We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FOOD POISONING!! STAY CLEAR!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Yellow Bird Cafe

Yellow Bird Cafe
Ranked #14 of 101 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $22
Cuisines: Cafe, Mexican, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FOOD POISONING!! STAY CLEAR!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

On the recommendation of friends, I went to Yellow Bird for the first time last night with 6 people. Three of us had the bean and coriander quesadilla and we were all violently ill with food poisoning. Tonight, I called Yellow Bird to notify them of this - in the hope that no one else becomes sick like we were.

The Manager, Daniel, was short, blunt, disinterested and made it abundantly clear that he did not care through his disengaged tone and dismissive language. It was Daniels opportunity to turn a pretty appalling situation around - that's what good customer service is. But clearly, Yellow Bird Cafe don't care about food safety and hygiene, or their reputation.

Terrible Management. Food that will make you sick.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't go when it is busy, like on a public holiday”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We visited on Anzac Day, a public holiday. It was about 11:30am ish, so very busy and being a popular place, had a waiting list to be seated. Having said this, there are two window seats with a row of 4 and a row of 3. The row of 4 had two ladies sitting in the middle two seats. The row of 3 had a single lady sitting in the middle seat. Where seating is a premium, this wasted 4 perfectly good seats. We asked the two ladies to move over so the two of us could sit down for a quick couple of espressos. They were very obliging. The Yellowbird staff member in charge of organizing the seating told us there would be a 45 minute to 1 hour wait...for a coffee! She was not very helpful or accommodating for the get-go.

After ordering at the bar, it was only about 15 minute wait, at most, for the espressos. The bean is Genovese, which I am very familiar with the taste and flavor. Both were burnt and bitter. The cafe was full, but most people were eating, rather than drinking coffee. Also most of the outside seating was 1/2 empty, due to the inclement weather.

Yellowbird came highly recommended and reviews we've read are very favorable. Therefore, this may be a one-off bad experience. It is a 'student-type' hangout, so is a bit more casual than many of the specialist coffee places we had been frequenting.

Just be wary of a busy day, or time of day, say a public holiday or weekend close to lunchtime. Such cafes are over-worked, but I still do not think this is an excuse for bad coffee.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“YUMMY!!! Great Service and Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I had the musli and yoghurt and LOVED it. Fruit was fresh, cappuccinos were delish! Weather was gorgeous, we ate outside and loved summer in melbourne!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HannersLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unique flavors and trendy mix of people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

This place was packed on a Thursday at 1:30 p.m., but I was pleased we waited the 10 minutes or so for our table of 5 to be seated. The menu is packed with unique flavors & combos - I had a white fish salad with spinach, tomatoes, onions, and a mustard vinaigrette dressing - very good. The green been and roasted pumpkin salad with goat cheese also looked great, and was tasty as I had a bite, as well as the many sandwiches that were coming out of the kitchen. It would be interesting to see this place at night. The staff was friendly, though somewhat stand-offish. Not a big deal b/c I was enjoying my great food. I liked the decor as well. One downside - too pricey for what it's worth. My salad was $20 (granted, fish); the pumpkin salad was about $15.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“A cool little cafe -popular with families and trendies alike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

My kind of cafe -friendly prompt service, good coffee and banana smoothies. Solid breakfast menu, fresh, generous servings, very tasty. plenty of families on the inside, the people watchers on the outside -something for everybody.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank squeezing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellow Bird Cafe also viewed

Windsor, Stonnington
Windsor, Stonnington
 
Windsor, Stonnington
Windsor, Stonnington
 
Prahran, Stonnington
Windsor, Stonnington
 

Been to Yellow Bird Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing