We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, nice hostel with good location in Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Back of Chapel Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Back of Chapel Backpackers
Save
You added Back of Chapel Backpackers to your Saves list
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Small, nice hostel with good location in Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Back of chapel backpackers is a nice, shared house type of hostel. Rooms and kitchen are cleaned everyday by the nice cleaning lady and the owners Aaron and his brother are nice, normal friendly guys. After visiting five other hostels in Melbourne, I decided to stay here for the next 1,5 months, like most of the backpackers here. Location is pretty ideal, Chapel st offers restaurants, stores, nightclubs, gyms and grocery stores. st kilda beach is only 25min walk distance and trams go there as well. Trams takes you easily to city center (CBD) in 10mins.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ripatius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi Ripatius,

Thanks for posting your review.

It's great to read that you stayed in 5 other hostels in Melbourne and chose to stay with us for the rest of your time in Melbourne.

Thanks for stating our location and how easy it is to get around from here using the Melbourne public transport system.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Australia,

Aaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    13
    6
    2
    8
See reviews for
2
11
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

When i first arrived it was meant as a temporary stop while looking for a apartment. But after a week staying here i found myself loving it so much i did not even bother looking any further for another place.
The place is very clean and gets cleaned every morning.
There is a free breakfast every morning. With several things to choose from.
The common room feels like a big home living room where u can relax, have a chat, play a game, or watch a movie.
The home like feeling makes it easy to get to know your fellow backpackers without compromising your nights rest or privacy.
The location ( a side street of Chappell st ) is nearby almost every thing. Public transport is literally around the corner and there is a coles, aldi and woolworth in walking distance.
Chappell st is filled with bars, restaurants, clubs, and clothing stores to discover. But because its on a side street of the busy street u don't have to worry about to much noise or disturbance.
Overall it is the greatest hostel i have stayed so far.
Thx back of Chappell

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Furtaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi Furtaly,

Its so fantastic for us to read a review with so many positive quotes. So many of our guests are exactly like yourself. "make a booking for a week" end up "loving it so much you do not even bother looking for another place"

Thanks for pointing out some great facts.

Thanks for staying with us!

Aaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a great hostel and it is apparent as soon as you arrive when you are welcomed by Aaron who is a fantastically helpful guy. He will provide you with all the basics needed to enjoy your stay both at Back of Chapel and Melbourne. Furthermore, rooms are cleaned on a daily basis by Cally who is really friendly and has a good joke.
The location is truly the best; lying about 30metres from the bustle of Chapel Street which is one of the coolest streets in Melbourne. Not only do you have some of the best eateries on your doorstep, you also have great bars, Albert Park and The Botanical Gardens all in easy walking distance.

The facilities at Back of Chapel are generally basic but it does have an annexe room behind the kitchen with 3 showers, 3 toilets and an iron which is great. The small patio area outside also has a long table which is great for summer bbqs.

Most importantly however is the people who stay here and everyone is very friendly. The hostel often has socials and the place is more like a large house share than a hostel per se.

Cheers for the great stay.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms at where it's at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scooklins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thanks for your fantastic review scooklins,

We love the Title!

Back of Chapel is always trying to improve each day. We have been upgrading many areas and look forward to continue this over the next few months.

All of our guests claim that we more of a large house than a hostel. This is evident with guests like yourself who create such a fantastic vibe and homely feel. This is one of Back of Chapels most important assets and we make sure it continues.

We hope you have enjoyed the rest of your time in Melbourne and Australia.

Thanks again,

Aaron, Josh and Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have some good experiences to write here and a suggestion for change.

I had travelled with my family. When we arrived at back of chapel (it was late night), we were greeted by many people at the door as if they were all expecting our arrival, we thought that it must be the staff at the backpackers. But soon we understood that they were all guests at the back of chapel and not employees. This was first introduction I had about Melbourne (or Back of chapel may be)
Every one helped us by lifting our luggage to the first floor, They were smiles on every ones's face as if old friends come together after a long time.....Wow. This was some thing we could believe only after a few hours, that it was a reality. I still have good memories of that day of our arrival :)
Back in the kitchen, it was a wonderful experience every evening...Few people would regularly join us for dinner. And we made new friends every day.
Many were interested to try our indian cuisine.
I had my 6 years old energetic son who was all over the place every time...yet I had considerate and friendly guests who were very understanding towards all of his naughty actions.
I would also like to suggest a small item for a change. Since I booked the check-in time as late evening, I had a feeling that the check-out time must be the same too. (Its usually so in
India). So on the day of our leaving, I was informed that 10:00Am will be the cut off time for check out, so it was little stressful that I had to vacate earlier than I had anticipated. The front
office staff seemed a little too assertive on that.
But Otherwise the staff seemed friendly and helpful throughtout our stay at the Back-Of-Chapel.
The other good things include easy access to the bus stop and tram stop. The windsor train station is just 5 to 10 mins away.
Anyone who wants an immediate accomodation in melbourne for a short trip, would find the back-of-chapel a convinient place to be.
On the whole the experience was an agreeable one.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank zubair m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi Zubair,

We try to keep the best mannered guests here. This leads to a great vibe around the hostel no matter what country you are from or what your background is. Many of our guests enjoyed some of your fantastic cooking every night.
For future reference we don't allow minors here as it may compromise all of our guests stay.
We try to inform all guests that check out is strictly before 10:00am. This is stated on the wall of every room and in your confirmation e-mails as well. The mornings are a busy period sometimes so we might be in a rush to process many things at once.

It's very convenient to have a train station less than a 5 minute walk and a tram stop less than a 3 minute walk from Back of Chapel. This allows easy access to get around to many areas of Melbourne.

We hope you had a great time in Australia after your visit here.

Thanks again,

Aaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a month whilst we worked in Melbourne and were so sad to leave. The people you meet are so friendly and chilled and the hostel itself is lovely. Really well managed, brilliant free breakfast and great location! Perfect place to explore chapel street. Definitely the best place to stay in melbourne!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gabzbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi Gabz,

Thank you so much for posting a review for Back of Chapel. We absolutely love your title as well!
Back of Chapel has been trying to improve every day and there has been many upgrades since you left. We hope to get some more done before the summer season picks up again.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around Australia.

thanks again,

Aaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying here since the middle of June this year.my intention was to stay a month but found myself still here 4 months later.Aaron and Josh are very accommodating if you need help with anything.It is just off Chapel St which has all the cafes,bars and restaurants at your door step.Good environment and people come through here and make it feel more like a home than a hostel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi Ross,

Thanks for taking your time to post a review.
It was great having you as a guest for the duration of your stay. Many guests we have end up staying for longer than expected just like your situation.
we hope the rest of your travels were just as fun as your time staying here.

all the best,

Aaron and Josh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I recently relocated to Melbourne and stayed here for 10 days, really quiet as backpackers go, had a private room with a big comfy bed, the location is great, the staff were helpful and friendly. It's more of a big share house than a backpackers.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fakecarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi Fakecarl,

Thank you for posting a review for Back of Chapel. Our guests continually say that one of the greatest features is that we are like more of a big share house with a homely feel. We hope that the rest of your time in Melbourne was fantastic.

Thanks again,

Aaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#91 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#26 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#29 of 113 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#12 of 113 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back of Chapel Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back of Chapel Backpackers

Property: Back of Chapel Backpackers
Address: 50 Green St, Windsor, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Back of Chapel Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Back Of Chapel is devoted to providing our guests with the best experience. We hope to see you soon.”Back of Chapel is a 150 year old Victorian terrace, which has recently been renovated. We are Located in the South-Eastern suburb of Windsor in Melbourne, Australia. Back Of Chapel is nestled in the core of Chapel Street, which is a vibrant, cultural and popular tourist area in Melbourne. Chapel Street provides an historic setting with diverse dining in many cafes, restaurants and bars as well as innovative architecture with exciting arts and cultural venues. Here at Back Of Chapel we pride ourselves on offering the most fun, friendly and chilled out hostel in Melbourne. All of our rooms are reasonably priced and we cater for many types of travelers. Many of our guests make a reservation for a few days and end up staying for a few months. The diversity and enthusiasm of our guests provide a great family vibe. You can always count on meeting new and friendly people from all over the world. Back Of Chapel also has a dedicated bar for backpackers and friends. The BOC bar features a variety of local and imported beer, wine and spirits all at low prices. Our friendly staff will always make you feel welcome. If you are looking to stay for a few nights or a few months, Back Of Chapel will provide a homely and relaxed feel that will make your stay in Melbourne more enjoyable than anywhere else. Please note that our triple rooms consist of a double bed and a single bunk on top.Hostel reception hours are:8:30am-5pm everyday (closed 1-2pm)Recommended for guests over 18 years of Age. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing