We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family holiday of a lifetime in an exceptionally beautiful location with outstanding service”
Review of True Umbria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Collelungo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
True Umbria
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Todi Castle and the surrounding estate is the most fabulous setting for a wonderfully peaceful and relaxing family holiday. Mario and his team are excellent hosts who made us very welcome and relaxed as they catered for our every need without being obtrusive. They enabled us to maximise our appreciation of all that the local area had to offer and facilitated a number of special family dinners and culinary delights! There were 9 of us and we stayed at Villa Cipresso with 5 in the main villa and 4 in the smaller chalet enabling the two families to enjoy some privacy whilst sharing the pool and the beautiful secluded location.

This was a truly special holiday that we hope to repeat at some stage.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank Jackraley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for True Umbria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 65 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed in the divine and lovely Villa Cipresso, with its panoramic, breath taking views. Every morning we would enjoy a family breakfast on the terrace and take in the magical vista before us. The villa has cosy bedrooms, relaxing living areas and a wonderful family kitchen. As a family holiday it offered us all we could hope for, a lovely lawn for our 8 month old to practice crawling on, a great swimming pool all surrounded by the verdant tranquillity of the surrounding countryside. We enjoyed great food, wine and the loved the fact that we could invite friends over for dinner or to stay as there was so much room. Our holiday left us feeling refreshed and rejuvenated.
Marguerite

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargueriteEKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed in the castle with my family. By luck we were the only inhabitants, using 6 of the castles rooms. we were hosted beautifully, personally and attentively, but never felt crowded or fawned over. the staff arranged amazing events and outings for us with a moments notice and they were stellar. i am not a gusher, nor do i usually write travel reviews, but this was a perfect experience for us, and it would be for those who love italy and understand the way italian culture works - and actually want to feel immersed in it. if you want a 5 star hotel and lots of surly bellman, this isnt for you, if you want a lonely hilltop villa to piece your life back together, this isnt for you. if you want a comfortable castle and outbuildings, with a very flexible open sense of hospitality and amazing parts of italy within a 15 min drive - this is your place...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kemper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Campo Rinaldo has an amazing location, with wonderful views all round. You feel like you are on the top of the world. It is lush and green (night sprinklers) with fresh breezes and the only noise is birdsong. The villa itself is beautifully appointed - the kitchen is a real cook's paradise. There are at least four lovely places for having lazy dinners, indoors and outdoors, as well as a great and cool refreshing swimming pool. Truly excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photocurator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Our weeklong stay at one of the villa's at Todi Castle was everything we imagined--beautiful idyllic setting, amazing amenities, and an attentive staff to help make our stay a truly one-of-a kind experience. We stayed at Villa Pianesante, a 5-bedroom 18th century farm house that had plenty of room, a wonderful swimming pool, and views that were stunning. We had breakfast every morning overlooking the rolling hills of Umbria.

The property was within close driving distance to many local medieval towns. Mario Santoro and his staff made our week completely wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobBiletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

How do you spell" Paradise?'
This well preserved castle sits on top of a hillside with panoramic views in every direction. The location , only a few miles from the historic village center at Todi , is superb and peaceful. While sipping a nice bottle of local red wine, we were served a scrumptious lunch , created from locally sourced products and made on premises. Katrina and Sabrina treat their guests like royalty . I can still conjur up the wonderful taste and service we had here. The owner, Mario , goes out of his way to accomodate and the castle and grounds are very special . It's obvious that this place is a work of love from the heart of the Santoro family. You won't regret this for even one minute and you will be left with memories that last a lifetime. Fran Massachusetts

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fransbaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

For my fiftieth birthday, we rented the castle and three villas for forty people. Thanks to Mario, Sabrina, and the entire staff, all of our guests had a truly magical experience. From the several beautiful meals at the castle and at intimate restaurants around Umbria, local wine tastings, bus tours of nearby towns, massages by the pool, bike rides in the countryside, Karaoke singing, and a black tie celebration, every detail was carefully planned and executed. Of course, the best part of Todi was enjoying the beautiful countryside with a bottle of wine surrounded by family and friends. A fairy tale realized in a magical place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are distinctive and different. When booking, I would consult with the staff depending...
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to True Umbria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about True Umbria

Address: Localita Capecchio SNC | Baschi, 05010 Collelungo, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Collelungo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Collelungo
Price Range: $108 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True Umbria offers Villa Rentals and a Country Hotel. We organize all sort of activities such as wine tastings, cooking classes, sport and children activities. Our mission is to fulfill the needs of each guest searching for comfort and rest in an authentic Italian atmosphere and environment. We are a stable and trustworthy company, and we take our client's wishes very seriously. We know how important vacations are, for who works hard all year, but also for the little ones who will keep memories of their family trips for the rest of their life. It is our job, responsibility and pleasure to help you organizing your vacations finding the right accommodation, services and activities. For all this, you can count on us ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
True Umbria Italy/Collelungo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing