We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view, great location for seaswimming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cala Piccola
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning view, great location for seaswimming”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Beautiful quiet location, 10 minutes drive from Porto Santo Stefano. Lovely garden with stunning sea view and view of islands Giullio and Giannutri. Food, especially the fish is excellent. Wonderful terrace. Staff very friendly and professional. For swimming you walk 20 minutes down the mountain or take the shuttle bus. Swimming is great!
Wifi was a bit complicated: no reception in room, only outside.
Very good massages!
Nice location for trips to Orbetello, Porto Ercole and Porto Santo Stefano

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilou V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    208
    98
    37
    20
See reviews for
104
462
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seminyak, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

unbeatable location 10 minutes drive from Porto Santo Stefano. sea view is amazing which in our view makes it 5 star hotel. Staff is nice. But the rest makes the hotel an average 3 star: rooms are poorly decorated so is the gastronomic restaurant. food is average but very expensive. a lot of things are too complicated (wifi, beach access cards require 30 € cash deposit, towels taken at reception when the beach is 800 meters away) in addition some things costs extra: parking 10€ / day, beach 27€ / day. In the end you are better staying at Il Pelicano if you can afford it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidElie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This lovely resort overlooking the sea is tastefully designed and well maintained. Many, if not all, of the rooms have balconies with spectacular views. In the nearby town of San Stefano you can take a boat or ferry to the island of Giglio which is a great day trip. Food was good, but not exceptional. I really enjoyed it and recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Room 9 has a view from 2 sides. You see the island of guilio. The staff are very friendly and speak English well. Just arrived but no complaints. The road getting here has a couple crazy hairpin turns.perfect for a quiet spot to relax. The massage was great.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carol j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

As the Il Pellicano hotel was fully booked, we booked in this hotel. A positive thing was the location, as you have a wonderful view over the sea.

The room itself was just okay. Nothing fancy at all and it was always quite a walk to get up to the reception level by foot. Not ideal for older persons, as walking steep paths is the only way to get there.

The beach access is heavily busy as it's not for hotel guests only. It's quite a way from the hotel to the beach access, so make sure you don't forget something in your room. There were worn out chairs everywhere and it was smelling moistly. It's not as open and charming as at Il Pellicano. And given the fact that it's a public area the service is not comparable at all.

The swimming pool area next to the reception offers a nice view, but the loungers are not comfortable at all and of very poor quality. The bar man wasn't able to make a Caipirinha. The taste was awful as he used wrong ingredients and there was no possibility offered to exchange it. For those prices I was expecting some knowledge.

The breakfast buffet was of poor quality with a very limited range. They even didn't managed offer a good coffee. The dining room was decorated with some very kitschy posters. If it comes to dining options the hotel's restaurant is not worth a visit and the options in Porto San Stefano are in my opinion not as good as in Porto Ercole, which is much more charming.

Overall the hotel has a clear lack of quality. If you look closer there were worn out chairs at the receptions, cables hanging out of TV's in the lobby, etc. During the whole stay we were accompanied by a cheap swing which is annoying considering their prices. The price / value ratio is to be considered as very poor. Especially in high season. I think they can (could) afford this as it's close to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way up the coast but wished we could have stayed for a week. Even with a GPS we had a few missteps finding the place, but it was definitely worth it when we finally arrived and learned we had been upgraded to a suite with a huge sea view terrace. After checking in, we drove back to Porto Santo Stefano and took the ferry over to Giglio for the afternoon. Before reboarding the ship for the trip back, we picked up supplies (wine, prosciutto, cheese and bread) for an evening picnic on our terrace. What a wonderful, romantic evening - food and wine under a beautiful full moon overlooking the sea. We could have stayed forever and wished we'd had time to enjoy the infinity pool and other amenities. We definitely hope to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I visited Italy for our dream vacation to celebrate my 60th birthday in October. We were hoping to stay in the nicest hotel with the most magnificent views in the most beautiful part of the world ... lofty goals, I know. And by staying at the Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola they were achieved ! This place is amazing! Stephania and her staff were fantastic. Thank you for making a BIG birthday wish come true !

MJP1953 USA

Room Tip: Not sure there is any room that doesn't have a breath taking view ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjp1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Piccola
3.1 mi away
Hotel Baia d'Argento
Hotel Baia d'Argento
#2 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
349 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Il Pellicano
Hotel Il Pellicano
#1 of 7 in Porto Ercole
370 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#5 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Domizia
Hotel Villa Domizia
#1 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
253 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Filippo II
Hotel Filippo II
#1 of 15 in Monte Argentario
286 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Arenella
Hotel Arenella
#1 of 10 in Isola Del Giglio
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola

Property: Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Address: Via della Cala SNC, 58019 Cala Piccola, Monte Argentario, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Monte Argentario > Cala Piccola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cala Piccola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torre di Cala Piccola is dislocated in different buildings along the hill, connected by small paths and flowerbeds beside the cliff. You can choose among 50 sea sight rooms, furnished with very fine taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Cala Piccola Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing