We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice get-away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Spent two nights at Caroline Springs due to a business commitment. The staff were very friendly and you could see that the hotel was very well managed. The hotel manager was very evident and politely checked whether there was anything else the hotel could assist with the smooth running of event. We were very impressed. The location of the hotel is lovely over looking a small lake with nice walking path. The food for event was what had been ordered, but could have included one healthy option, nothing special. The café and the bistro food was all of good quality and the service was polite and efficient. We had a very nice meal with our family and grandchildren who loved playing in the children's playroom. The accommodation was large with a very nice bathroom, it was clean and very comfortable with small balcony. You can upgrade to a lake view which was really worth the extra cost. All in all a very nice experience.
Thank you to the management and staff and particularly Lauren for her warm friendly smile.
We look forward to running another event at this venue.
Many thanks

Room Tip: Worth a little extra to face the lake and the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Del255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    123
    39
    10
    8
See reviews for
71
108
16
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Briisbane Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of our holiday. We have visited this hotel previously and enjoyed our stay. Staff are always helpful and rooms are clean large and comfortable. Breakfast in the café is lovely with table service instead of lining up at the breakfast bar like some hotels. Travel to city in 25 mins via freeway. Quality restrant available which I recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denjudfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Located next to a lake in the suburbs 20k out of the city. This is a good hotel for relaxing after work. Service a little strange. If you want a desert from the cafe instead of the dining area you have to get it yourself. or you ask to split the bill they struggle. for example. But the staff are friendly just working within their constraints.
Less than 60 rooms a little pool and gym. If you have a view over the lake the sunrises over Melbourne are worth observing. But the other way just views shopping mall.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank overseas_engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Clean, modern, comfortable hotel. Rooms everything you would expect of this standard of hotel; comfie bed, large shower, lake view from balcony. Service at Reception friendly, professional and nothing was too much trouble. Signage for hotel and carpark were abysmal, investing in some exit signs would be a good idea. Carparking is free though; a bonus if you have friends or family visiting you.

Bar was a nice place to sit inside or out and relax, but there was no room service?!? With restaurant and bar food available downstairs, surely a kitchen-hand to deliver to rooms wouldn't be too hard (a bit of a shame, really - room service in PJ's is a luxury when travelling). Bar supervisor was a nasty piece of work; bitter, unfriendly and ridiculously suggested that changing ONE ingredient in a cocktail would incur a "by the shot" charge and would be $30 for a drink.

The fire alarm went off twice and the second time went for 5 minutes with no announcement. Thankfully, I had seen reviews about regular fire alarms and told other guests that it was likely a false alarm (luckily, it was!). I went down for breakfast and was kindly offered free breakfast for the fire alarms going off. Lovely gesture, but why they didn't slip a note under the door advising guests of this? If I hadn't have gone to breakfast at the hotel, there would have been no compensation?

Hotel is by a lake and across from a shopping plaza with restaurants nearby. I suppose people choose the location knowing it's in the suburbs (read: middle of nowhere), but it's worth noting.
You really need a car to get around, there is no direct transport. Hotel is non-smoking and it's not allowed on balconies either. I would stay again for the right price (around the $110 mark).

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tantakesontheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Our group of 4 people enjoyed breakfast here on a Sunday morning. We chose this venue as we are Accor members, and we were certainly not disappointed. I had a Spanish omelette. My meal was well presented and very tasty. Others on our table ordered the breakfast burger and eggs Benedict, which were all good size and enjoyed by all. meals were served quickly and by a waitress with a smile on her face. We are already making plans to return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Judy21Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Springs, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

First off, loved having the free undercover carpark onsite. Made parking easy and was one of the reasons I decided to stay here. First reaction to the hotel going into the lobby was that it was architecturally beautiful. The view of the lake was a great touch and everything was so new and modern. Despite this, after a long trip into Melbourne from interstate, i was a little disappointed with the service and attitude I received from the gentleman at front desk. He didn't seem interested in his guest at all and was more concerned with checking us in as quickly as possible to get it over and done with. not one smile was seen frm him or his colleague next to him. In all honesty, I was happy at the carpark was above reception so whenever I returned I didn't need to walk past it but instead just take the lift straight to my room.

The room was spacious, very well set out and clean. However I wouldve liked a bigger tv. It was a tad small for my liking. The bathroom was bigger than most places but had a tendency to smell ever so often. It smelt like sewage was coming up through the drains in the floor which was very unpleasant. This led to me having to leave the bathroom door closed at all times.

Another thing that was disappointing was that there wasn't a public ice machine that we could use or room service that could deliver to us. when calling front desk for some ice we were told to go downstairs to get it ourselves. This may be how the hotel has always been run but most other hotels have a public ice machine that we all share or they have staff who will deliver it to us, be it housekeepers, food and bev staff or even front desk staff.

Overall the hotel was good, beds were comfy and rooms were clean but more guest focussed staff and more pleasant smelling bathrooms would have made my stay better and would change my 3/5 star rating to 5/5 star rating.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 230357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda L, Director of Sales at Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear 230357,

Thank-you very much for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us.

I have spoken to the staff in regards to your feedback at the level of customer service you received, and they have taken it on board.

We have also looked into the smell you mentioned.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed the size of the room and that the bed was comfortable.

Thanks again, and if you do choose to stay with us again, please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

With warmest regards,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caroline Springs
0.2 mi away
Quest Caroline Springs
Quest Caroline Springs
#1 of 3 in Caroline Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre
14.3 mi away
Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport
6.5 mi away
Quest Melbourne Airport
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
7.6 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs

Property: Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs
Address: 10 - 20 Lake St, Caroline Springs, Victoria 3023, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Caroline Springs)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Caroline Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Caroline Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs is located in the award winning WestWaters Hotel & Entertainment Complex. The complex is built around the banks of Lake Caroline, in the western suburb of Caroline Springs. It's a 20 min drive from Tullamarine Airport and 25 km west of the Melbourne CBD. Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs opened on April 1st 2011 as Grand Mercure and on April 1st 2012 was rebranded. With 58 accommodation rooms all featuring balconies with outdoor furniture, offering views of the surrounding area. This allows access to fresh air and plenty of natural light. Our contemporary rooms feature 'Gold beds' with a range of pillows, duvet and additional blankets for the perfect night's sleep. In room services and facilities include: - Spacious bathrooms with full hair dryer - Flat screen TVs - Tea and Coffee making facilities - Mini Bar - Work desk and chair - High Speed Internet access - In room safe - Iron and iron board - Secure key card access to rooms - Room chargeback when dining at WestWaters. Our Studio Apartments offer kitchenette and full washing facilities. These rooms are ideal for longer stays when on work projects, relocating or for temporary accommodation when you are renovating. Use of our fitness centre and indoor heated pool & spa is included in for your stay. Within the complex, for your dining pleasure is an a la carte Bistro, Cafe and Sports Bar. Each outlet offers a selection of meals and an extensive beverage list. Indoor and outdoor dining areas are available and are heated with outdoor heaters during winter. We offer entertainment for the whole family including children's play area, themed events, and live entertainment on the week-end. Grand Mercure Caroline Springs is the perfect venue for business, leisure, recreation and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing