We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Traditional Country Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bay Horse Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Rainton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I chose the Bay Horse Country Inn as our base for exploring Yorkshire between 29th August and 3rd September 2013. A lovely, traditional Country Inn, set in a quiet local village. Chris and Bev were extremely welcoming - even before we'd arrived, Chris had offered us a discount on the room rate, thanks to the number of nights we were staying. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean - with the benefit of a shower and bath. All the food was delicious - hearty breakfasts and mouth-watering dinners (the lamb shank particularly so). Be prepared to cut an extra notch in your belt... the portions are so generous, even my husband couldn't finish what was put in front of him. If you like comfort, great food, good value for money, amiable hosts and locals, and hanker for 'tradition', rather than the 'clone-hotels' so commonplace these days, you won't go wrong with The Bay Horse Country Inn. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had Room 2 - facing the front of the Inn. No noise, not even with locals drinking outside. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicolag536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 199 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Chris and Bev are excellent hosts, always welcoming and can't do enough for you. Room was excellent, bath as well as shower. A pleasure to go into the bar for a few drinks before a plentiful tasty evening meal, excellent home cooked breakfast all made from local produce was one to remember, can't wait for our return visit, Would recommend to anyone,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We received outstanding hospitality from the landlord/hotelier at the Bay Horse. The rooms were lovely, clean and airy. Breakfast was brilliant. Excellent value for money and we couldnt have asked for more. I would strongly recommend this place as the best B&B I have ever visited. (and no, I'm not related)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iMissJuJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

we stayed friday to monday while we toured Yorkshire on our bike with friends, they were excellent hosts,lovely clean and tidy rooms and the evening menu were outstanding in both quality and price .they also catered for my wheat intolerance by adapting the menu to suit. would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlbeavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We didn't stay here as we live in the next village over, we visited for lunch.

It was roasting so we sat outside and the staff had no problem letting us eat outdoors and enjoy the sun!
Mum had a beef dinner, dad had fishcakes and salad and myself and the boyfriend tucked into steak pie. All came with a Yorkshire pudding and some roast potatoes (all of which was very nice).

The food was fantastic (the gravy is beautiful) and the service was great.
Also like that you get a big bowl of veg between you all (as I am not a fan and think it's a waste on my plate)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicake_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for one night, Chris was a super host and couldn't do enough to help. All the staff were friendly and the food was really good. The room was comfortable and clean and the Black sheep was a nice touch. Will certainly being making another visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed at the Bay Horse Inn for one night proceeding a trip into York.
The 5pm check-in was somewhat late as we got there a lille early but ecided to have a ride into Thirsk then return.
Upon our return we where met by the landlord Chris who is a fantastic host. He showed us to our room and left us to it.
Our room (room 7) was very nice, very comfy bed and had all we required.
We went down for dinner and the menu is presented on a large blackboard in the lounge area of the pub.
The food was absolutly fantastic.......much better than expected for such a small pub. In fact it was far better than most restaurants i have visited. I would recommend eating here.
After dinner we had a wonderful walk through the countryside surrounding the pub as it ws a lovely summer evening.
All in all a great stay with wonderful food. Thanks Chris.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bay Horse Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Country Inn

Address: Sleights Lane, Rainton YO7 3PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Rainton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rainton
Price Range: $78 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Horse Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Bay Horse Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing