We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury setting; yet disappointing stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    120
    39
    10
    8
See reviews for
68
106
16
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

I booked the studio apartment thinking there is a sofa bed and there was only a couch. The description of the studio apartment mentions "A 3rd person (adult or child) can be accomoded on the sofa bed" The staff mentioned the sofa bed needs to be requested but going by the description of the room there should be a sofa bed in the room by default. I was disappointed by the service provided to make our stay comfortable. The second person was provided with blankets to sleep on the couch. We were willing to pay for another room but we were advised there are no rooms available. The room next door was never occupied. Very disappointing I will not stay there again. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda L, Director of Sales at Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear Accor Guest,

I am disappointed to hear that our service did not meet your expectations, and have spoken to the staff in regards to your feedback.

If there is an opportunity to have you stay with us again, please let me know and I will personally ensure that your next stay will be a true reflection of the service we offer.

Warmest regards,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We Checked in on Saturday and Checked out on Sunday. On the Friday Evening i received a call from A young girl giving us the correct location and how to find the hotel because there was no signage on the building. To our surprise the directions were 100% correct.

We checked in just prior to dinner, with great service, the receptionist was very approachable, very informative and explained the different outlets of complex that the hotel was located in. She asked if we wanted to book for dinner because they had limited seats available, nothing was to much trouble. She was very professional while checking us in and also attending to the phone at the same time.

The pool is small, but the spa is very relaxing and the view is great overlooking the water.

We booked quite late (just after 8) to find the place buzzing with a great atmosphere. Jessica was a pleasure when she seated us at our table. The Meals were great, steak cooked to perfection and desserts to die for. Upon paying our bill at the desk we were greeted by a young man who was not very friendly and didn't ask if we enjoyed our meals.

We moved over to the sports bar to find live entertainment with a relaxed feeling and the service was quick and friendly. Upon returning to our room we were freezing. It did take a good 20 minutes to heat up just like reception had mentioned on arrival.

The rooms are very comfortable, spacious and modern. the shower was fabulous. The bed is very comfy. Breakfast was good, the service was lovely,

On check out we were greeted with a charming soul who was very pleasant and happy.
Overall excellent service, hotel next to none.

Good Job

Room Tip: Get an extra key to keep the heating on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smileyk80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as it is reasonably close to the airport, and we had an early flight, and this motel in about a 20 minute drive to the airport.
This motel is part of an entertainment complex, with a sports bar, restaurant, cafe and pokies venue, and has a large shopping center meters away. Plenty of undercover free parking is available.
Rooms are on the 3rd floor and the lift is accessed with your room swipe card. The lobby outside the lift has large heavy glass doors to go through to get to the hallway/rooms, which is difficult when carrying your luggage.
Power to the room is only available with your room card inserted into a slot by the door.
We were warned on arrival that the heating in the room takes some time to take effect.....and it did. It was FREEZING for at least 30 minutes, but once it heated, it was lovely.
The room was large, with a sofa, table and chairs and desk, and a large balcony with table and chairs. There is a decent sized, wall mounted LCD TV.
The bathroom is large, with a HUGE walk in shower, large bath sheets, and a decent hair drier, but limited generic toiletries.
The king sized bed was very comfy with plenty of pillows.
The staff in this complex, from reception to the bar and restaurant were all fantastic, a credit to the Accor group.
We have stayed at the Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs, which is in the next block, so both are the same motel chain, in the same location, both are new, modern and clean, both are the same distance to the airport/city, however, the Grand Mercure has larger rooms, free parking, balcony, and several reasonably priced dining options on site, a pool and a gym. We will definately stay here again, and fully reccommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molliieemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda L, Director of Sales at Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear molliieemoo,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that our Staff provided you with exceptional service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Belinda Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

Ideal hotel to stay if you have business commitments in western Melbourne. Only 20 minutes from the airport and considerably cheaper than any of it's airport counterparts. Very engaged staff members.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indulgence_Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel70, Director of Sales at Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank-you very much for your comments.

We hope you have been able to stay with us again, and enjoyed it as much as you did the first time.

Warmest regards,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caroline Springs
0.1 mi away
Quest Caroline Springs
Quest Caroline Springs
#1 of 3 in Caroline Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
8.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre
13.9 mi away
Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
7.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport
7.5 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs

Property: Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs
Address: 10 - 20 Lake St, Caroline Springs, Victoria 3023, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Caroline Springs)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Caroline Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Caroline Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs is located in the award winning WestWaters Hotel & Entertainment Complex. The complex is built around the banks of Lake Caroline, in the western suburb of Caroline Springs. It's a 20 min drive from Tullamarine Airport and 25 km west of the Melbourne CBD. Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs opened on April 1st 2011 as Grand Mercure and on April 1st 2012 was rebranded. With 58 accommodation rooms all featuring balconies with outdoor furniture, offering views of the surrounding area. This allows access to fresh air and plenty of natural light. Our contemporary rooms feature 'Gold beds' with a range of pillows, duvet and additional blankets for the perfect night's sleep. In room services and facilities include: - Spacious bathrooms with full hair dryer - Flat screen TVs - Tea and Coffee making facilities - Mini Bar - Work desk and chair - High Speed Internet access - In room safe - Iron and iron board - Secure key card access to rooms - Room chargeback when dining at WestWaters. Our Studio Apartments offer kitchenette and full washing facilities. These rooms are ideal for longer stays when on work projects, relocating or for temporary accommodation when you are renovating. Use of our fitness centre and indoor heated pool & spa is included in for your stay. Within the complex, for your dining pleasure is an a la carte Bistro, Cafe and Sports Bar. Each outlet offers a selection of meals and an extensive beverage list. Indoor and outdoor dining areas are available and are heated with outdoor heaters during winter. We offer entertainment for the whole family including children's play area, themed events, and live entertainment on the week-end. Grand Mercure Caroline Springs is the perfect venue for business, leisure, recreation and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing