We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge, modern room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night before heading down to The Great Ocean Road. It was a late flight so we chose a hotel that was not too far from the airport ( about 25 minutes by car) & an easy access point for the Princes Highway for our journey the next day.We were overwhelmed by the size of the room & large balcony & the lovely modern decor. It was also very clean & very well equiped. We had a meal in the cafe which was very appertising and the overall atmosphere of the complex is very inviting. I highly recommend this hotel it is only relatively new I believe, so I hope they keep up the very high standards we experienced during our brief stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 355 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Even though it's is a little way from the Melbourne CBD it is ideal for us when visiting our family, who live in Caroline Springs, and it's not far from the Airport. The hotel is in the West Waters complex, on Lake St, and it has everything you need including a Cafe, Family friendly Bistro and a room full of Pokie machines for those who enjoy losing money. Across the road is the Caroline Springs shopping complex which has everything you need.The rooms are large and have all the mod cons and if you have a room with Kitchen facilities you don't have far to go to get pantry/food items. We found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. It also has free covered parking. You can get access to free WiFi in the hotel lobby BUT it would have been nice to have that available in the room as well. We had a room with a private Balcony that overlooked the Lake. As we were there in Winter it was lovely to wake up to the sun steaming into our room. The room was lovely and cosy and we found even in winter we hardly needed to use the heating. For those without your own transport the bus stops right outside the front door of the hotel and takes you to the train station, if you want to head into the CBD, or other attractions,. It stops at the huge Westfield Water Gardens Shopping Complex. IF you do have your own transport we found it wasn't difficult to get to the many attractions Melbourne offers.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Lake side are probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Bedfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bolthead99
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The stay was great, bed was terrific - pillows are a little OVER stuffed, could do with some smaller ones. Exhaust fan in the bathroom could have been more efficient. Other than that we would definately stay there again and probably would. Service could not be faulted. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gail3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

***please note that I did not my research into this hotel, hence the negative feedbackl*** Greeted by a trainee clerk who advised us our room number (341) and confirmed the number of nights (4) when she said 3 nights leaving sunday, I quickly advised 4 nights leaving Monday - she checked and corrected her error and apolgised. I then asked if there were any family rooms available (was ready to upgrade our room) but was told that it was only available for 2 of the 4 days. So I said no, we will leave it as it is. She gave us our key and basically said have a very nice stay. Which then prompt my questions about parking, and lifts. Travelling with a 16 month toddler now is never ligt for us us.We had a pram, portcot, suitcase and carrybag. Hotel had no trolleys.So you had to tug it all in yourslef from the carpark to the lift to the room.

The car park is free and unsecured - I think the rollerdoor is only closed after a certain time. we parked always on level 2. It seems that level one carparking does get busy on weekends. The carpark foyer access to the lift is not automatic so you need to keep in mind to keep one hand free. Access to level 3 where all the hotel rooms are is also an un-automatic door and your greeted with a push and pull sign. It made going in and out with a pram a nusiance.

Our room 341 - Studio Appartment. - 1 bedroom. First impression were ok, but then started to fault the room. No Mircowave, no hook on the bathroom door or anywhere in the bathroom to hang towels apart from the towel rack provided. Our room had a balcony which faced the carolines springs shopping centre AND the westwater Mecure sign on the wall which at night illumated with flashing neon lights. I soon began to realise this room wasnt for us esperically with toddler needing his own seperate room for sleeping. In regards to the mircowave - my request was reasonable and one was delivered with a smile. The next morning I requested to be moved to a Family room.

Room 301 = 2 Bedder facing the lake, First room on the left as you make your enterance on the left on level 3. WARNING. The second bedroom shares a wall with the Foyer. The Foyer has 2 lifts and stairs to carpark and reception. Suggest that if your travelling with Children to ask for another family room, as you CAN HEAR everything. People talking, the music blaring from the bistro. The walls are not sound proof.
since we were moving to a "family room" this will no doubt have a mircowave.so I thought. No this wasnt the case. As we surrended our keys to reception we had to ask one of the clearning ladies to open the door to 341 so we can collect the mircowave and move it to our room, this made it an inconvenience for us. I honestly thought better for a room to be regarded as a family. There was nothing family orientated about it.
The bathoom - had the hook on the door, still the same number of towel as like for our first room. No bath. The basin is shallow so you cant even contemplate bathing in the sink.
The internet access (AUD15 per day, wifi access downstairs free) was unfortant for us it did work the first 24 hours - we were given a dodgy high speed internet cable.
The bistro downstairs require you to make bookings - they have a kids play area but doesnt cater for toddlers. the cafe for breakfast was great. The lade saw my son was crying and came out with a bag of toy cars to play with.
This hotel is def not for travelling with children, mainly for business or couples. As I didnt do my ressearch into the hotel (really not sure why when I always read the review bad or good) but this time I just went for it and came out rather disappointed. Would i reccommend it anyone,,, Yes I would for those who are on business only.,
Please note there is no ROOM SERVICE or SPA and the swimming poor is not heated

Room Tip: See my comments above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tizana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Excellent hotel, greeted with a warm welcome at reception for our arrival & farewell ! Rooms extraordinary contemporary, large & pleasant. choose a west facing room on cooler Melbourne days and you will bask in beautiful sun rays over your very private balcony ! Bathrooms large with a huge shower, no bath in Room 356 but great hanging storage & a safe was a welcome addition. The king size bed was very comfortable & great air cond The restaurants looked excellent with contempory decor bright & airey. Parking was plentiful, secure & free, your hotel floor could only be accessed with your key card. This hotel is located in a snazzy satellite city with beautiful homes & extensive shopping opportunities across the road from the hotel.
Easy access to Melbourne International Airport in a car, public transport would most likely be a little challenging, the closest major road is the Western Freeway. It suited our needs to attend a venue in the western suburbs of Melbourne.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safari747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair697
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caroline Springs
0.2 mi away
Quest Caroline Springs
Quest Caroline Springs
#1 of 3 in Caroline Springs
340 reviews
7.6 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
2,383 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Quest Melbourne Airport
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
828 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
8.8 mi away
Best Western Airport Motel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs

Address: 10 - 20 Lake St, Caroline Springs, Victoria 3023, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Caroline Springs)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Caroline Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Caroline Springs
Price Range: $94 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs is located in the award winning WestWaters Hotel & Entertainment Complex. The complex is built the banks of Lake Caroline, in the western suburb of Caroline Springs. It's a 20 min drive from Tullamarine Airport and 25 km west of the Melbourne CBD. With accommodation rooms all featuring balconies with outdoor furniture, offering views of the surrounding area. In room services and facilities include: - Spacious bathrooms with full hair dryer - Flat screen TVs - Tea and Coffee making facilities - Mini Bar - Work desk and chair - Internet access - In room safe - Iron and iron board - Secure key card access to rooms - Room chargeback when dining at WestWaters. Our Studio Apartments offer kitchenette and full washing facilities. These rooms are ideal for longer stays when on work projects, relocating or for temporary accommodation when you are renovating. Use of our fitness centre and indoor heated pool & spa is included in for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing