We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't have a cuppa but lovely place to wander through”

Cardwell Garden Centre Cafe
Ranked #5 of 5 Restaurants in Inverkip
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Lots of lovely things to look at. It's not just plants but all sorts of gifts and things. The cafe was big and seemed to offer nice food.

Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDWELLGC, Owner at Cardwell Garden Centre Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hi Kim, thanks for posting a review and for your kind comments about the garden centre. That's some distance you have travelled and we are happy that you decided to pop in on your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you again when you are back in Gourock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 156 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Went a few weeks ago. Easy place to find. Good parking too. Nice coffee shop. Good range of items to buy. Locked a well run centre.

Thank dmax66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDWELLGC, Manager at Cardwell Garden Centre Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Hi Dmax66, thank you for the kind comments about your recent visit to Cardwell. It is always nice to hear our customer's feedback, especially when it is as positive as yours!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Sited on a lovely location, this garden centre must surely be one of the best in Scotland, if not the U.K.
Great independent garden centre, plants grown locally, knowlegable staff good prices. craft centre, on site shops, Actually more than just a garden centre.
BUT, where it comes into its own must be the fabulous restaurant, lovely home cooked food , daily specials. all at good value prices.
This is the standard that all the big chain centres, should try and match.
Directly across the road is a picnic area with outstanding views across the River Clyde, ideal to sit and relax after spending your afternoon at Cardwell.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ourmillie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDWELLGC, Manager at Cardwell Garden Centre Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Hi Oumillie_11, thank you for your generous comments about the garden centre and Patio Restaurant. We are glad to read that you had a fantastic visit especially since you have to travel a long way to visit us and we appreciate you doing so.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We hadn't been to the Cardwell Garden Centre for many years and were impressed by the expansion and diversification that has taken place. The sheer variety of items for sale sets Cardwell apart for its competitors.

Ample parking and the grounds are well laid out with attention to detail - a stand of trees has even been retained to hide the tree felling on the hillside behind. The conservatory/garage business at the overflow car park has clearly closed.

The staff are very helpful and easily identified as such. The restaurant is spacious and has a welcoming appearance with a wide range of food with reasonable prices. The arts and crafts centre is well stocked and popular.

The centre has its entertaining quirks, such as the chickens rescued from battery hen farms, the old Allan Scythe and the mallard duck pond - it all adds to the character of the place. Look out for the personal finishing touches that occur throughout the buildings - I liked the plastic birds of prey on the roof tops.

Cardwell is home to the quaint, quirky and unusual so that it has something for everyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rossergruffydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDWELLGC, Manager at Cardwell Garden Centre Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Hi Rossergruffydd, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of our garden centre and restaurant. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. We will ensure that your kind comments are fed back to our staff.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

One of my favourite garden centres as it is an independent concern. The layout , variety and quality of plants are all excellent! However the restaurant is not very inviting. Plenty of tables but a bit like a school dining hall! Had bowl of soup there yesterday and it was very disappointing! Will not be eating there again!

Thank Giorgio-Lucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDWELLGC, Manager at Cardwell Garden Centre Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Hi Snird, thank you for reviewing our Patio Restaurant and for the kind comments about the garden centre.

Sorry to hear you found some of our food was not what you hoped for. We always try to have a variety of food styles available every day with something for everyone, so we will try harder in the future. We appreciate your kind comments about our garden centre and hope that you will continue to shop with us in the future.

Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cardwell Garden Centre Cafe also viewed

Inverkip, Inverclyde
Gourock, Inverclyde
 
Inverkip, Inverclyde
Inverkip, Inverclyde

Been to Cardwell Garden Centre Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing