We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    126
    39
    10
    8
See reviews for
73
111
17
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Great spot by the lake and its oh so quiet at night... Sports Bar food yummy...
Relax by the pool or spa or just take in the view of the city.....
Spacious rooms and friendly staff.
Shopping complex is just across the road and a huge range of dining out places to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA USA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I spend 50-60 nights a year in hotels and have done so for the past 20 years. This was the worst hotel experience I have had in at least 15 years. The cab driver at Melbourne airport was absolutely clueless about this hotel. For good reason. There is no sign on the building - anywhere - indicating this is the Grand Mercure. The cabbie finally gave up and dumped me at the Mercure - about a quarter mile away. I had to lug 100 lbs of luggage through a shopping mall and across a parking lot to, finally, find what I presumed was the Grand Mercure. Not labeled Grand Mercure. Labled "West Waters Hotel".

The reception staff was, to put it generously, completely indifferent to my difficulty finding the place. Said they "planned" to put up a sign "next month." Like that helped me.

The room was over 85 degrees when I checked in. Conveniently, the AC only operates when you insert your room card in a slot. Conveniently, I was given only one card. So, I had to go back downstairs to get a second card so I could activate the AC and find a cooler place to hang out until the room cooled.

Reception staff was asked to reserve a cab for me for my return to Melbourne. Forgot to do it. Fortunately, I expected this, so I got up early and asked the reception staff, again, to reserve a cab.

Horrible, horrible experience. ACCOR Hotels is off my list - permanently.

Room Tip: Go anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda L, Director of Sales at Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear Steve,

I am disappointed to hear that your stay was not up to our usual standard of service.
Based on your feedback we are implementing a procedure, where on hot days (like you experienced when you were visiting us) we will endeavour to obtain an estimated time of arrival and have the air conditioner on 30 minutes prior.

I will also speak to the staff in regards to the booking of your taxi and I do apologise that this was missed.

Please let me know if you do choose to stay with us again.

Warmest regards,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Room spacious, well set out with nice views of lake and city skyline fireworks. Only suggestion would be to have a selection of pillows rather than just the one type. Other than that highly recommend and having booked in advance was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The rooms and facilities are excellent, clean, spacious and very comfortable.
The apartments have an oven, hob, washing machine, and tumble dryer, good value for not much more than a standard room.
The swimming pool was a bit on the cool side but the spa pool was just the thing at the end of a tiring day. The gym looked to be well equipped but we didn't actually use it.

The staff were friendly and helpful. We had to make a number of last minute changes to bookings and everything was dealt with very efficiently.

The only problem was the restaurant. My wife is allergic to onions and we always take some trouble to explain this. The waitress was really good and was able to advise on what dishes were suitable and made a point of noting the problem on the order. We went for fish and chips with an onion free side salad and no dressing.
The fish and chips were fine, the side salad arrived with onion and dressing included. We pointed this out to the waitress. She was apologetic, and annoyed with the kitchen staff. A new salad arrived, without dressing, but still with small pieces of onion. It seemed to us that the kitchen staff had simply fished most of the onion out of a previously made salad, rather than prepare one that was onion free to start with.

I don't like to castigate an entire hotel because of one incident, but this was really annoying. If my wife had not spotted the onion in the second salad, she would probably have spent the next day in bed rather than attending our son's wedding.

We'd stay there again, but make a point of eating elsewhere.

Room Tip: We were there as two couples. Wife and myself, plus daughter and partner. If you are a similar group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pan_viator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda L, Director of Sales at Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear pan._viator,
Thanks for taking the time to inform us of your stay.

I am very disappointed to have read what occurred whilst you were dining in our Bistro. I have advised the Executive Chef of the error and we will review our process’ to ensure that this does not happen again.

I was happy to read that you would stay with us again, and when you do please let me know.

Warmest regards,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caroline Springs
0.2 mi away
Quest Caroline Springs
Quest Caroline Springs
#1 of 3 in Caroline Springs
291 reviews
6.5 mi away
Quest Melbourne Airport
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
661 reviews
7.6 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Melbourne, Essendon Fields
7.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport
7.5 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs

Property: Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs
Address: 10 - 20 Lake St, Caroline Springs, Victoria 3023, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Caroline Springs)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Caroline Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Caroline Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs is located in the award winning WestWaters Hotel & Entertainment Complex. The complex is built around the banks of Lake Caroline, in the western suburb of Caroline Springs. It's a 20 min drive from Tullamarine Airport and 25 km west of the Melbourne CBD. Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs opened on April 1st 2011 as Grand Mercure and on April 1st 2012 was rebranded. With 58 accommodation rooms all featuring balconies with outdoor furniture, offering views of the surrounding area. This allows access to fresh air and plenty of natural light. Our contemporary rooms feature 'Gold beds' with a range of pillows, duvet and additional blankets for the perfect night's sleep. In room services and facilities include: - Spacious bathrooms with full hair dryer - Flat screen TVs - Tea and Coffee making facilities - Mini Bar - Work desk and chair - High Speed Internet access - In room safe - Iron and iron board - Secure key card access to rooms - Room chargeback when dining at WestWaters. Our Studio Apartments offer kitchenette and full washing facilities. These rooms are ideal for longer stays when on work projects, relocating or for temporary accommodation when you are renovating. Use of our fitness centre and indoor heated pool & spa is included in for your stay. Within the complex, for your dining pleasure is an a la carte Bistro, Cafe and Sports Bar. Each outlet offers a selection of meals and an extensive beverage list. Indoor and outdoor dining areas are available and are heated with outdoor heaters during winter. We offer entertainment for the whole family including children's play area, themed events, and live entertainment on the week-end. Grand Mercure Caroline Springs is the perfect venue for business, leisure, recreation and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing