We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food”
Review of Kathton House

Kathton House
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Sturry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European, Contemporary, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have eaten here before and thought it was excellent.. We were treating some friends as their wedding present to this meal and had e most enjoyable evening and so did our friends. All of the food was perfect and the service absolutely fantastic.. Thank you

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkiandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    48
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Following a recommendation we went to Kathton House for my husbands birthday. It was a Tuesday evening, so was expecting the restaurant to be fairly empty. We were very pleased it was quite busy and had a nice atmosphere. The food was absolutely excellent and the appetisers between courses were a lovely touch. The staff were professional, friendly and attentive. We had a lovely evening and were very impressed with this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A lovely and professionally run restaurant”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This restaurant is tucked away in a small street of Sturry, just a few miles from Canterbury and not far from Sturry station. We had not been to the Kathton for a couple of years but when returning recently found it just as good if not even better than before. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a pleasant and quiet evening with delicious food served by charming staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary meal”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Could not fault anything perfect went here for our anniversary as was not disspointed at all abit pricey but you get what you pay for .

Helpful?
Thank Simonhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nothing was too much trouble”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Four of us recently visited Kathton House for lunch and were overwelmed with both excellent food and extraordinarily good service. Despite turning up late due to traffic, and with a vegan in our group we were still met with hearty smiles and some of the best food any of us have eaten for a long time, favourably comparable to several local Michelin starred restaurants that we have eaten in!
A huge thank you to the team, both front and back of house.
I really do recommend this restaurant, we travelled over an hour to get there, time well spent!

Helpful?
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathton House also viewed

 

Been to Kathton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing