We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch at Sheesh”

Sheesh at Ye Olde Kings Head
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Chigwell
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Postcode: IG7 6QA Tel: +44 (0) 208 559 1155
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lunch at Sheesh”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have celebrated dinner at Sheesh on several occasions with friends and famiiy and have thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Excellent food, service, decor and ambience. All I would say is that if you want a quiet dinner book an early spot as later on the place buzzes.
So the other day I had invited a vegetarian friend out to lunch. Previous attempts to find decent vegetarian food had failed. We were given a nice table beside a roaring fire and a large menu from which to choose. We decided on a selection of meze so ordered 3 each which turned out to be one too many as we were really full up by the end. The portions are generous and there is a very wide selection with nice wines and beer. Our waiter seemed amused when we declined his offer for a main course but we had eaten as much as we could (because it was too good to leave) and had not been hurried at all. He was fine with this.
On our way out, we chatted to the very nice lady behind the till who took us on a tour of the restaurant, showing us the private dining rooms, cocktail lounges and various restaurant areas within the building. This was a lovely end to a delicious and relaxed meal which really didn't cost the earth so shall be returning lots.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonIG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    243
    132
    94
    163
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sheesh chigwell”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

very wam welcome on arrival good service and great tasty food, will be going back very soon with my family to celebrate my grandaughter's 13th birthday.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MALCOLM061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have been here twice now with group of friends & on both occasions have had a wonderful night.
The food is to die for! It's delicious & I think good value. Portions are more than enough.
The decor inside is very plush & service very attentive.
After dinner upstairs the live music was a great end to a great night.
Cannot wait to return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsbee0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Visited here for a gathering for a relative's birthday party and about 20 of us were in the Conservatory. After reading the previous reviews I was expecting surly and unfriendly service. But quite the opposite. The staff were very attentive and couldn't have been nicer. Maybe because it was a Sunday evening and it wasn't that busy? Nevertheless just about managed to squeeze into the car park. The food was very nice but looking at the prices it's very expensive and possibly over-priced, particularly the drinks so beware - luckily our hosts footed the bill! The building is lovely but it seems to be the place where the Essex posers hang out but they're paying a premium for this.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed just not great”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

After viewing some reviews on here, like other people, I was slightly anxious about our booking but as one reviewer commented as long as you go there not expecting the world you will be pleasantly surprised. We went as a slightly larger group, 7 people and the service we received was as prompt as we required, we dictated the speed of service without feeling rushed in the slightest, I would have said the service was great if the staff were more personable but that's not what we expected from here, that said we did mention in advance that we wanted the table for the night so maybe that's a tip for larger groups. The food was lovely however I do prefer the food at our local Turkish in brentwood, the entertainment was ok, again nothing brilliant and the upstairs was a bit lacklustre compared to downstairs. Overall very pleased with the evening and would happily go again with friends if they requested however i wouldn't feel the need to travel out to this restaurant unneccasarily

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheesh at Ye Olde Kings Head also viewed

 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Woodford, Greater London
Buckhurst Hill, Essex
 

Been to Sheesh at Ye Olde Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing