We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay. Great room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chigwell
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay. Great room”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Was slightly worried after read last few reviews but I had a great stay last night. Was my first visit. Reception staff very friendly. Room was large, clean, fairly modern decor.Bed was very big and very comfy. Had both the harder and softer pillows too which I like. Bathroom was spacious and clean with great power shower head. Ate in restaurant and again happy with service and quality good. Didn't hear any noise at night and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friell, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Member,

Thank you for your recent review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do look forward to welcoming back when next you stay.

Kind Regards
Stuart Friell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    146
    106
    89
    82
See reviews for
141
195
29
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Recently stayed at the Menzies Prince Regent as part of a wedding party which was taking place at the nearby police club and I have to say what an excellent stay we had. We chose to eat in the hotel on the first night and it was obvious that the waiting staff we coping as best they could with an extremely busy restaurant, the service was good albeit a little slow but the quality of food and the ambience more than compensated for it. Reception was efficient and went the extra mile arranging transport for our party. Our room was top notch with all the usual amenities you would expect. Breakfast on Sunday was busy but again the vast selection of food and great service all made for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friell, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Member,

Thank you very much for your recent review. I was delighted to read at that you had an enjoyable stay and I will certainly pass your kind comments on to all of my team at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Stuart Friell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights with a baby. We asked for a quiet room and were given a nice room at the quiet back of the hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, room service was prompt and food fine.Happy to use the hotel again in future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friell, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Member,

Thank you very much for your recent review. I was delighted to read at that you had an enjoyable stay and I will certainly pass your kind comments on to all of my team at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Stuart Friell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds,england
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay in this hotel for one night when visiting friends in Chigwell... Big mistake...

The room was small, the bed was small, the bathroom was adequate and they are the ok points

The bed was the most uncomfortable, soft bed with pillows to match.

The shower barely a trickle.

All the above for £80 .... Oh yes we did have breakfast. My husband ordered eggs benedict but they couldn't even get that right - it was eggs royal!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank charlieboychik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friell, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Member,

Thank you very much for your recent review. I was extremely disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We were not aware of any issues with regards to water pressure during the weekend and I have instructed my maintenance engineer to look in to the issues you have highlighted. I have also spoken with my chef with regards to the eggs Benedict that your husband ordered and I would like to apologise personally with regards to error in the order. I note from you review that you regularly visit the area and I would be pleased to hear from you when you next plan to visit Chigwell as I would be happy to make you accommodation arrangements personally for you.

I look forward to hearing from you

Kind Regards

Stuart Friell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chigwell hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was quite acceptable. However, I was not given the twin room I had booked and I therefore had to sleep on a sofa bed. I have slept in some uncomfortable places in my life but none as bad as this. I even considered the floor at one stage. My companion informed me the bed was little better.

The room may have been clean, but certainly didn't look it. The bathroom in particularly was looking very tired and uninviting.

Corridor doors were banging until the early hours.

I have the strong impression that the comfort of guests takes second place to the needs of the function rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friell, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Terry,

Thank you very much for your recent review. I was disappointed that we could not allocate you a twin room when you recently stayed at the Menzies Prince Regent Hotel. We do our very best to accommodate our guests requests and I am certain had you brought this to the attention of my duty managers we would have allocated you a separate room with our compliments so as not to inconvenience you further. I do take your point with regards to noise within the corridor and having worked on the evening I know we had a late wedding party checking in, nevertheless I do concede that I could have done more to alleviate this issue.


Kind Regards

Stuart Friell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Title says it all really, restaurant was ok, the food acceptable but the service was abysmal and seemed that management were clueless at best, we were pretty much ignored for most of the time we were there

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friell, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Member,

Thank you very much for your recent review. I was sorry to hear that you experienced problems with the service in my restaurant and would very much like to hear from you directly so that I can address your findings with my team. I take our customer feedback extremely seriously and I look forward to hearing from you so that we can address the shortcomings you experienced.

Kind Regards

Stuart Friell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Recently I had the pleasure in finding this little gem of a hotel in Chigwell. Me and my husband were attending a wedding at the hotel and decided to stay overnight. The room was particularly nice and modern and it was obvious from when we checked into the hotel that the staff were particularly proud of the recent refurbishment works. Our room had a volted ceiling and on speaking with the manager on check out he took time out to inform me of the history of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent and our waiter Russell deserve a special mention. We had a very enjoyable stay and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the chapel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friell, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Member,

Thank you very much for your recent review. I was pleased to meet you and your husband when you recently stayed with us and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit. Since our conversation on ‘check out’ I have copied some of the original photographs of the hotel which we spoke about and posted them to you which I hope you enjoy. I will also pass on your kind comments to Russell and would I would be pleased to hear from you when you next wished to stay and would very much look forward to making your accommodation arrangement for you, personally.

Kind Regards,

Stuart Friell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chigwell
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Epping Forest
5.4 mi away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Packfords Hotel
Packfords Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woodford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.1 mi away
St. Georgio Hotel
St. Georgio Hotel
#5 of 15 in Ilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Chingford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent

Property: Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
Address: Manor Road | Woodford Bridge, Chigwell IG8 8AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chigwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chigwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent is an ideal venue for anyone wishing to stay close to London, with easy access to the city via London underground, as well as to main road routes out of the city. Located within the picturesque area of Chigwell on East London-Essex borders, the Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent offers 61 comfortable rooms set within a converted Georgian house and a chapel. Outdoor areas contain summer terrace and plenty of onsite parking for our guests. One of the main attractions for the hotel is their meetings and events space. Be it a corporate meeting for up to 350 delegates, or your wedding day - The Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent has facilities and the team to make your event a truly memorable one. Please contact the hotel directly to find out more, they will be delighted to hear from you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Prince Regent Hotel Chigwell
Regent Menzies Prince
Regent Hotel London
Regent London
London Regent
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing