We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Search no more!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valley View Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Valley View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Murkle B&B and Inns
Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Search no more!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

There is absolutely nothing negative about this B&B. Lovely rooms (new carpets each year), Antoinette is very helpful, nice views, the beds are fantastic. There is a nice selection of DVD's that you can watch in your room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DikvanOeveren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
52
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Our room had a pleasant view, the beds were comfortable, the breakfast great - and Antoinette was extremely helpful in with organizing our trip to Orkney.
It was a quiet and relaxing area to stay in and we recommend it without any reservations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have had difficulty in finding good accommodation in this area in the past, but good old Tripadvisor found Valley View for us this year. It is a new house, beautifully decorated and tastefully furnished throughout. Our room was lovely and we had an excellent nights sleep in a comfy king-sized bed. Our breakfast was excellent and Antoinette was extremely helpful in offering travel and dining out advice. The house is situated in a quiet location just 5 minutes from Thurso, although the Tomtom did have some difficulty in finding it!

We were only staying one night before catching the ferry to Orkney and I just wish we had found Valleyview two years ago when we 'did' the northeast coast and attractions such as Castle of Mey and Dunnet Head etc. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for the king-sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

This was a lovely B&B except one of the rooms we booked was way too small for two people. The second room we booked was in fact very good. Two star for the small room but a higher score for the rest of it. Antoinette was a great host who is very knowledgeable and passionate about the area. We got some great tips on what and where to visit. Just be careful which room you book and you will be fine.

Room Tip: Check you do not get the very small double with the bed against the wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Thought I would try something different instead of the usual hotel and I can tell you what a pleasant surprise I encountered, a very modern and comfortable accommodation with bags of character and an abundance of the personnel touch that you just don't get in the usual hotels. The owners could not have been more helpful or attentive, breakfast was a fantastic experience ( the owner being a professional Chef ) and also evening meals are available on request again absolutely superb, value for money this will take some beating. A real home from home which left me feeling refreshed and ready for the day ahead. So good in fact that I am already planning a long weekend with the family, do yourself a favour think about a stay here you won't be disappointed..

Room Tip: Had a choice of rooms upon arrival each one was more than acceptable, everything you require all en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gdm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Myself and a colleague were in the north of Scotland on business and stayed for three nights. We enjoyed everything about the B&B. Rooms were very nicely arranged, clean and comfortable and the food was excellent. Breakfasts were lovely and a three course evening meal can be prepared on request, which was delicious and excellent value. The host (Antoinette) was extremely attentive and helpful, lots of local info was provided about what to see/where to eat.

Overall, excellent stay and great value. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Superbly located in the Caithness countryside with wonderful views of Dunnet Head - welcoming & comfortable & a great base from which to explore the county whether surfing at Thurso, crossing to Orkney or simply enjoying the wilds. Definitely one I would recommend & would be my first choice if returning to the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EpicurusEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Valley View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Valley View Bed & Breakfast
Address: Murkle KW14 8YT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Murkle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Murkle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Valley View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing