We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inverkip Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverkip
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inverkip Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Inverkip B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An Excellent Base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

My wife and I have just spent a week in the hotel and we found it to be an excellent base for walking the coastline which was our reason for being here. The rooms are quiet and comfortable and the food varied and very good (we ate in every evening) while the atmosphere is friendly and welcoming. My recomendation? Stay here!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    44
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
65
66
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here recently with 4 work colleagues, all of us on a business trip from Southampton England. There is only one word that describes this place .........EXCELLENT!!!!

Ok so the bedrooms are not that big and it's slightly rickety, all part of the charm,

The food was excellent, the service was excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful
I would definitely recommend this place and hope to return.

Tim

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surfercrazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Lovely freshly, well prepared and cooked food. Good selection of snacks and mesls on the menu. Served in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

An unhurried three hour lunch.

Very good value for money.

Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CowalApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I take no pleasure in writing this review for the restaurant in this hotel has served the local community well for many years. However our recent experience was very disappointing. When our meals arrived my husband's steak was lukewarm; being served on a cold dish was no help. Our waitress quickly offered another, freshly cooked steak. So, my husband watched me eat my meal, and fifteen minutes later I watched him eat his - served on a hot dish this time. Not much of a pleasant dining experience. Our sweets were OK.

My main complaint is that, waitress apologies aside, there was no effort made to compensate for the error. Even a complimentary glass of wine would have been an indication that there was regret for our poor dining experience. So we paid our £50 and left. We will not be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irenedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Met with some close friends to celebrate their 25th wedding anniversary, what can I say, nice beer, great food and the room I stayed in was lovely and clean. I'd get there early though as it's busy each evening which speaks volumes!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We were in a mad rush due to all sailings being cancelled by Calmac, and the owner of this lovely Hotel came to our rescue at the last minute with a lovely big room.
He couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.
The room was huge, with a lovely big bathroom with bath !!!!!!! Hooray !
Great breakfast, piping hot, have what you want really. Lovely home made fresh fruit salad and lots of toast.
Very quaint and Christmassy.
A great little find.

Room Tip: Room 2 was huge with a nice big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Teddybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverclyde
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was a first visit to the Inverkip Hotel for food for me. The menu is different from any other menu i have ever seen and had a lot of Scottish food. I had mussels to start and they were lovely - big portion and bread to soak up the sauce(only thing i would say is they give you a massive bowl of mussels and a tiny side bowl for the shells). Then i had a steak with onion rings and chips. I had asked for the whiskey and leek sauce instead of the peppercorn sauce. Initially the waitress brough the peppercorn sauce, but this was changed with no problem. The steak was cooked perfectly. The only thing i would say is that i found it difficult to catch the waitresses attention when we needed another drink, but the food was great and the atmosphere was nice so i will definately be back for another meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverkip
3.6 mi away
The Spinnaker Hotel
The Spinnaker Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gourock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tontine Hotel
Tontine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Greenock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
5.3 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverkip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverkip Hotel

Property: Inverkip Hotel
Address: Main Street, Inverkip PA16 0AS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Inverkip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Inverkip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverkip Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Inverkip Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing