We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Foresters House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Inverkip B&B and Inns
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely b&b”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went for a 4 night break with our 7 month baby and it was a wonderful b&b to stay in. Rhona and Jim were lovely and helpful. The family room we stayed in was very large and spotlessly clean. Lovely attention to detail and amazing value for money.
Beautiful walks in the area and the inverkip hotel around the corner does very good food.
Everything and more we could have wished for. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJA1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip1, Owner at Foresters House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We enjoyed you staying here but your wee boy stole the show as he light up breakfast time. We hope he is still as well behaved and happy. hopefully we will see you again. All the very best for 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
30
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Wonderful accomodation in a great location. We were made welcome by Jim and Rhona, who made our stay complete. We had a clean comfortable double room with ensuite bathroom and a lovely continental type breakfact included. Although the cooked breakfast is great value and very tasty.
We would not hesitate in recommending the Forresters House to anyone wanting quality accomodation in this lovely area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband, mother, aunt and myself stayed at Foresters House for the occasion of our wedding blessing. I do not usually write reviews but Rhona and Jim really made our stay at Foresters House very special. We stayed in Room 1, a double en-suite (with pull out couch, if needed). Our room was spotless and well appointed with excellent quality linens, duvets, and a variety of pillows, fluffy towels (with flannels) and a coffee/tea service with chocolates and biscuits. Our immediate impression was that there was a real attention to detail that you would usually find in much more expensive accommodation. The house itself was very very clean with a good-sized lounge in which we enjoyed a continental breakfast in the morning. Of course, what impressed me was Rhona and Jim also put thought into their morning menu in that you could indulge in vegetarian, full breakfast or weight watcher selections (for £5). However, we found the continental breakfast was more than sufficient and the porridge was excellent (and that is coming from my husband who is a Scot). We are well travelled and I can honestly say that Foresters met all of our requirements. However, what really made our stay very special was Rhona and Jim. They are very knowledgeable of the area and extremely welcoming hosts who clearly take great pride in their home and go out of their way to make a stay very comfortable without imposing. Street parking was right in front of Foresters and we walked over the marina and along the Firth of Clyde which made for a lovely after evening stroll. If you are planning a trip to Cowal the ferry is very close by and we easily hopped on a ferry to Dunoon. Glasgow is not far and one of our most enjoyable experiences was eating at the Inverkip Hotel. The food was excellent!!!! We ate there three times it was so good. We also had a nice sandwich at Rivas at the marina. Foresters was a perfect location and I cannot speak highly enough about our experience. We have a disabled relative and Rhona even took the time to show us the single, disabled accessible rooms in the garden which were very well appointed and in keeping with the rest of the house - spotless. We totally relaxed at Foresters and I think that was largely down to the attention to detail by Rhona and Jim. On our last night Rhona even took the time to give us a hand made wedding blessing card and some chocolates which really touched us. I would highly recommend Foresters and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: We particularly enjoyed our stay in Room 1, a double, en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiedog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip1, Owner at Foresters House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Gosh was it as long ago as September since you stayed!! It has been such a busy season that time has just sped by so please forgive me for taking so long in thanking you for your truly wonderful review. It was so good of you for taking what must of been some time to write such a comprehensive one . We so much enjoyed having you and your family stay with us and so pleased that we were able to share in your special day. We hope that you are both in good health and that that the best is still to come. Very much hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night while traveling around Scotland by motorcycle, received a warm welcome from Jim and Rhona. Stayed in the small room at the back of the house which was ideal for me as my motorcycle was parked around the back. The room was small but had everything I needed, sink, shower, TV, tea and coffee.
Had porridge and toast for breakfast which filled me for the day, Jim and Rhona made me feel very welcome and Jim got his map book to show me some good routes to take. Left in the morning for the ferry to Dunoon which was 5 minutes away.
This was the only place I stayed during my trip to which I will return, thank you for making the first day of my trip memorable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Aventuramoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip1, Owner at Foresters House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for writing a review .. It was a pleasure to meet you and to know that the accommodation in the cottage room met all your requirements. As you say they are small rooms but are well equipped and are very popular with single travellers especially with bikers and cyclists as they are very near their parked motor bikes or cycles which is very convenient as there seems to be a lot of to-ing and throwing!!! We hope you enjoyed your trip around the lochs with its beautiful scenery. Take care and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was travelling with my father, aunt & uncle; all of whom are in their eighties. I was neediing a twin share room with ground floor access because my father has trouble with stairs. We had travelled from Australia with a large suitcase & carry-on bag each, so we also needed enough space to accommodate our luggage; the 2 garden cottages at the rear of the house were perfect. One of the cottages had a bathroom fitted out for disabled access, exceeding my needs, the other with a walk-in shower recess; both cottages met my criteria for my father, so I was very happy. My aunt & uncle have stairs in their own house, so a double room upstairs did not bother them and they were very happy with their light, airy & spacious room at the front of the house. Jim & Rhona were helpful with local knowledge, answering our questions & sharing their beautiful garden with us. Good selection of places to eat within walking & driving distance.

Room Tip: Parking area near rear garden gate, gives easy access to cottages at rear of house. Walk-in shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip1, Owner at Foresters House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Great to hear from you and to know that you are safely home. Thank you for taking the time to review The Forester. It was indeed a pleasure to meet you and your family. We so enjoyed their company. Your father was very interesting with so many stories to tell. We were happy that we could accommodate everyone in a way that was suitable for all concerned. We hope you are all well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Foresters House throughly, the room was amazing, the breakfast was "yummy" as quoted by the kids, and the family experience with Jim and Rhona was excellent. This definitely was an integral part of our Scotland trip. Will come again for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadhuKothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip1, Owner at Foresters House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your short stay in Scotland and hope you enjoyed meeting up with old friends. We are happy your lovely children enjoyed their stay and the breakfasts. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a revue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently stayed overnight at Foresters House and were very pleased with the accommodation. Our room was spacious and nicely furnished, everywhere was spotlessly clean and breakfast was lovely. Jim and Rhona were very friendly and made us feel welcome. We would certainly recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frances G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip1, Owner at Foresters House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Sorry it has taken a time to thank you for your review . We have been exceptionally busy over the last month, which has been great. I am sure some people come to stay with us after reading reviews and we are very grateful to people like yourselves for taking the time and effort. We hope you are both well and that we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverkip
5.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
96 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tontine Hotel
Tontine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Greenock
317 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Castle Levan Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Foresters House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresters House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Foresters House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Station Road | Inverkip, Inverkip PA16 0AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Inverkip
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Inverkip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Foresters House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Marina Village of Inverkip on the beautiful Clyde Coast, The Foresters House bed and breakfast Inverkip Greenock is a GOLD Visit Scotland 3 Star Bed and Breakfast run by husband and wife team Jim and Rhona Wallace. The area is famous for its stunning scenery, lochs, golf courses, sailing, maritime history and fresh seafood. The area is known as the Gateway to the Highlands Inverkip Village is near Greenock, Gourock, and Largs and only 10 minutes from ferries to Bute and Dunoon. There are direct train links to Glasgow which takes 45 minutes, Glasgow International Airport is 30 minutes away and forty minutes from Glasgow Prestwick Airport and for those arriving by boat, we are 5 minutes walk from Inverkip Marina. The Foresters House has been carefully renovated to provide quality accommodation and has been designed to give visitors privacy with the confidence that Jim and Rhona are on hand to assist. Foresters House facilities: Free wifi, full en-suite facilities, flat screen TV with satellite connection in all bedrooms, guest lounge, extensive breakfast choice. For your added comfort and well being, we have also installed an air purification system. We accept debit, Visa and Mastercards. 3 Excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Foresters House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foresters House Bed & Breakfast Inverkip, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing