We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Taiwana(Anse des Flamands)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Baie des Anges(Anse des Flamands)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge de la Petite Anse(Anse des Flamands)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Hotel(Gustavia)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Tom Beach Hotel(St. Jean)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
315
45
17
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
45
17
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden bungalowflamands beachlouis vuittonfashion showour honeymoonbeautiful beachhope to returnbeach sidetop notchbeach chairsgeneral managerfeet in the sandnew york citysmall hotelbeach vacationluxury hoteleden roc
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 385 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

a beautiful hotel located directly on Flamands Beach. Many rooms open directly on the beach and they certainly are the ones to try. the restaurant is the perfect location for lunch. the fashion show every Tuesday night is not to be missed. i certainly will be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Ed,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great comment on Trip Advisor, and we are really happy that you loved your stay at Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France.

It would be a real pleasure to welcome you back at our property, or at our restaurants La Case de l’Isle or La Cabane de l’Isle. The loyalty of our lovely guest is our best reward!

All the friendly teams of Hotel Saint Barth Isle de France will be glad to hear those beautiful compliments.

Best sunny regards from all the Saint-Barth Isle de France Team,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager, and Her teams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited IDF twice earlier in the year and will be returning again later this year. IDF is our paradise and little secret which we are reluctant to share with others. However, reading some of the recent comments here has made us rethink that perhaps we should take time out to write about our favourite holiday destination.

IDF is a superb boutique hotel run by a dedicated professional team. They make us feel like family immediately when we arrive at the airport. The hotel, beautiful gardens and beach are well maintained and immaculate. Housekeeping’s attention to detail is on par with the top hotels of the world and we were especially impressed by them this year. The staff in the restaurant and beach club was attentive and service level was very high. The quality of food in the hotel restaurant is so good that we always debate as to whether to dine outside or stay in after a busy day of sunbathing!

IDF has a base of loyal clients (like us) who visit annually and in fact book a year in advance to avoid disappointment. There is a mixture of chic and trendy ambience together with a host of sophisticated clients.

Similar to other Caribbean islands, choosing the right time of the year to visit is key to your enjoyment.

Having exacting standards and demanding the best in life, we drive around every year to check out other hotels and we know that we have chosen the best hotel in St Barths for us!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Berniebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to write this so eulogistic comment on Trip Advisor about Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France.

It is a real reward for all our teams because we daily work to satisfy all our guests’ needs and requests.

We are so attached to a warm welcome for our dear guests, and we are really happy that you have enjoyed once again your experience at Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France.

We hope to joyfully greet you soon,

Best sunny and friendly regards,

Christelle Hilpron, general Manager & Her Teams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We planned to spend a fabulous vacation on the island, but unfortunately the place was not meant for it. Frankly it's not good value for money. First of all even though we stayed in a spacious villa with a large terrace it was impossible to spend time on it. Each time we tried to relax we were immediately attacked by plenty of mosquitoes. The staff was helpful providing us with mosquito nets and different sprays and readily sent the maid to clean the dirty windows of their "best" villa. But still several times a day we had to spray repellents all over our body and clothes and breath in this smell. Another option for relaxation was staying indoors or near a small pool where all the hotel guests gather as the hotel doesn't have any other territory for the guests to spend time. It's a big disadvantage of the hotel. I don't think that other guests of the hotel were luckier than us, they just had to put up with everything once the've come or not pay attention to anything as the hotel doesn't refund if you want to leave earlier because you don't get what you have expected and paid for. Other things which do not represent good value for money is the beach which is narrow and very steep (we don't recommend to come with small children) and the only restaurant which serves breakfast and lunch and dinner. Friendly servers and the girls at the reception are the only plus we can mention. The director preferred not to listen to our complaints in person, but phoned. It seems that she is more concerned with her own profit than with the satisfaction of the guests and the reputation of the hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms near the ocean are better.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nat I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Guest Relations Manager at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you found the villa spacious and the staff helpful and friendly.

I am sorry that you had such a difficult time with the mosquitoes. We arranged for extra anti-mosquito treatments, over and above the usual ones, the very first day you told us about the problem. I know that you were satisfied with the extra mosquito net and the sprays provided, as you mentioned this to the front desk. However, I am sorry that all the solutions provided did not finally meet your expectations.

It is a shame that the weather in July didn’t allow you to experience our beautiful beach: we usually have a large beach where people like to relax but the beach has been eroded by the sea earlier than usual this year. This normally happens during September, when the hotel is closed.

It was sad that you left before the end of your stay. As Christelle Hilpron, our General Manager, told you, our cancellation policy is strict but we can help you with your travel insurance company should you wish to claim through them.

We very much hope that you will give the hotel a second chance; We would be very pleased to welcoming you back at Hotel St Barth Isle de France.

Yours sincerely,


Assistant Hotel Manager - Guest Care Manager at Hotel St Barth Isle de France,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed in a stunning villa with private outdoor pool up the hill, gazing on the bay. Verry helpful and nice staff. Hotel offers a wide range of service. Its just a perfect escape! Georgeouse beach where you can grabe a good meal with a nice bottle of wine. Cocktails are just amazing . I really love aswell my personnelized Iced latte ! The restaurant by night is just a once- in-a-lifetime Experience ! The view!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globetrotterfabie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, General Manager at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

All the hotel team and me thank you for taking the time to share this really nice comment on Trip Advisor following your stay in June.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you at Hotel St Barth Isle de France.
We are all happy to read that you appreciated that much the property and enjoyed the beach, the service and the food.
Our staff takes a great deal of pleasure in making sure that all our guests’ needs are met and it is hugely rewarding for them to receive a review such as this.
Thanking you again for your appreciation.
We do look forward to welcoming you back among us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Christelle Hilpron, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hotel St Barth Isle de France is an amazing hotel on beautiful grounds. My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon and we already cannot wait to go back! The hotel staff is amongst the best in the world, not only for their being extremely accomodating, but friendly and responsive to all of your needs. We stayed in one of the beach suites with a private pool and would recommend this to all guests, it was a truly outstanding room and with a beautiful view of the ocean. We had breakfast at the hotel every morning which was delicious and also dined at the outside restaurant for lunch and everything we tried was exquisite! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a private, relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Beach Front rooms are extremely private.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCHAMAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, General Manager at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having post this wonderful comment on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you found our hotel amazing and your room outstanding and that you enjoyed the work of our staff. We really want our guests to feel comfortable.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Isle de France very soon, we remain,
Yours sincerely,

Christelle Hilpron, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews