We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”

Cardwell Garden Centre Cafe
Ranked #5 of 5 Restaurants in Inverkip
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had the roast loin pork ,good selection of potatoes,really tasty,good value,generous portion.
Rosemary had steak and sausage pie again top marks for this also,always a must when we are in the locality

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mrsparkle_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDWELLGC, Admin at Cardwell Garden Centre Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Hi Mrsparkle_13, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of our restaurant. It is always nice to hear our customer's feedback, especially when it is as positive as yours! We look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to Cardwell when you are back in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 139 of 148 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Has all the charm of an airport cafe but served good hot coffee and excellent scones.
The self service layout is a bit confusing and most of the eating area was closed off, meaning carrying a tray up some steps to get a seat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDWELLGC, Admin at Cardwell Garden Centre Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hello Dorothy M,
Thank you for posting your review of our Patio Restaurant.
During your visit half of our seating area was closed off to allow us to work on one area at a time for general upgrades and improvements. We only have a short window in which to carry out this work and we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused during your visit.
I have passed a copy of your review to our restaurant managers so that we can continue to improve our service and, ultimately, your experience.
Thanks again for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Best regards from all at Cardwell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

The meringues are out of this world ! Food overpriced and can be quite bland but would return time and time again for a giant meringue !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jax68pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDWELLGC, Admin at Cardwell Garden Centre Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hi jax68pink,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind comments about our meringues - our bakers will be pleased!
Sorry to hear you found some of our food was not what you hoped for. We always try to have a variety of food styles available every day with something for everyone, so we will try harder in the future.

Thanks again and we hope you'll keep coming for the meringues!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Great place to shop. Always has Christmas displays and good quality goods... not great food though and at
£ 6 for a baked potato.... a bit expensive...nice restaurant and great staff.... should get a proper chef in and make it a really good place to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maxchip11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDWELLGC, Admin at Cardwell Garden Centre Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hi maxchip11,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our garden centre and my apologies for posting the wrong reply to you earlier.
Our food offering is priced in line with other garden centres as well as making sure we can source and use good quality, locally sourced ingredients throughout our range.
We did try using a chef to offer a high level of cuisine some time ago, but it really was not well received. As a result we offer what the majority of our customers have asked for, which is generous portions of 'homemade' style meals at what we believe to be good value for money.
We appreciate your kind comments about our garden centre and hope that you will continue to shop with us in the future.

Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I visited here last week with a few family members for lunch. The food is ok, but the prices are outrageous! £7 for a small plate of mac and cheese really is having a laugh. The cafe was quite busy but was kept really clean and tidy. The staff were nice and helpful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank leannek996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDWELLGC, Admin at Cardwell Garden Centre Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hi leannek996,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and we apologise for not responding earlier, but we have just taken control of this page.

I think perhaps we owe you a main meal!

Reading between the lines I think what has happened here is we offer a 'Simply Smaller' portion of food at a reduced price for our clients who do not want a full portion. I think you have been accidentally served a small portion and charged for a main meal.

One complaint we just don't get is the size of our portions - our aim is that you do not leave us hungry!

If you are coming back at any time please make yourself known to the restaurant supervisor and we will arrange for a free main course of your choice.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cardwell Garden Centre Cafe also viewed

Inverkip, Inverclyde
 
Inverkip, Inverclyde
Inverkip, Inverclyde
 

Been to Cardwell Garden Centre Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing