese and drinks. The little freezer worked pretty well but anything below that was not going to get very cold. If your planning on making a meal and storing leftovers you will want to be careful and consider the temperature.

Overall, this hotel is a great place and the beach is awsome. We may be back one day.

P.S. Take plenty of bug spray with deet. The mosquitos were bad because of the rain. I was told that they are not usually that bad.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kz1300a1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2007

We popped in here for lunch and agree with previous review. Nothing grand just a simple welcome, 10 lovely bedroms, family run, and complete with resturant pool and direct access to the beach. Wish we'd stayed here. It reminded us of a Pension in Normandy, in the sun !

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank 3bagsfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse des Flamands
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Village St Barth
2.7 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
617 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Marie Saint-Barth
Villa Marie Saint-Barth
#2 of 2 in Colombier
24 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tropical Hotel St Barth
Tropical Hotel St Barth
#4 of 8 in St. Jean
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baie des Anges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baie des Anges

Address: Flamands, Anse des Flamands 97133, St. Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Anse des Flamands
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Anse des Flamands
Price Range: $298 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baie des Anges 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Flamands Bay, one of Saint Barth’s most breathtaking beaches, the charming Hotel Baie des Anges welcomes couples, families, and reflects the ambiance and serenity of the island. Facing the Ocean, the 10 studio-apartments are decorated in blue, green and white, in perfect harmony with the sea. They all offer comfort and modern conveniences : fully equiped kitchenette on the balcony (including fridge and mini-oven). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Baie des Anges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baie Des Anges Hotel
Baie Des Anges Gustavia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing