We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Sicilian Home Away from Home”
the villa and the exclusive gazebo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the villa and the exclusive gazebo
the villa lies in the greenery of an amazing garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
the villa and the exclusive gazebo
the villa lies in the greenery of an amazing garden
detail of the house
nightly view of the villa
the terrace
view from the terrace
view of the villa from the gazebo
the pool in the lemongrove
view of the hills from the gazebo
view of the villa from the pool
the pool at sunset
view of Etna from the pool
the pool from the garden
the the villa from the vineyard
Country landscape (the Princely estate)
palms in the garden
Dressed table under the gazebo
view from the gazebo
the gazebo and the villa
the gazebo again
dinner in the garden
view  of the smoking Etna
the pink bedroom
The princess Victoria bedroom
The Prince Raimondo bedroom
The Prince Gabriele bedroom
the grey bedroom
view of the garden from the grey bedroom
the room in the mezzanine
the room in the mezzanine
one of the bathroom similar to the others
the sitting room overlooking the garden
the fireplace in the sitting room
the kitchen-dining
the kitchen-dining
the kitchen-dining
the kitche dining room
a kitchen-dining detail
a kitchen-dining detail (fires)
Car parking space
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Trappitello, Taormina, Province of Messina, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lawrence...
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Sicilian Home Away from Home”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about our stay at the Villa Etna was perfect. The house and grounds are beautiful with the owners vineyards and fruit trees surrounding the property. We were a group of 10, 5 couples, and each bedroom was splendid. All the amenities (wi fi, pool, laundry, dishwasher, kitchen etc) were great. We were met the first day by the manager, Monica, and she made us feel immediately as if we had arrived in the Sicilian home we didn't know we had. We originally booked two dinners with the chef, Maria. Those dinners under the stars, with Etna in the background and surrounded by the vineyards and Maria's amazing food (served by Maria and Monica) were the best part of our entire vacation. By the end of the vacation we were saying that Maria and Monica were the Sicilian sisters we didn't know we had! It was so great we booked another dinner with Maria our final night. I have to say this vacation rental is perfetto!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dinners under the stars with Maria's cooking with Monica's assistance
Liked least: that we had to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simy13
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“What a wonderful corner of the world!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I've just come back from a fabulous holiday spent with a group of friends in Le Case Del Principe - Taormina, Sicily (Italy). We stayed in Villa Etna, nestled in orange, lemon and olive groves not to mention a budding vineyard. The breathtaking view on the snow-capped volcano, the quiet and the surrounding nature did wonders for helping us to disconnect from our stressful lives and reconnect with our own rhythm. This was the perfect location for our favorite activities: hiking, swimming, walking on the beach, shopping, seeing the sights including the world famous Taormina, or simply lounging by the in-house pool. I must say that I was particularly impressed by how clean and safe the place was and by the special taste of the Principe who very elegantly decorated it with touches of Sicily every now and again. We had a Sicilian grandmother on the property who prepared fantastic typical dishes while making us feel pampered. Considering that the estate is nicely removed from the mainstream, but in an area filled with many interesting activities, it was a very good idea to rent a couple of cars to get around when we wanted to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - it offered the best of everything.
Liked least: Wished the weather was a little warmer; this place must be fantastic in the summer!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outabklyn
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A beautiful property tucked right below Mount Etna”
Reviewed August 13, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My family of 7 adults recently returned from Sicily, and stayed at this villa for a week. The property is gorgeous - vineyards, stunning views of the puffing Mt Etna, really peaceful - and the owner is very helpful, responsive, and easy to interact with. The home is very nice and spacious - there are four proper bedrooms downstairs, each with its own full bathroom (although tiny showers!) and firm, comfortable mattresses. There is a fifth bedroom upstairs in an open loft-type space that we didn't use, with two twin beds in separate alcoves and a half-bath - this would be great for children, but there is not privacy for adults, and no shower/bath. The decor is tasteful and rustic, with many antique prints and lithographs framed everywhere that makes quite a beautiful collection. The kitchen is in a separate area of the house, bordering but not conjoined with the living space, and there is a lovely patio right outside the living room. The best feature of the house is a large terrace in the yard, under an arbor - it feels very luxe, and the views over the vineyard and to Etna are amazing. We had a few meals out here, once with the chef Maria who made a wonderful HUGE feast of Sicilian specialties. We also spent some quality time in the pool, as it was hot as an oven in July/August - the pool was very refreshing and is a really nice size, but it is an above-ground pool so there is no steps that you can sit on or ease in, and it is all one depth of about 5 feet. The pool has a great deck around it and stonework bordering it, so it's the nicest above-ground pool I've ever seen, but I think small children could have trouble without a shallow end or without gradual steps to get into the water. Also, there are one or two other houses very close by on the estate - you can't see them, but you can hear them right over the wall from the pool. One thing to note is that the house is not in Taormina - Taormina is a 12-15 minute drive, two towns away. When you go there, be sure to park at the Porto Catania parking lot on the western edge of town, it's the most convenient from the house for sure. The closest town is actually Trappitello, which is a little rundown, that's where you can get your groceries, and the next town over is Giardini-Naxos, which is a popular, more casual beach resort (that's where the best beaches are, since Taormina doesn't have its own beaches). So it's a bit misleading to say this is "in Taormina", but it is in the Taormina area. Lastly, while the decor is rustic, I think the overall appearance of the bedrooms would be improved if the TV's and bookshelves were all contained in one unit - the TV with all the wires and the shelf of left-behind paperback books makes the space look messy, and I think it could feel a little more "luxury" for the price. But overall, a great property and very comfortable home away from home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: outdoor terrace and pool
Liked least: the closest town, the drive to Taormina
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MimiLamia
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The villa is fantastic. It was very true to the photos posted on the website . We thoroughly enjoyed the magnificent views of Mt. Etna from the Pergola where we dined. Monica, the villa representative was very professional and most helpful. Thanks to the efforts of Maria, the housekeeper, we found the villa in pristine condition. A good time was had by all in our group with ages ranging from 8 to 72 years old.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely and comfortable interior and the magnificent garden and pergola
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing